We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, close to the lake and old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Rue de la Poste, 74000, Annecy, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, close to the lake and old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here in early June and were impressed with the location. Come out of the hotel, turn left and it's a straight 5 minute walk to the old town and lake, which seem to be where all of the restaurants and bars are.

The hotel itself is above a row of shops so you have to go upstairs to the reception area. This could be a bit of an issue if you have a baby. We were able to leave our pushchair in the groundfloor hallway. The room was basic with a small shower/WC area behind a sliding door, but if you're in Annecy you're more likely to be out and about so we weren't too fussed. The wi-fi connection in the hotel was free and very good.

Please note that given the central location, parking is an issue. The hotel have an arrangement with a local underground car park which is a few minutes walk away, but there is no parking at the hotel, other than to drop off and pick up passengers and luggage.

Room Tip: If walking around Annecy, DO NOT follow road signs when looking for the lake (Le Lac). You'll b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunchaser147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This small hotel is conveniently located near the train station and within a short walk of the Old Town. For those arriving by car (like myself), there is public underground parking 1 block away. It's free to park overnight (with a coupon from the hotel), but parking during the day costs about 1.10 euro/hour if I remember correctly. I had a corner room which was rather large (for this type of hotel) and well lit by several windows. A breakfast buffet is served in a cozy room adjacent to the front desk and is well worth the additional cost. There were ample selections of breads, cereals, fruits, cheeses, meats and beverages. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have a lot of bags or difficulty with stairs I recommend you ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very comfortable and clean rooms, and incredibly affordable for a family of 4. The staff was competent although not warm or welcoming. But for budget accommodations for a family we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I headed over to Geneva for work and then had the opportunity to stay an extra day so headed down to Annecy. This was my first good decision. Annecy is stunning. The next was to stay at Hotel des Alpes. As a solo traveller the room, location, warm welcome by the staff were all just perfect. It's just a few minute walk to the Old Town. Parking was easy as the hotel has an agreement with the Poste Parking Garage. And the room with simple but aesthetic and very, very clean. I just loved it. Then ... the decision to go biking ... rent a bike!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyMTNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I read so many great reviews about this hotel here that I booked it for my two night stay in Annecy. Great location...small but CLEAN. No elevator, which was the only drag, but I was on the second floor so it wasn't too bad and the receptionist took it down the stairs for me when I checked out. It's in a great location, also--walk to everything. Highly recommend it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellispec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is extremely clean and modern. Our room was good sized and large by European standards, including by my standards. The owner or manager and his staff were very friendly. He was particularly helpful on some driving routes. The hotel is in an upscale area of town and virtually across the street from the train station. This may sound like an oxymoron but both are true. It is also close to the old town and the lake, so it is convenient for everything. We don't know why it is rated 2 star, probably because there is no lift. It is as good as or better than several 3 star hotels we stayed in. My wife and I are senior citizens and didn't view this as an issue. We only stayed here one night. This was not enough for Annecy as Annecy is a beautiful town on a beautiful lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanVlear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just opposite the train station and can be easily located. There is no lift in the hotel and you will have to climb the stairs to get to the reception or even your room. So if you wanna stay here, travel light. The room we got was nice and clean, however there is a corridor right outside our window which is accessible to others through a side door. We were kinda concern about this so we kept our window closed and curtain drawn most of the time. The breakfast is good at a reasonable price. The reception staff are not very friendly except a younger guy wearing glasses. Overall, other than the location, there are still rooms for improvement for this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruemonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#1 of 40 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.2 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#5 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Seynod
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#8 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: 12 Rue de la Poste, 74000, Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Annecy
#3 Business Hotel in Annecy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Alpes 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing