We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Lac d'Annecy
from $59.30
More Info
from $100.20
More Info
Reviews (5,990)
Filter reviews
1,451 results
Traveler rating
1,208
216
21
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,208
216
21
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful lake old town boat trip clear water rent a bike water sports paddle boats round the lake cycle path french alps sunny day amazing views mountains france cycling lakeside shore
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,451 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We made another visit to this historic Savoyard town and the trip is well worth it. A wonderful medieval Old Village, a beautiful clean and clear lake, amazing mountains, crisp fresh air. A must-go!

9  Thank aubergine_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday

If your trip to Europe targeted somewhere around or near the French and Swiss border you should not miss visiting a beautiful city calls Annecy, take your children to that lovely part of the French countryside, enjoy some water activities at the lake of Annecy, if you are at the sale season, then you are lucky, you can visit the branded stores and you can enjoy your shopping there since it is quiet and not as crowded as the other big cities, one day trip to Annecy will remain in your memory for the life time.

Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

The view of the lake and the mountains surrounding was astonishing. We spent around 2-3 hours of our day just walking around the lake and admiring the view. There are also many activities in the lake for which unfortunately we didn't have much time. Next time though!

Thank vm-aranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The lake was absolutely breathtaking - the water was really blue. We went on a boat tour of the lake for about an hour which was a great way to see the lake and learn about the surrounding area.

Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lac d'Annecy is worth visiting in summer and winter as there are a good range of "beaches" and water sports in the summer and markets and restaurants in the winter.

There are a number of ways to tour the lake: by bike is a good cycle but doable, there are water taxi options and a number of cruise / dinner cruise options as well.

Veyrier, Menthon, Talliores are nice villages to visit and there are a number eateries for lunch / dinner around the lake as well as in the town.

Sportifs can find plenty do around the lake or close by in the mountains.

there are a number of cultural events during the year...e.g. animation festival in the summer attracts international crowd.

only down side is traffic / crowding in July / august around the lake can make travel very, very slow and frustrating.

Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lake Annecy presents the scenic, panoramic, picture postcard face of Switzerland. The water is crystal clear and the lake is surrounded by beautiful well-maintained green parks, with the mountains and majestic Mont Blanc itself in the background. There is an entrance fee for many of the beaches but some are free also. There are also boats and pedalos for hire and indeed pleasure boat trips for if you don't want to row. Or you can also drive/bike or take a lakeside bus around the whole lake and visit the other lakeside villages with interesting shops and cafés nearby; otherwise, just relax, go for a swim or picnic in the park while doing some people watching. A good way to unwind in an idyllic location on the banks of Lake Annecy.

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Images on the internet come to life as you stroll down the old town. Baskets of flowers along the river bank railings, cafes and markets (3 days a week). Colourful buildings of all shapes and sizes. They call it the Venice of France because of the river running through the old town. In my opinion it far surpasses Venice. Importantly you are not carried along by waves of people.
The Pont d' Amour, the river lined with avenues of old Plane trees, the lake... It was love at first sight.

Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Magical place, we visited on 31 of Dec. the Christmas markets were all open, the atmosphere was great! the smells were incredible, we took a walk in the old city, tasted the local treats, saw the chateau and the prison and the lake. all great!

Thank Heba J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Quick visit to the lake with some relax time. Great place to take pictures one the boardwalk.
Great place in summer

Thank Salvo_KANGOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

This is our fourth time to Annecy now and we really enjoy coming back year after year. There is so much to from water sport to fine dinning. We try to stay at different part of the lake so we get a variety of restaurants and scenery. The people are really friendly in the restaurants in the old town and around the other parts of the lake so try it all. I would recommend you drive around the lake as some of the little villages are stunning. We drove from Annecy old town to a mountain top view. From the old town keep the lake on your left hand side and keep going until you see a sign with says Mantain ski turn left at the roundabout and follow the road and when you get to the top the views are amazing. The road is very steep and you think you are in someone’s driveway but stick with it. At the top there is two restaurants both with stunning views.

Thank Monty101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews