We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, considering the price”
Review of Aromatik'

Aromatik'
Ranked #48 of 482 Restaurants in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $142
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
montreal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed, considering the price”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

It's all about expectations. Previous reviewers boasting of a restaurant approaching a Michelin listing got us super excited to try this place. And it certainly was good. But we were expecting more than good, especially considering the price. The eggplant caviar entree was the highlight and was delicious but the brandade de lieu (whipped codfish) was painfully average. The cheese plate dessert was, again, fine, but we were hoping for so much more than fine.

We are not food snobs who only drop big bills in fancy restaurants. We're just a couple foodies who love having our breath taken away by good food - and unfortunately it didn't happen here.

(We're there for the food, not the service, but the waitress was SO rude and SO clearly unhappy to see us that it just must be mentioned. And we are French!)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank more_than_conquerors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    129
    40
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We selected Aromatik from a short list put together from recommendations from Trip Advisor and the Michelin guide. We have nothing but praise for the restaurant - the food, ambiance and service were all excellent. In particular, the chef created dishes with supremely fresh ingredients with wonderful taste and texture. The wine also gets a mention - the bottle perfectly accompanied our food.

On a mid-week night I do not think you necessarily need a reservation but come Friday and the week-end and with food and service as good as we had, I could see this getting very busy (plus there are not that many tables). It deserves great success and with that it could get difficult to get a table. Eat there while you can!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This small but lovely restaurant is in the heart of the old town but offers a very good french meal and good service. The chef is young and the food on offer is both tasty and original. The food was very good value for the price, the wine list was also quite good. They even put together a very nice and reasonably priced kids meal when we showed up with kids. Considering the touristic menus which are hard to escape in this part of town this was a very lucky find and I do recommend it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a wonderful meal at this restaurant. The food overall was delicious and well presented, the prices reasonable. Highlights were the lobster and the lamb rack. The service could be a little more attentive but if you are a foodie you will be satisfied.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bazoounka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Beaumettes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Appalling service and not for kids - Epouvantable!”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I have never felt compelled to write a review before. We phoned for reservation after TA guidance and asked if there was a "menu enfant" and whether they could cater for one vegetarian in a booking for 6. Service was terrible and no menu enfant - our worst experience with service in over 100 restaurant visits in France. I accompanied our 6 y.o daughter to eat takeaway burger and chips from around the corner on steps down the street as they wouldn't accommodate her there. Thank goodness we were hungry enough to persist with the torture, which included smoke fumigation from adjoining table as the average entrees were superseded by very good main dishes and the fish was excellent (exception:vegetarian dish). The Chef should shoot the wait staff as they interfered with the food experience. Give the Chef a go but avoid the service staff.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teague C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aromatik' also viewed

Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Aromatik'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing