We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Basic clean and well located hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atipik Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atipik Hotel Alexandra to your Saves list
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19, Rue Vaugelas, 74000, Annecy, France (Formerly Hotel Alexandra)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€69 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Basic clean and well located hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The 2 star rating is because of the available facilities, not the quality of this hotel which is great. Basic but clean and in a fantastic central location adjacent old Annecy. Within easy walk of everything. Car parking is offsite a 100 metres or so away at additional charge, and we were given poor directions to the parking, besides that couldn't fault the place. Exceptional value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    274
    42
    7
    0
See reviews for
90
417
52
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is well located for the train station and the old quarter, although the signs to it are a bit misleading! The room was fairly small but ensuite with a balcony, and the staff were friendly and helpful in giving advice about the town. Breakfast isn't really worth 8 euros. overall it was a good, well priced hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaeveAndDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Beautiful North
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, within 5 minutes walk of the lakeside and the old town, restaurants, etc and also about 5 minutes walk to the train station. Yet it's not in a noisy location, which is a bonus.

The service here was the best we experienced - arriving late from the train station, the multi-lingual staff checked us in quickly and had taken our heavy luggage upstairs to our room without us even asking !

Breakfast/ reception area was very clean and stylishly decorated. We hadn't booked breakfast, but we tried it the first morning and ate it every morning after - good quality Continental breakfast, with a nice selection of food and teas, etc.

Staff were very helpful and professional, assisting us when we wanted to find various facilities nearby.

As with many budget hotels in older European buildings, there is no lift, and the rooms are small. Furthermore, the walls are a bit thin. We had a problem with people talking loudly in the next room late into the night. However, we mentioned this to the staff in the morning and there were no further problems.
Although there is no lift, the stairs were quite wide, and not as steep as similar hotels I've stayed in. Having said this, it's not really suitable for people with limited mobility.

Overall it's a good hotel, but probably not for those who are light sleepers or have limited mobility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NightOwl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is close to the lake and the bike friendly lake path. The canal view really isn't much, next time we would not want to spend the extra money for it. The location is great, not too near the old town, but close enough that you can easily visit andrequrn.

Room Tip: Do'nt bother with the extra cost for the canal view, it isn't much
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fireman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo,Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in early October. This was our second stay at The Alexandra. The hotel is perfectly located downtown, is very clean, and affordably priced. The owners were on vacation during the time we were there and we definitely missed their outstanding service. Some rooms have a canal view and are worth the extra cost in my opinion. Annecy and the towns along the lake were lovely as usual!

Room Tip: Canal view is great if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfstennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Close to town, like others have said rooms are very small, a great budget hotel. Be aware there is no lift in this hotel. Staff were accommodating but not overly helpful. Didn't take breakfast as it seemed overpriced. Rather went to Le Peche Mignon just a couple of streets from the hotel and had amazing pastries and coffee and hot chocolate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 361Mountainlaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton england
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This time I stayed with a travel-mate and as they didn't have a twin-room available on the first floor, they gave a family room at the same price - with a small reduction as we stayed 10 days and I had stayed with them before.

This hotel couldn't be more convenient for everything in Annecy - shopping, eating, the railway station, boat trips, the bus station and all the sights of the town.

The staff are fantasically helpful and welcoming to every guest, with no request being too much trouble for them. Rooms are furnished in a minimalist style but, I don't need to pay for armchairs and carpets! If I had one small criticism it would be that, being of larger build, there is very little space in the toilet areas of the bathrooms so, if you need wriggle-room, you might need to work on your suppleness before staying there!
Next year, they hope to add 5 more rooms on the First Floor and move Reception/Breakfast Room to the Ground floor, where they have acquired more space. As the hotel is more often full than not, I am glad that more people will be able to stay there and enjoy Annecy.
Since my visit in Sept last year, the hotel has been given a Tripadvisor Certificate, which they have framed and is now proudly displayed in Reception. The recognition is rightly deserved and is testament to the way in which the owners, Patrice and Nicolas, and their team regard and treat every guest, as though they are the most important person in the hotel. If you need help with luggage - there is no lift as the building is listed - there is always someone to carry cases up or down the stairs for you.

Breakfast is Euro 8 per person but you can eat all you want and the food is of high quality. The hot drink machine is one of the best and even I as a non-coffee drinker, was impressed with the cafe au lait! If you need eating-out suggestions, the staff keep a book with customer recommendations in it. Try L'Arcade in the old town!

Please go to Annecy which is utterly beautiful and do enjoy the hospitality at the Alexandra Hotel! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: I stayed in rooms on the first floor and the double glazing keeps all noise out from the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.1 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#4 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#6 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Seynod
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atipik Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atipik Hotel Alexandra

Property: Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Address: 19, Rue Vaugelas, 74000, Annecy, France (Formerly Hotel Alexandra)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
#2 Business Hotel in Annecy
#2 Best Value Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atipik Hotel Alexandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atipik Hotel Alexandra is ideally situated 300m from the lake, 200m from the railway station and the entrance to the old town. Personalised hospitality, family atmosphere and the charm of the place, all add to the comfort of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Atipik Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Annecy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing