We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View, nice older style hotel.”
Review of L'Imperial Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Imperial Palace
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great View, nice older style hotel.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The view overlooking the park and Lake Annecy just can't be beat. The room was clean and updated. The rooms bigger than you find in Paris. However, there is a disco on the beach and if the quiet thumping of a disco bothers you, this may not be the place. The food and service were pretty good. It's about a 10-15 minute walk along the lake and parks to La Porte Sainte Claire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPA_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Sales & Marketing Director at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear clients,

Further to your recent stay at L’Impérial Palace, we thank you for your positive comments and the time taken to let us know about your impression.
We look forward to the pleasure in welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    314
    126
    61
    43
See reviews for
156
573
14
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a hotel which should be great but falls short on several fronts. The building is a gorgeous giant chateau on the waterfront overlooking the incredible Annecy lake. The setting is perfect. But the place also doubles as a casino and as an exhibition centre, so perhaps that explained the indifferent service we got from the time we struggled through the door with our bags to checking out and the attitude from the guy overseeing the breakfast. Nothing extreme, but not what you would expect from a five star place. Also our room on the top floor was billed as having a lake view from oval windows. That was true but what they don't say is that you have to stand of a platform to look out at the view and so when you are just sitting in your room you have no view of anything. The problem is they charge a fortune for these rooms.
On the plus side, the setting it so special that it almost melts away the other complaints. Not good value for money. Should be great, but....

Room Tip: Don't pay for the eighth floor rooms with tiny oval windows up high. They feel like an upmarket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Sales & Marketing Director at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Further to your recent stay with your family, we thank you for having taken the time to send us your comments.

First of all and in order to avoid confusion, the hotel L’Imperial Palace has kept the historical name of the first hotel opened in 1913 which finally closed in 1963; but since its reopening in December 1990, we have a 4-star rating which was re-ratified by a general audit of the hotel recently.

Following the example of most business-oriented 4-star hotels, the bellboy service is not provided throughout the whole year. It is indeed our reception team, and according to the number of staff, who accompany guests to their room and take care of their luggage.
Regarding the staff in the restaurant, we do apologize if the welcoming and the service were not up to what we usually provide to our guests and we have passed on your comments to the Restaurant Manager.
As far as your room of the 8th floor is concerned, we regret you did not like it. We do have promotional rates according to the periods of the year but at this time of the season, unfortunately, only our rack rates do apply.

We do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you and your family on another occasion.
For a future booking, do not hesitate to contact Mélanie Bernard our Reservation Manager. She will be happy to upgrade you.

Yours truly,

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

May be pricey but its location is perfect, On banks of the lake, surrounded by tall lovely trees & high mountains on one side. Jogging track comes free. Haven't tried the casino or Spa. Dinner fare is typical Cordon bleu cuisine. Had Salmon with Pasta which was perfect & Chocolate mousse. The Double Caramel was too sweet & touch of orange was disappointing. Wines are exceptional & makes for a perfect stay. All modern amenities, Free wifi are available. They have one of the best auditoriums attached for a conference. The clincher were the french windows which open into a balcony over the lake - Perfect for Muffin & tea in the evening !

Room Tip: Choose the Lake view rooms & higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xstatic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Sales & Marketing Director at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Further to your recent stay at L’Impérial Palace, we thank you for your positive comments and the time taken to let us know about your impression.
We look forward to the pleasure in welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice and really love the hotel and it's setting. Sadly on each occasion it was only for one night as we were on route to the Alpes to pick up our son who was finishing ski seasons. We will return and hopefully next time will stay longer. The walk to the old part of the town does not worry us as we enjoy the stroll and the hotel certainly makes up for this.

Room Tip: We have on both occasions opted for a lake view and have not been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear madam,

Further to your recent stay amongst us, we thank you for your positive comments and the time taken to let us know about your impression.
We look forward to the pleasure in welcoming you again for a longer stay we hope.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have been at the Imperial several times and I think, I really know the hotel now.
Location: great location close to Annecy city (10 min walking) and to the lake (right there). If you want to go swimming, you have a lake "poolside" like 2 min from there.
Price: very high
Rooms: nice and practical, clean
Food: good but nothing extraordinary. Foie gras is almost a standard plate.
Service: very friendly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CROSSO78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear client,

As regular guest of ours, we do appreciate the time you spent in giving us your impression and we do thank you for your kind comments.
We regret that the dishes proposed in our different menus did not meet your expectation, despite the fact the restaurant has been rewarded a three forks in the Michelin guide.
We do hope to have the pleasure in greeting you one more time.

Kind regards,

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a fabulous location on the shores of Lake Annecy! The hotel lives up to its location and has been splendidly modernised to refresh its imperial exterior and create a modern but Art Deco interior. The challenge maybe that this hotel does not know how special it could be. Rooms are very comfortable, with outstanding decor and great views over the Lake. The service is quietly efficient and the food is good.
Surprising that the hotel is not busier but perhaps that is just because it is early in the year.

Room Tip: The only place to be is with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you kindly for your warm comments following your stay at L'Impérial Palace**** and we have passed them on to all our teams.
Thank you for having taken some time to give us your impression and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you very soon.

Regards,

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The rooms here are fantastic. Large, with a big comfy bed (with 2 separate quilts - must be a european thing), but the absolutely best thing was the view. We were in room 708, which had a view of the entire Lake Annecy, which is absolutely beautiful. You are south facing and you can see all the people running below and the lake for sunsets etc (Sun goes down out of view unfortunately to the west)
There is a small TV with mostly foreign channels, only the BBC and associated channels. Wifi was good and free (We had a code as part of a conference). The gym is very small, but adequate (given its location) - recommend going for a run around the lake anyway, its much nicer.
Bathroom is good size with one of those silly bath showers (i hate bath showers!). Separate toilet.
Minibar access is included in the price which is a nice touch, so you can just grab a coke.

The restaurant dinner was part of our conference, and was a very small 3 course meal which didn't really satisfy in its size.

Service is excellent. All staff members were great.

15 minute walk into the heart of Annecy city.

Room Tip: Get a south facing room so you can wake up with the beautiful lake annecy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Further to your recent conference which took place at L’Impérial Palace****, we thank you for your positive comments and the time taken to let us know about your impressions.

Concerning our quilts and according to a Scandinavian/German tradition (according to our German owners) , we decided to equip all our rooms, even double, with single duvets, which are for a better comfort.

We thank you once again for your kind remarks and look forward to the pleasure in seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Ghislaine Blampey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.8 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Carlton
0.9 mi away
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 47 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalpa
Hotel Catalpa
#5 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
1.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Imperial Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Imperial Palace

Property: L'Imperial Palace
Address: allee de l Imperial, 74000, Annecy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Annecy
#1 Luxury Hotel in Annecy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
#4 Business Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Imperial Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your L'Imperial Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Imperial Palace Hotel Annecy
l Imperial Palace Annecy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing