We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable price, TINY room”
Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Annecy
Letchworth Garden City
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, reasonable price, TINY room”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Very good location for Annecy but the room was miniscule

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddywatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    134
    35
    15
    8
See reviews for
48
106
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Second visit was just as good as last year. We were delayed 2hrs on the train and I called the hotel to let them know we wouldn't be arriving until midnight at the earliest. The gentleman on reception spoke perfect English and assured me that I wasn't to worry, they were waiting for us and he would be there all night.
The following morning we were delighted to open our bedroom window to admit a lovely white cat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillie424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Two of my sisters and I spent 2 nights at Hotel Du Nord in mid-June 2010. We were very pleased with our stay. Location good - short walk to train station in one direction, to the old city center in the other. The staff was terrific - from the e-mail booking process to their friendliness during our stay. They gave us good recommendations for restaurants that were spot-on good; and opened the breakfast room in the evening so we could play cards. The rooms were small but pleasant and had a small balcony. We enjoyed the breakfast as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garuda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We just spent two nights at the Hotel du Nord in one of their quad rooms to accommodate our two daughters. The room wasn't very big, but it was big enough (and bigger than our hotel in Paris!) and it was very clean. The bathroom was rather small, but we had a tub and shower so didn't really care about the size. The beds were comfy and the free internet access was appreciated as was the English CNN station. Parking was close by and the hotel covered the cost of the overnight parking, so we paid very little for what time we were actually parked. Staff were very helpful and friendly - all spoke English much better than I could speak French! We loved Annecy - the crowds there were nothing compared with Paris, so it was a very welcome change. Overall, we were quite pleased with this hotel and with the city. Nearby attractions were great as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidsintowPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We drove to Annecy from Paris. The town of Annecy is complicated as there is a medieval city center that is closed to traffic, and the surrounding city is composed of one-way streets. We stopped to ask a couple of local people on the street how to get to our hotel (we had a small but insufficient map of the town) but were met with gruff dismissals. The locals seem pretty fed up with tourists. And as I drove around I could see why. The lakefront is a huge traffic circle which just slogs along, bumper to bumper. When we found the hotel (a couple minutes from the lake, and thus all the traffic) we were thankfully provided a parking spot (for a fee), which is a premium possession in Annecy. The hotel is on a busy street, not too far of a walk from the charming part of town. And the price, as has been noted in other posts, is not expensive. But, the room was small and bleak, the beds not too comfortable, there is traffic noise, and an odd rolling metal gray security grate that comes down over the window like a garage door. Not too cheerful. The night desk clerk was grumpy and seemed not to want to be bothered with any questions. Annecy itself was so full of tourists that, in spite of its obviously lovely canals, I couldnt imagine why anyone would want to spend time there, unless you are a young single looking for a party scene. The area along the canals that leaves the main commercial district of the old town is very pretty for walking if you want to get away from the gelato eaters and trinket buyers for a little while. I know other people who have written reviews of this hotel and the town seem to like it. We are not skiers, just passing through, so maybe the allure of skiing helps. But I thought the pictures of the town on this site were much more attractive than what it is like to actually be there and fight the crowds.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Ok, the price for one was 47 a night, but the room was so small , that I felt inside a Shoes boxs, even the "toilet" almost imposible to take a shower there!!!!. Annecy is not a cheap place but the price that I paid I thing must to be better room. The breakfast ok for 7 euros.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank GUATELINGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We (two adults) stayed at Hotel du Nord for four nights in mid-March.

The location of the hotel on the edge of the old city center was convenient for seeing the city, plus close to the train/bus station for trips to skiing and/or Geneva. The room was still quiet at night, though. The staff also was mostly polite and helpful (and spoke English well). In addition, our room was clean, with a strong, hot shower. The optional/extra charge breakfast was good, too (though not particularly a bargain for what was provided).

However, our room was extremely small (even by 2-star European hotel standards) and provided no cabinet/cupboard/drawer space at all and no place to put our suitcases (one medium and one small), which was difficult. In addition, the wifi access in our room was frustratingly spotty (going out for long periods multiple times/day, apparently because of insufficient bandwidth for guest usage). Finally, parking (a block or two away) was only complimentary for the evening hours (during the day, we had to pay).

So, whether this hotel will work for you depends on whether the downsides that mattered to us might also matter to you. If not, Hotel du Nord might be a good choice. We, however, would not choose this particular hotel again.

We would love to return to Annecy, though: which is lovely, interesting, and convenient, with good restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Likkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.1 mi away
Campanile Annecy Centre Gare
0.0 mi away
Mercure Annecy Centre
Mercure Annecy Centre
#16 of 47 in Annecy
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#7 of 47 in Annecy
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adonis Annecy - Icone Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#5 of 47 in Annecy
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Property: Hotel du Nord
Address: 24 rue Sommeiller, 74000, Annecy, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Nord 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Nord Hotel
Du Nord Annecy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing