We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location in Annecy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was my first time in Annecy, and I loved it! The city is very picturesque and, by European standards, not at all crowded. The hotel is very well located in the old town area and, as the name indicates, right next to the Palais de l'Isle. I arrived by taxi from the railway station, and the taxi driver had no difficulty getting to the front door of the hotel; similarly, when I left I booked a taxi the night before, as advised by the hotel receptionist, and it was waiting right outside the front door.

The hotel seems to be spread across two or three old buildings, which can make the walk from the lift to your room a slightly meandering experience, particularly as the lights in the hallways are movement-actuated, but I found it very easy to negotiate, and it became second nature very quickly. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

My room was big and very comfortable and, with windows on two sides, had great views of the canal and the Palaias de l'Isle. The bathroom was small but worked well. A good continental breakfast was included in the room rate.

I spent three nights there, and would have been very happy to stay longer. Very good value.

Room Tip: I was in room 302, with great views on two sides of the canal and the Palais de l'Isle.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 312 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Even a good GPS couldn't figure it out. The trick is to NOT try to drive to the hotel, there is an hydraulic barrier near the canal which must be dropped after you buzz the police, but they may not answer. It's an easy walk from parking especially with roller bags. So, find the hotel de ville (town hall) on the main drag near the head of the lake and canal. Look for lots of flags. Park at the hotel de ville public parking lot, it's below ground level and secure. Walk across the street and bear left toward the canal. Go to the second cobblestone bridge and turn left over it. The hotel will be just ahead on your right past two restaurants that are part of the same building. The name can be seen high on the building as you cross the bridge. Even if you have to walk it twice to bring bags, it is still worth the effort. Once you get there you are in a nice snug hotel in a great location. (Ask for a parking voucher which will lower the parking rate.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bal734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I booked this hotel as a surprise birthday gift for my partner and I had found the photos of it rather romantic. When we arrived (around 1 p.m.) the reception was deserted. After ringing several times, an ice-maiden attendant arrived, her mouth full of the sandwich she was still holding and unlocked the door, chewing. Demonstrating visible irritation at the other clients coming to collect their luggage while answering the phone and ignoring us, she unsmilingly finally took our names. Unlike in other structures, she offered no touristic information or brochures. I'd taken the deluxe room - costing Euros 130.-- per night, as a view of the canal was included. We in fact had two small windows on it (one on top of a restaurant- we could smell the frying oil in our 3rd floor room if we kept it open), a very minimal and tiny room with an equally small shower room. The corridors were a maze and very very noisy - we could hear every movement around! Returning that night, our tv disconnected! When we mentioned POLITELY the next day, she [the same person] answered in a very rude tone that it was a "recurring problem" and that we should have called the night audit as "that's what he's paid for" - her exact words. For check-out we were given the non-negiotiable time of 11h30 as if we were asking for a special favor (our night had been shortened by an hour due to DST)! NEEDLESS TO SAY, WE DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Don't! Even the priciest room was a total let-down. Our good humor and patience, not to mention...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great little cozy place, very romantic in the middle of some very small streets where cars are not allowed. There´s also a street fair that takes place in the hotel area where they sell regional fruits, vegetables, hams and of course, cheeses. The city of Annecy is known as the franch Venice, because of the many small rivers that cut the city and all the old constructions around them. There is also a very big and beatiful lake too. Too bad I was traveling for work and not with my wife, but I´m comming back with her for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Palais de l'Isle reminds me of my first travels in Europe in the 70's: neat old building located in the middle of the older, picturesque part of the city; various levels of hallways, turns, steps leading to rooms tucked into every corner. Quintessentially French! The elevator will hold one person and one suitcase but the spiral staircase is so neat - it is worth the hike up and down. The hotel is a bit tired; the location is great, the staff helpful but if you book this place - ask for directions to reach it on foot - you cannot drive to it!

Room Tip: Our window opened over the small street behind and with the window open, the were too many revelers...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyfarmgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My family and I stayed here and we thought it was a great choice. The rooms can be small for US standards but they are quite pleasant. Hotel is right in the middle of old part of town. It is about 10 minutes to train and bus station, an easy walk even with luggage. The view of the canals and the old city is quite enjoyable. There is an active local population. There was a sort of run, search treasure hunting put on by a local running club. It was nice to see adults on a treasure hunt around the old town. We were able to see the activity right out of our window.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globoterraqueo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

the hotel is located right in the heart of beautiful Annecy and the balconies overlook the canal, historic prison and nightlife in the square. very convenient especially if you limited time in this beautiful town. we had a suite and it was very nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueellen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.2 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Carlton
0.2 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Privilodges Le Royal - Apparthotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Annecy Centre
Mercure Annecy Centre
#17 of 47 in Annecy
557 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais de l'Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais de l'Isle

Address: 13 rue Perriere, 74000, Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range: $135 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Palais de l'Isle 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Palais de l'Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing