We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, a little worn but slept fine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Savoie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Savoie
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Annecy
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, a little worn but slept fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

The reason I gave this hotel a "very good" is because of it's fantastic location and view and because it was not as bad as I expected, given the previous reviews. We only stayed here because nothing else was available close by! However, I am glad we did. I was very curious to see these "carpet covered doors" sited in another review and I have attached pictures.

The good: Great location! Ours was a whimsically decorated spacious basic double room that smelled just fine and was clean - even though the paint is chipping a bit. We had a great view of the canal and going on's. We felt safe. It was a 3 minute walk from the easy to find parking for "Hotel de Ville" The parking came to about 9 euro per day after the hotel's nightly discount. (get voucher at the desk) All in all, I would recommend this as a basic hotel with room potential for noise (so bring earplugs) but it was not bad when we were there.

The bad: This is a basic and older hotel is tucked into a very polished tourist area, so the feeling of walking into the worn lobby is a bit noticeable, but not that bad. The bed had one long pillow, but I would have preferred two normal pillows. OK service - It took them 10 minutes between calls and paper shuffling for them to tell us to come back later for our key. Definitely bring earplugs - even though the windows are supposedly sound proofed, you can still hear the louder people on the street (which quieted down around 11pm) We had to get up for an early flight out of Geneva, but between 11pm and 5am (when we got up) we slept peacefully.

Overall, I was glad I took the risk on this place and enjoyed being in the center of this beautiful tourist town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GradStudentSpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    19
    18
    42
See reviews for
17
46
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic. (best thing it has to offer)
Unfortunately for me I hastily booked this hotel through another web site that had no reviews, big mistake!

You can pay extra for a room that over looks the canel, but don't bother as once you see the room you will only want to be in there as little as possible. There are nice seats under a tree right out the front on the canel anyway.

THE GOOD
Reception staff ( if you can find any) friendly and speak English. The shower was very hot and the actual bed comfortable. The room was clean and had good storage.

THE BAD
The room very small with old furnishings (not antiques, just shabby). The bathroom tiny, just sitting on the toilet you bang into the shower screen. No hooks for used towels to hang. No shelf for toiletries, the only place to put my toiletry bag was on the closed toilet seat. The shower recess had cracked tiles, most tiles had very mouldy grout.

Our room was not made up for the second night of our stay. Lucky for us there was 4 towels in room when we arrived. We needed the extras as the others still wet due to not having any where to hang.

The pillows hard and lumpy. I think the sheets were clean, but very old, thin and even worn to a small hole in some places. Fridge in room but not working. No cups to have a drink of water.
The whole decor of hotel very shabby. Free wi-fi available, but only in reception, which is also breakfast room and the tv room. It constantly stank of cigar / cigarette smoke. Reception hours are 7:00-9:00am & 7:00-9:00pm. There is a phone on desk to call but no one comes, just tell you to come back 7:00pm.

I did not like it here and would not recommend. I am sure that you could find much better for the same money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Annecy hotels

Hove
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We booked this hotel through the net. Having done some research, we found this one was right where we wanted to be. So when we arrived and faced the building we were very pleased. We were about to stay for 4 nights starting from the 13th sept
The entrance to the building is somehow very unusual as you use the door on the left of the church and climb several steps in the building.
The reception was unmanned....so we waited and waited....it was in between 7.30 and 8 pm...until we found a note telling us to dial 9 to talk to someone which I did ( I am french) we were asked to wait for 5 minutes...which was more like 10 minutes.
The receptionist turned up eventually and dealt with us in the most sullen manner. We really felt unwelcome and showed the direction to the room.
The corridors were extremely uninviting, full of laminated flooring....up to the wall at hip level. The steps were covered with an awful green carpet.
We arrived near our room which was in a slight recess...the light was not working..so trying to find the key hole was problematic. The decor of the the halway is the same with the laminated/plastic faux wood up to the hip level.....and every door covered with brown carpet! just awful.
So we enter the room...the room smell was a mix of rancid and cigarette!! We had a fantastic view with 2 windows. so we opened the windows.
The room was simply awful. None of the furniture was matching, a table with lace table cloth, 2 unmatching chairs, a low bed with only one side table, There was a fridge attached to a multi plug unit..a cooling column not working....The shower room had unfinished DIY, a bottom panel of the door detached and put under the sink, The bathroom door would not close...It was simply awful.
The bathroom was tiny and every movement had to be calculated in order not to bang yourself. The units were clean so was the bed linen....except the extra pillows, one blue full of stains and one off white.
The night was again awful...It was very hot and we had to keep the windows open...the following have got nothing to do with the hotel but you should bear it in mind. There was a lot of noise mainly young kids having a party (the following night was better). Also you should bear in mind that the rubbish collection is very early and the lorry stops in front of the hotel and the bins are wheeled...on cobbles!!
The same with the deliveries. They start at 5.30/6.00am and some restaurant are only accessible on foot. Therefore the refrigerated lorries stop in front oth the hotel, unload the products and wheel them on a cobbled street/bridge...
So the night was very short.
We decided to look for another hotel even if this would mean paying twice.
We were under the impression this hotel was a 2stars french system but when we got a map of the hotels of Annecy it was the only one to have none. Also the last blue official rating outside the hotel showed 2008!
So we looked for similar 2 stars hotels...all of them 10 to 20 euros cheaper. But none could accommodate us the next night (convention)
We found a 3 stars accross the bridge for the 2 last nights and had to stay another night. We came back to the hotel and inform the lady we wanted to leave. And this will be the positive side of our stay there. She took note and we found that a few pb had been resolved such as the pillow covers changed, the loose panel under the sink removed and the air column replaced with a fan... She also asked us how we rated the reception the night before. First there was no one and then very unwelcome...She did not seem to find it unusual and instantly offered us breakfast for the next morning...We did not take it as we did not want to stay longer than neccessary.
She also told us she may not be able to charge us just for the 2 nights as some online websites are suspicious of such actions but would send a message requesting the possibility. and indeed we only paid 2 nights. So the lady had a very positive attitude.
The reception is also the breakfast room....same mis match of furniture with an IKea set called FUSION where the 4 chairs go under the table...
So be warned there is much better and cheaper around. You should avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorn, Berkshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in the 3-5 person suite for 2 nights. We loved the balcony overlooking the canal and historic Annecy. Accommocation was unique, clean and one of a kind, with a few quirky features and many endearing ones. The staff were very accommodating and friendly, adding not only to our enjoyment of the hotel but also to our whole visit. Our only recommendation would be to plant wonderful flowers in the balcony flower boxes to make the balcony even more appealing. The room was very good value for money, the location was excellent, and we would definitely stay there again! Thanks, Linda Hanneman Hughes

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaHughes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel, our room had a view of the Canal which was nice, however the downside of this was that we were kept awake half the night with the sound of rubbish going into bins from the restaurants that surround the hotel (both at night and first thing in the morning). Admittedly we had the window open (as it was very hot, no AC) and had to use ear plugs to sleep! The room was very basic and the hotel itself is very dark and dated. On the plus side the manager was excellent and offered a secure underground car park for the night for our Motorbike (which was free). Breakfast was fair, nothing special and not much choice (a Croissant, bread and a few Jam's). It was quite pricey at 79 Euros plus breakfast.

Good service from the staff but overpriced and quite dated.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traks22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

At arrival we've been told that the room we booked is not available, and we've been offered a worse room for the same price. The second day in the morning we negotiated to change the room to the one we booked, but it took the whole day to make it happen (we left the key at 9 am and got the new one at 5 pm, and then it took another 3 hours to arrange the cleaning/make-up of the room).
The hotel staff says everything will be arranged, while does nothing for that.
The rooms are dirty, the furniture is very old, there were no single hook to put a towel in the bathroom, and it seemed that some renovation there has started, but never finished.
It was hot, and the hotel has no any air conditioning, but if you open a window, a lot of noise comes from the street (which continues all the night since the hotel faces one of the main squares of the city).
The only advantage of the hotel is its very central location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

Hotel de Savoie certainly has character. It is very central and we pre-booked a room with a view over the canals. We were on a budget, carrying backpacks and were wanting a decent bed and our own bathroom facilities. With a car, we had to park, find the hotel, go back to the car to move it to the parking building then take our luggage over the road to the hotel. Booking directly with the hotel via email was hassle-free. The room was quaint and the bed was comfy and, for one night, we were happy with our choice. If we were staying in the area for longer we would look around again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PukekoPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
0.3 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.2 mi away
L'auberge du Lyonnais
L'auberge du Lyonnais
#36 of 40 in Annecy
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Privilodges Le Royal - Apparthotel
0.4 mi away
Alery Hotel
Alery Hotel
#32 of 40 in Annecy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 40 in Annecy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Savoie

Property: Hotel de Savoie
Address: 1 Place Saint Francois de Sales, 74000, Annecy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Savoie 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Savoie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing