We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, comfortable, affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very comfortable and clean rooms, and incredibly affordable for a family of 4. The staff was competent although not warm or welcoming. But for budget accommodations for a family we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    402
    86
    12
    3
See reviews for
170
351
41
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I headed over to Geneva for work and then had the opportunity to stay an extra day so headed down to Annecy. This was my first good decision. Annecy is stunning. The next was to stay at Hotel des Alpes. As a solo traveller the room, location, warm welcome by the staff were all just perfect. It's just a few minute walk to the Old Town. Parking was easy as the hotel has an agreement with the Poste Parking Garage. And the room with simple but aesthetic and very, very clean. I just loved it. Then ... the decision to go biking ... rent a bike!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyMTNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I read so many great reviews about this hotel here that I booked it for my two night stay in Annecy. Great location...small but CLEAN. No elevator, which was the only drag, but I was on the second floor so it wasn't too bad and the receptionist took it down the stairs for me when I checked out. It's in a great location, also--walk to everything. Highly recommend it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellispec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is extremely clean and modern. Our room was good sized and large by European standards, including by my standards. The owner or manager and his staff were very friendly. He was particularly helpful on some driving routes. The hotel is in an upscale area of town and virtually across the street from the train station. This may sound like an oxymoron but both are true. It is also close to the old town and the lake, so it is convenient for everything. We don't know why it is rated 2 star, probably because there is no lift. It is as good as or better than several 3 star hotels we stayed in. My wife and I are senior citizens and didn't view this as an issue. We only stayed here one night. This was not enough for Annecy as Annecy is a beautiful town on a beautiful lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanVlear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just opposite the train station and can be easily located. There is no lift in the hotel and you will have to climb the stairs to get to the reception or even your room. So if you wanna stay here, travel light. The room we got was nice and clean, however there is a corridor right outside our window which is accessible to others through a side door. We were kinda concern about this so we kept our window closed and curtain drawn most of the time. The breakfast is good at a reasonable price. The reception staff are not very friendly except a younger guy wearing glasses. Overall, other than the location, there are still rooms for improvement for this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruemonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

...of value, comfort and hospitality.

This hotel is small but very well located, has good rooms, good breakfast and great staff. It is excellent value for money.
Some people have mentioned that some of the rooms are in the "small European style'' and so not very spacious, but I'm a small European so it was fine for me (and my wife)!
We actually enjoyed Annecy so much we came back and stayed here twice at the Hotel des Alpes within 6 weeks (I'm working in Geneva temporarily).

Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is quite well equipped for a two-star establishment. There is no lift so prepare to carry your luggage at least one floor up as reception is on the first floor - 3 more in the building.
Helpful and kind staff at reception, providing all sorts of instructions and map support.
Very clean, spacious and cleverly designed bathroom.
Breakfast is plentiful and diverse. Staff are a bit impatient with latecomers for breakfast.
Excellent base camp site for walking around - old town is at 500 meters and shops are all around. Across the street are the railway and coach stations.
Wi-fi is a bit nerve-racking as the connection breaks off and requires that you watch the promo movie each time you log in.
Overall - a very good base camp.

Room Tip: No lift - choose according to muscle power!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 40 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#5 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
1.1 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Property: Hotel des Alpes
Address: 12 rue de la Poste, 74000, Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Annecy
#4 Best Value Hotel in Annecy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Alpes 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing