We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a great location for people catching the train as it's about a 2 min walk. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak good english. I wasn't happy with our room as I booked a comfort double with booking.com I felt it was a little small and as we were staying 4 nights there I wanted something a bit bigger, I went to reception and they gave me a key to another room which was much bigger, we did however have to pay another 30 euros though, but well worth it as we had a bigger better room with tea/coffee making facilities and an espresso machine. The hotel is ideally situated for the shops,(take plenty of cash because the shops are great) restaurants and brasseries. Visiting the sunday market is a must. I definitely would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    225
    110
    25
    10
See reviews for
72
253
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very comfortable hotel in an excellent position Friendly and well trained staff and good maintenance of rooms.It is well worth taking a superior room if staying for more than one night thought a standard rooms are also well appointed and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Winebuff83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Carlton Annecy in Oct 2012. It is ideally located near Annecy railway station which suited us well as we arrived by train. Annecy is quite a small town so this hotel is not far to walk to all the main things to see there. We payed for one of the quality 'posher' rooms, which I think proved to be a good move as we ended up with a nice room on the 7th floor with a superb view of the mountains and roof tops of Annecy. Naturally I couldn't vouch for the less expensive rooms but I'm sure they'd be fine based on what we encountered. The staff were very pleasant and spoke perfect English, also the Hotel was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was the usual continental buffet style, but plentiful and tasty. Annecy is a lovely place and if we re-visited we'd be booking this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petenromney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
344 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

this is my 2nd stay at this hotel, located close tothe old town just opposite the train station, rooms are reasonable, but a little small, no aircondition, with LCD TV, WiFi is free, breakfast is very delicious wit hfresh juices, bread and good coffee, Breakfast is part of the room rate, parking is a little difficult for pick up, for a few days acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskies15-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gifford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stopped here for 1 night en route to the French Alps. The hotel is fairly typical of Best Western, clean, reasonably well appointed and in a great location. Annecy is stunning and we wish we had more time here. We were travelling with our 6 month old puppy and the room was ideal for him as well as us. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We never ate breakfast here so can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as these have small balconies and overlook the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a reasonable priced hotel but must warn people that breakfast is NOT included, there is a charge of €12 which is expensive for breakfast, restaurant staff were not very polite either, did not smile or help, no cutlery on table. We went to the local supermarket and bought croissants etc and ate them in our room. Staff on reception were very nice though, always smiling and helpful.

Room Tip: Breakfast NOT included in price. All rooms have air conditioning, we had a balcony which was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Last year we stayed in two Best Western hotels in France, and they exceeded our expectations. This year we stayed in two Best Western hotels in France, they were awful. The Best Western Carlton in Annecy is on a busy corner and very noisy. When I made the reservation, I requested a quiet room. When we checked in, I again asked for a quiet room. The desk clerk said that would not be necessary, as it was quiet at night, and the drapes would muffle the noise. Of course, this was not true.

We paid the hotel for parking a block away. The desk clerk did not tell us about the location of the button to push to exit the garage. If a couple of women hadn't been at the desk at that moment, we might be stuck in the garage yet. They told us what to do, and where the button was located. They had had a moment of sheer panic when they couldn't get out of this very dark, dingy garage.

Breakfast was 16 Euros, which is about $20. We skipped it and found lovely breakfasts for much less right in old town Annecy. Last year, both Best Westerns provided breakfast at no charge.

Very tiny room. There were very few amenities like shampoo, etc. in the bathroom. Again, cutting corners at our expense.

When a hotel starts at "No," that should be a warning to avoid it. This place is clearly in business to rip off the tourists. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It's too bad that this hotel ruined our trip to Annecy. We were happy to leave and will think twice about staying at Best Westerns in the future.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay where they care about their guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakemissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
1.1 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel International
0.1 mi away
Mercure Annecy Centre
Mercure Annecy Centre
#16 of 47 in Annecy
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Carlton

Property: Best Western Hotel Carlton
Address: 5 Rue Des Glieres, 74000, Annecy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlton
Best Western Annecy
Annecy Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing