We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views!”
Review of L'Imperial Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Imperial Palace
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The L'Imperial is a nice hotel. The rooms are average and clean. The views are outstanding. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. (I do not speak French.) The hotel is a 10-12 minute (casual stroll) to the center of town. The walk is along the lake and very pleasant. If you are a runner, the path along the lake and up to the convent was beautiful.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a lake view. The front of the hotel is not very appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjdays4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear clients,

It is with great pleasure that we read your nice comments about L’Impérial Palace**** and we would like to thank you for the time taken to share your impressions further to your recent stay.
Our primary objective and commitment are to offer good quality services as well as to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay to our guests. Our satisfaction is also when we meet our clients’ requirements.
So we are more than happy to hear that our teams were helpful.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon

Kind regards,

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    333
    132
    65
    44
See reviews for
163
604
14
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for a few days when I was riding L'Etape du Tour. The hotel is located right on Lake Annecy and has wonderful views of the lake and the surrounding mountains. It is an easy 1.5-2km walk to Annecy's restaurants, shops, and bars. The room is okay - somewhat on the small side, the bed is quite low on the floor. Areas for improvement (1) front desk personal need some training, (2) house cleaning came after 5p every day, (3) sensor on the balcony door was malfunctioning and so they Air Conditioning would not come out without a lot of fiddling w/the door.

If you are cyclist there are some nice rides rideable from the hotel including Seminoz (similar to D'Huez in difficulty) and within a 2 hour drive there are the Alpe classics like D'Huez and Galibier.

The hotel is approximately a 30 minute drive from the Geneva Airport.

Room Tip: High room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Following your recent stay with us during the Tour de France, we are very touched that you took the time to give us your impressions and feed-backs on Tripadvisor.

Regarding the staff at reception, we do apologize if the welcoming and the service were not up to what we usually provide to our guests and we have passed on your comments to the head of Department.
We have taken good note of the problem you encountered with the air-conditioning and we do hope that you called the Housekeeper to check that for you. We also apologize for the delay in the room being cleaned, despite having reinforced the team during the Tour de France.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I guess everything is beautiful in Annecy but this hotel does have some magnificent views of the lake and is very conveniently located next to two beaches for the summer time. The rooms are small and prices are very high. They could easily convert this hotel to a 5 start if they spent some money on it. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the old town. There is a bike rental place next to the hotel and biking is the best thing to do in Annecy. It also has a very beautiful patio for breakfasts or afternoon teal or evening cocktails. I would certainly stay here again and think Annecy is one of the most beautiful places in France!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lvet0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Further to your stay amongst us very recently, we do appreciate the time taken to let us know about your impressions and thank you for the warm comments towards the hotel and Annecy.
We hope to have the pleasure in seeing you again soon.
For your future reservations, do not hesitate to surf on our website to discover all the promotional offers that we can have, depending on the periods.

Kind regards,

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and i are presently in the middle of a 3 night stay at L'Imperial Palace and feel we need to report that everything (with one small exception) is excellent. The staff are charming, our room is splendid (we're huge lovers of Art Deco styling and the interior takes us back - in the best possible way), the lake and mountain view from our room is truly magnificent and we are getting value for money. Yes, it was a little difficult to spot the driveway and the signage could be more explicit, but that can be improved. The grounds are lovely. Proximity to everything in Annecy is very good. This is one of the world's great locations. I shouldn't even be bothering to mention my small criticism - a poor wi-fi signal to my room. I should get back to the balcony and return to my cold drink. It's 32c outside but the excellent air-conditioning has worked well, helping us to chill when we come in from the midday heat. This is a great location for a 'special' break.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear clients,

Further to your recent stay at L’Impérial Palace****, we thank you for your positive comments and the time taken to let us know about your impressions.

Concerning the Wi-Fi, we are sorry to hear that you had some difficulties. We did not get other remarks from guests and we think that it was due to a problem with the access code. We do hope that you called the reception desk, in order to get a new one.

We thank you once again for your kind remarks and look forward to the pleasure in seeing you again.

Kind regards

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

L'Imperial is overall a very good hotel where I would stay again. Last year I stayed in an nearby town Talloires, at another establishment - Hotel Le Beau Site, and I pledged then not to spoil the impression of marvelous Annecy next time by staying in a wrong - shabby, old and worn-out - place. Thus I resolved to stay in a reputable hotel, choosing L'Imperial. My expectations were totally fulfilled. In fact, this time coming from a stay in Geneve vicinity, escaping from the pathetic Swiss hospitality, L'Imperial was a breath of fresh and luxury air and we were happy to be in France again, marveling at the jewel of Annecy.

Positives:

The arrival at L'Imperial from the highway was easy, a pleasant drive through the town of flowers. The hotel looked glorious from the road. The spacious parking lot was close and convenient to the entrance. There was nobody meeting at the revolving doors, but some hotel employee inside quickly fetched the luggage trolley for us. The reception was efficient, and we got a nice surprise - although we did not reserve a room with a view, we got one!

Our room 808 had an oval window in the shape of a ship oculus facing the lake, the view was beautiful and serene. I must note that the window was a bit small for the room to fill it fully with light, thus making the atmosphere somewhat dark; yet the room was still cozy. To see the view one must come to the window and enjoy it while standing; the view could not be seen from a chair or bed or else. Yet since we had no lake-view expectations having a dream-like view made a big and gleeful difference.

Our room at the top floor was not too large but very comfortable, the bed was truly excellent, the furnishings were stylish; there was a huge well-lit closet, a safe and a minibar with nice glassware. The WiFi was fast and powerful in the room; the shower strong and the bathtub great. The room and the bathroom had nice modern design, very pleasing for the eye while also efficient and functional.

We stayed one night and were very happy with the hotel; check-out is at noon, which is a big plus these days. Parking is plentiful and free. The hotel has a large lakeside park surrounding it, with roses, birds and even its own wooden pier; one can spend hours just there or make a pleasant 15-minute promenade to the center of Annecy along the lake shore. It takes 3 minutes to drive to the center of Annecy, if you wish to save time. All in all, I liked that the hotel had everything it advertised, not less.

Minor flaws:

The price of the breakfast repelled the whole idea of taking it at the hotel; we took a look at it and it did not seem anything special or worth the exorbitant price tag.

On arrival, the hotel offers a complimentary drink at the casino and I wish we did not use it - the drink was awful and the atmosphere at the casino was cheap and dilapidated.

Otherwise, the hotel is quite nice, built in style of the grand hotels of the past but with the interior remodeled with a fleeting inclination for plastic, a slight notch below the expected elegance inspired by the magnificent exterior. The service is to match, i.e. it is acceptable but not too gracious or especially courteous in the old tradition - when you pass the front desk, they would not acknowledge you. Thus the elegance is somewhat limited and the staff impress as nonchalant, which is a pity since this aspect of a hotel hospitality should be easier to fix than to renovate a building.

However the essentials - great sleep, strong WiFi, comforts of the room, excellent scenic location, beautiful landscaped grounds, easy parking - are all there.

I would stay there again, or even - stay only there in Annecy; highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our very comfortable room 808 had a small oval window with the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Madam,

Further to your short stay at L’Impérial Palace, we want to thank you first of all for the time you spent in giving us in detail your comments and impressions.
We are delighted to read that our hotel met your expectations and that you recommend it. Our pleasure is really the satisfaction of our guests.

We do appreciate all the positive remarks you experienced from the beginning to the end of your stay and also the few negative ones that you pointed out.
Rest assured that we have passed them on to the entire hotel team and managers, so that everyone can fix the service to the appropriate level for our 4-star hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again very soon and hopefully for a longer time!

Kind regards

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were told this is the best hotel in Annecy, a four star. Everyone said it was beautiful. From the outside, it is pretty. We pulled up and there were no signs directing cars, it took us several minutes to figure out where the front door was. Once inside, there was ONE person at the front desk, NO bellmen to help with luggage and it was chaos. We were forced to prepay our non-refundable rooms or we would have changed hotels. The rooms were clean and recently renovated, but not a four star quality. Flat uncomfortable beds and pillows, very poor service, very disappointing. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Responsable commercial at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel in Annecy and for having shared your comments further to this recent stay with us.

We deeply regret to read that our hotel did not meet your requirements. Our primary objective and commitment are to offer good quality services and to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay to all our guests. So we are very sensitive and really appreciate that you mentioned frankly what was disappointing from your point of view. All the guest comments are very valuable as they help us in our search of excellence.

Concerning the bellboy service, indeed being mainly a conference hotel, this service is not provided the whole year long and then the receptionists take over the luggage handling. We do apologize that it was not the case when you arrived.

For the bedrooms, for which you stated that the beds were uncomfortable, we would like to inform you though, that all mattresses are quite new as they were changed less than 2 years ago. And for the pillows which seemed to be too flat for you, it is a shame that you did not use the extra pillows always left in the wardrobe or ask for the help of the housekeeper who would have been very pleased to assist you.

Thank you again for having brought your comments to our attention.
We sincerely hope that you will be visiting us again.
Please be assured that we will do our utmost to make your stay a very memorable one.

Best regards.

Ghislaine Blampey
Director of Sales & Marketing
+ 33 450 09 34 24
sales-marketing@hotel-imperial-palace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The view overlooking the park and Lake Annecy just can't be beat. The room was clean and updated. The rooms bigger than you find in Paris. However, there is a disco on the beach and if the quiet thumping of a disco bothers you, this may not be the place. The food and service were pretty good. It's about a 10-15 minute walk along the lake and parks to La Porte Sainte Claire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPA_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Sales & Marketing Director at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear clients,

Further to your recent stay at L’Impérial Palace, we thank you for your positive comments and the time taken to let us know about your impression.
We look forward to the pleasure in welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.8 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Carlton
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalpa
Hotel Catalpa
#6 of 47 in Annecy
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
1.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
0.9 mi away
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 47 in Annecy
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Imperial Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Imperial Palace

Property: L'Imperial Palace
Address: allee de l Imperial, 74000, Annecy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Annecy
#1 Luxury Hotel in Annecy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
#4 Business Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Imperial Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Imperial Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Imperial Palace Hotel Annecy
l Imperial Palace Annecy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing