We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hotel with a pretty face” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Imperial Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added L'Imperial Palace to your Saves list
L'Imperial Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Allee de l'Imperial, 74000, Annecy, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel with a pretty face”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First impressions as one approaches this hotel is "wow". The building is glorious and the setting by the lake is lovely. The interior of the hotel has been modernised which doesn't really match the outside. Our room was a little tired and smelt of cigarette smoke, but we opened the windows and let in the breeze coming off the lake and all was forgiven. It's a shame about the casino which takes up part of the hotel, but I guess they have to make money somehow, so we forgave them that as well. Loved the location and our daily walks by the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dineindulge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Director of sales & marketing at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Madam,

Further to your recent stay at L’Impérial Palace****, we thank you for having taken some time to give us your impression.

Since its re-opening in 1990, the hotel has chosen a contemporary style which is appreciated both by our business travelers as well as our leisure guests.

Despite the hotel being 100% non-smoking, according to the French law in force since January 1st 2008, we do apologize for the smell of smoke in your room and we have informed the Head Housekeeper and her team to be more vigilant.

For information, the Casino, together with the Congress Center, share with the hotel the same building.

With the pleasure in welcoming you again at L’Impérial Palace.

Yours sincerely,

Ghislaine BLAMPEY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    192
    101
    54
    39
See reviews for
93
347
8
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Checked in en route to the alps for a break in the journey and to explore annecy. We had to take 2 connecting rooms on the top floor and had amazing views if the lake and town. Large rooms but let down by the decor and layouts, also starting to look a little warn. Ate in the restaurant and the service was awful. Food was also poor. Children's food burnt or badly prepared. Main meals sounded good on the menu but did not live up to the description. Poor presentation and flavours.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonybillingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Responsable commercial at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Further to your recent stay at L'IMPÉRIAL PALACE****, we would like to thank you for having taken some of your precious time to give us your feedback, in order to help us in our quality improvement programme.

Concerning the rooms, we inform you that all our 99 rooms are being renovated and the whole restoration should be finished in 2013. We have made the choice to do it step by step in order to minimize the inconvenience which might be caused by the noise.
We have taken note that you did not like the decor of your room, which is not luxurious as our main clientele is orientated business and conference

We are deeply sorry to hear that the food and service in our main restaurant, La Voile, which has been awarded with a "3 forks" range in the Michelin guide, did not live up to your expectations. We have of course informed our Executive Chef and the restaurant Manager.

We do hope to have the pleasure in seeing you again,

With best regards,

L'IMPÉRIAL PALACE (Hôtel**** - Congress Center - Casino)
Sales & Marketing Department
Ghislaine BLAMPEY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A great old style hotel with big bright airy rooms and beautiful views over the lake. Big balconies too. Bathroom great as well. The restaurant was busy and the food was good though quite expensive but normal for a four star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiewheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here in 2012, had a huge room, three sided terrace with lake view, absolutely magical. Tiny noise problem from park next door but generally great place to spend holiday. Food, service and general ambience fantastic.......will return....

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greensteps22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
252 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This could be an absolutely amazing hotel. The building is stunning and has a wonderful location on the bank of Lake Annecy. Service was, in general, very poor. There was only one staff member, the male host at the restaurant, who provided excellent customer service. The rooms are very outdated, in desperate need of a modern makeover. The Internet is terrible and logs you out about every 15minutes or so. Overall, a beautiful setting although needs a massive overhaul to make it five star.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannes
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A huge edifice standing at the end of Lake Annecy that incorporates a casino and conference centre. The public rooms are not particularly impressive and are more conference centre than grand hotel, though the dining room and its terrace must be lovely in summer. The bedrooms, however, are spacious, well equipped and extremely quiet and comfortable. Staff were helpful and unfailingly polite.This place is not cheap but where is in this part of France? Great base for touring the stunning countryside nearby.

Room Tip: Facing the lake but expect to pay a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journeymancannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel should be magnificant, but it's just ... odd. It's a sort of art deco hotel which has a 1970's feel to it. The room was comfortable - a one bedroom suite, but the layout not particularly comfortable, and the furniture not welcoming. The food was average for breakfast and lunch.

BUT ... the setting is absolutely "to die for" right on the lake with a small park and view of the moutains. For this alone I would stay there again, but I dearly wish this hotel would be taken over and brought up to the standards it deserves.

Room Tip: get a view of the lake or don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tartegnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
1.0 mi away
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 40 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
1.0 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#4 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Imperial Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Imperial Palace

Property: L'Imperial Palace
Address: Allee de l'Imperial, 74000, Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Annecy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
#4 Business Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Imperial Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your L'Imperial Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Imperial Palace Hotel Annecy
l Imperial Palace Annecy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing