We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, only OK B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jardin du Chateau Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Annecy B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, only OK B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Positives -- great location, peaceful setting yet close to restaurants and stores, relatively quiet, nice owner, terraces and garden seating. Negatives -- room was small and kind of dreary, tiny, tiny kitchenette, no inexpensive parking nearby, some noise issues if event at Chateau or if other tenants sit outside and talk at night, a bit pricey for what you get. As you can see, I have mixed feelings. I would probably seek out a different place if I came to Annecy again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting relatives in Geneva. Annecy old town is lovely and we were there in late May before the onslaught of tourists arrived. Lovely town to walk around, nice restaurants, beautiful open air market on Fridays and Sundays, and a great base from which to hike in the French Alps or to visit Geneva. We had a room on the top floor with a lovely balcony & comfortable bed. Splendid location at the edge of and above the old town. Parking garage (essential) very nearby. Room was somewhat basic but comfortable and included tiny but functional kitchen facilities. We took all our meals in the old town and enjoyed that; but one could happily buy food, prepare it in the room and enjoy it on the balcony or in the garden. Great location and excellent value.

Room Tip: Balcony was nice but not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1945traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The good: -Staff were excellent and very understanding when we had to arrive late.
- The location is excellent. So close to all the restaurants and the hive of activity that is the old town. A nice view too from the terrace.
- very comfortable bed that for once was a REAL double bed, not two singles pushed together.
Needs improvement:
- the shower is TINY. Its about half a metre by half a metre. Unfortunately the place where the shower head stand is located points the water in such a direction that it only hits the top of your head. The only way to have a successful shower is to use it as a hand held shower head.
- the shower needs cleaning. There was a few mould issues in our shower. They weren't major but it would be nice if they were fixed.
- the climb to the hotel! We walked from the station carrying at least 20kg of luggage and weren't prepared for the hugely steep climb. It's a good fitness workout but be prepared.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondebride86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Annecy is a beautiful city but full of tourists and we were worried that accommodation would be noisy and pricey. We loved Les Jardins du chateau! The friendly owner spoke good English and allowed our bikes to be locked inside, we had dinner on the private breezy terrace as there were cooking facilities in our room, and the room was clean and quiet. Good value and away from the madding crowd up a steep short hill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rebeccadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and found the accommodation comfortable and the owner very friendly and helpful. As other reviews have mentioned no fresh bedding or towels are given regardless of if you stay one day or 5. All in all we would recommend this place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerryp186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Very well located, in a fantastic old house in Annecy, right by the Chateau. Low points --> rooms are not that great, bring everything yourself in terms of toilette stuff, and be ready for a bed and breakfast with actually no breakfast. The rest, all ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torcuatense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

This place is fine if you don't mind:
- Having to park your car 15 minutes walk away
- No hand soap, tissues, etc.
- (For men) having to hold up the toilet seat while you use it
- Minimal or non-existant lighting if you want to read in bed
On the other hand, it was clean and the town of Annecy is very charming.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Annecy hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#20 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#7 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin du Chateau Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin du Chateau Bed & Breakfast

Property: Jardin du Chateau Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Place du Chateau, 74000, Annecy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jardin du Chateau Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Du Chateau Bed And Breakfast
Jardin Du Chateau Hotel Annecy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing