We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try the 'cappuccino' side dish”
Review of L'Esquisse

L'Esquisse
Ranked #3 of 476 Restaurants in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $67
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must try the 'cappuccino' side dish”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a brilliant night out at L'Esquisse last night. It's everything the other reviews say except we found there was plenty of food, we definitely weren't hungry. I ate the bread because I thought after my Saint Jaques (3 large perfectly prepared scallops) that the portions may be tiny but we came away so full i was not even able to finish my fresh brie or the chocolate dessert. Our mains came with a cappuccino cup filled with a foamy creamy side dish that was surprisingly sensational.

The chef's wife is utterly charming and so happy and helpful despite our language barrier. I'm glad that we didn't let our lack of French language skills from having this experience, it's a big highlight of our Annecy trip.

I really wanted the Saint Jaques so I opted for the 49 euro 2 choices + fromage + dessert. The surprise menu was excellent value at around 35 euros as it had an appetiser and a main plus cheese and dessert too. There was also a selection of tiny pre appetisers and post dessert treats to round off the whole experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerri54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    80
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brit in France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great, little gourment restaurant”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We live in the area and have been searching a long time for a good restaurant in Annecy, which has excellent food at a reasonable price. We have tried many but unfortunately, in Annecy the large majority of restaurants are for tourist and most have similar menus. Great if you are a tourist but not good if you live nearby. L’Esquisse was a breath of fresh air. Nice minimal décor, not too many tables, excellent food and service. The restaurant is run by husband (chef) and wife, attending to the service. We had a warm welcome and all the food was explained in detail, which was a lovely touch. We had the menu at €29 which was great value for money. The portions were just right so that each course could be enjoyed without feeling too full too soon. Each dish was beautifully prepared and served. The wine which was recommended to us was also an excellent choice. Will definitely be back and will recommend to friends. You must book in advance and although we only eat out at luchtime in Annecy on our monthly visit to the Brocante, It would be perfect for an evening meal too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happywanderer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Tanurah
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not as good as we thought”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We selected this restaurant because of the reviews in Tripadvisor but we did not like it that much. The pictures looked great but the food is average. It is a few menu options type of restaurant but we found the food undercooked and not as per our taste. Definitely not for families and the options for children are none. It si a Chef type of restaurant but simply we did not like it that much.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Promises a lot and delivers little. I read all the reviews and had to book 5 days in advance. Five days of looking forward to this great meal. Didn't materialize. Awful decor. Cheap as they come (the decor not the bill!!). Overworked chef's wife doing all the serving alone for 7 tables (that's all it is). Idiotic quantities even by nouvelle cuisine standards. We were still waiting for the main dish to arrive when we were served a horrid cheese mousse (imagine whipped cream tasting of strong french cheese) and the desert. Even though we had the 5 course chef's surprise menu, we had to get something to eat afterwards. We got 2 fish courses and one rabbit dish. Who ever serves two sequential fish courses in a five course meal? Two bites of each dish is all you get.
Ridiculous over-rated trap. And expensive to boot

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Small friendly culinary surprise”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We needed to book. Others were politely turned away! Welcomed and seated in the "trendy grey" room with diffuse lighting. God ambience; the tables were quite close together we (the only non French) did not feel intrusive. The menus were interesting..Ris de Veau, risotto de coquilles...we had the menu surprise which did not disappoint..amuse bouche, fresh crab marmite , and then the tenderest veal with a wonderful mushroom, potato/cheese purée.
We would happily go back tonight!! Followed by cheese and chocolate choc!
It was all very relaxed and friendly...not to be missed...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JABOZ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Esquisse also viewed

 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to L'Esquisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing