We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither Best nor Western!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Annecy is a beautiful city with great food, architecture and sights. We stayed at the Hotel Carlton based on recent reviews as we have done many times in the past. This is the first time I welt like we got burned. The room itself was fine with plenty of room by European standards. The WiFi was spotty, but i would have endured it without complaint. On the other hand, the "air conditioning" was a joke! The Summer temperatures were warm when we stayed, but nothing outrageous. The hotel requires a room key card to be inserted to operate the AC , so when you leave, it turns off. They would not give two keys. The AC did not cool the room effectively at all. The first night I complained to the hotel manager at 2 am when the AC simply was not reducing the temperature. He awkwardly acknowledged this was a recurring problem for the hotel and did offer to switch our room. I wisely asked to see the room and see if the AC was better. It was not, so we endured. About 5 hours later, the room did begin to cool down, but sleep was difficult. So, if you don't mind sleeping in a Pakistan flophouse in France, stay in the Hotel Carlton. No offense to finer Pakistani hotels intended, but you get the point.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BWorthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 518 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

First of all, Annecy is a gorgeous city. If you want a beautiful vacation spot, put it on your itinerary for sure. And when you are there, this is an excellent choice for a hotel. It is modern, spotless, quiet, and the staff was very friendly. If you arrive by train, it is an easy walk across an esplanade, even if you are lugging a heavy suitcase. We didn't try the breakfast; there is a good patisserie a block away. It's a very short walk to the lake and the old part of town, which are both amazing. We were so happy that we made this part of our French tour.

Room Tip: We had a basic room, which was fine, but not spacious. If space is important to you, move up the sca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucylaprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel in the city center of Annecy, 10 minutes walk from the lake. Rooms are small but ok. Elevator definetely too small and the bar has no draught beer. I could not understand how they got the 4 stars. I would give 3. Use the public parking which is less expensive then the hotel garage.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Sonnenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A warm welcome back to a revamped hotel which was the base for three excellent days in and around Annecy. The location is so convenient for the town (a few minutes on foot) and easy to drive out into the countryside. The rooms were extremely clean and well equpped. There was free wifi. Breakfasts, although expensive, were good. We left feeling well satisfied with the hotel.
Our room had a small balcony with two chairs. The adjacent garage was easy to access and very secure.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are on the top floors and afford a good view of Annecy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChasDartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Right on the edge of the old town and close to the railway station yet quiet (double glazed windows). Helpful staff, clean and spacious room. Whilst it does not have much character, the location and comfort more than make up for it. All staff speak English fluently, there is some parking by the hotel and at a nearby garage at extra cost.
Breakfast was good but expensive.There are hundreds of restaurants in the area within a few minutes walking. To reach the lake is about 7-8 minutes walking.

Room Tip: We chose a Superior twin room which was spacious and comfortable. Lots of electic points for chargin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Annecy is such a lovely town and this hotel is well situated near the station and the Old Town, overlooking a park. Staff were polite and helpful and the rooms were comfortable, if rather small. The bar/communal area/breakfast room were also a little on the small side, but we were well looked after

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wresto4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Service poor, rooms small, no real facilities, bar even ran out of wine, this was in France I believe, the country known for it's wine or am I wrong, tried a few Best Westerns in past, all poor, will never waist my money again with Best (Worse) Western

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenJJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.2 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel International
1.1 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.1 mi away
Mercure Annecy Centre
Mercure Annecy Centre
#15 of 47 in Annecy
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton

Address: 5 Rue des Glieres, 74000, Annecy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Annecy
Price Range: $97 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlton
Best Western Annecy
Annecy Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing