We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint hotel in a great location with excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Catalpa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catalpa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in a great location with excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 night while chasing a few stages of the Tour de France. Hotel is in a great location near the lake. Hotel itself is typical french, rooms are good sized and clean with all the facilities needed. There is a restaurant with a very French menu and also a little bar and terrace which we used every day for our daily alcoholic intake. Quite a few other restaurants around and also normal shops (head away from the lake). We loved out stay here

Room Tip: Some room have a balcony but I presume you have to pay more for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    134
    24
    15
    13
See reviews for
31
217
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in average, somewhat aged and small rooms (though clean).

At check-out I asked to change the address on the receipt, but there was just a sharp reply that this would have to be arranged a day before. Who would know that?? They not even offered to put the change in by hand and stamp it... I'm disappointed by this low level of service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very friendly staff and great location right by the lake with a very pleasant 1km walk into Annecy itself. Rooms are somewhat old fashioned and the lack of a shower curtain anywhere meant bathroom was guaranteed to get soaked when someone was taking a show.

Free wifi is a bit flakey depending on which room you're in. Free parking as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hotel is in a fabulous location, just a ten minute pleasant walk along the promenade at the end of the lake into the centre of the old town.

The rooms are a little dated but very comfortable and our room was very spacious. The bathroom had a small shortcoming because there was no mounting for the flexible shower head so baths with part showers were the only option.

It was a great place to access the cycle path (all the way to Albertville as we did if you wish) so if you are interested in cycling while in Annecy it is a good option.

We ate at the restaurant one night and were surprised and delighted by both the quality and choice of dishes. We also had wonderful service but that was consistent throughout our stay, not just in the restaurant. The lovely young woman at reception could not have been more obliging and helpful.

The private parking (additional charge) is in individual locked garages in front of the hotel which was very convenient.

We enjoyed our stay and plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macski13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

this is the second time i've stayed at this hotel. It was only for 1 night but i will be back again and it will be for longer. Only 10 minutes walk into town along the Lake and it had free parking and they even offered to put my car in there garage (as it has no roof)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

The hotel was very well located, walking distance from the beach and the center of town, yet far enough from the noise of the tourists. The service was impeccable. the rooms were cleaned promptly. Dinner was prepared by a 34 year old chef who could compete with any iron chef. the meals were exquisite and superb. Desserts were as good as LaDuré or Le Nôtre.
The price of the room was very reasonable.
It is also located near major cities in the region.
All in all, it was very pleasant and would recommend this spot strongly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raffi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2006

Great location, just off the lakeside park, about a 16-minute walk to the old town. Big plus is free outdoor parking. Smallish room in what I would call a commercial rather than a tourist hotel, clean, deep tub with shower on a handle but no shower curtain, desk but only one chair, TV (BBC World only), no safe, no mini-bar, no Kleenex, they claim wi-fi in the lobby, I could see the network but it would not connect. Dial-up in the room but you will need the old style French connector. (a problem in Annecy) 88 euros double with breakfast. Good value in Annecy. We recommend it.

  • Liked — Location and free parking
  • Tips/Secrets — Reserved through Logis de France website
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.9 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.1 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
1.0 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#7 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
Atipik Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 47 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalpa

Property: Hotel Catalpa
Address: 34 Avenue d Albigny, 74000, Annecy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CATALPA HOTEL, Enterely renovated in 2015, offers an ideal location, on the lakeside. Two steps from the Imperial Palace and its casino. From Catalpa Hotel, you can enjoy the town center, the lakeside, the old city center, walking distance once you parked your car in one of the free car parks which are right next to the hotel. Our 46 rooms offer an exceptional confort and a different decoration designed by french decorators. You will love it ! Our bedding is very high quality and french made, for unforgettable nights !!! Our restaurant << L'assiette Rouge>> is a gourmet Creperie with authentic recepies, made with organic and fresh products. The whole team of Catalpa Hotel will be delighted to welcome you and make your stay a wonderful time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Catalpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Faisan Dore Annecy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing