We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bistro du Rhone

Le Bistro du Rhone
Ranked #9 of 463 Restaurants in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $44
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Settled since 1997, Sophie and Patrice CAVORET knew how to make of this place a well known greedy place of the Annéciens. Proud of their experience in gourmet restaurants, they knew how to adapt this knowledge to their atmosphere "Bistro". Sophie welcomes with happiness and smile and will know how to satisfy the amateurs of wines. To be of use to you a cooking of season in fresh products selected with the biggest care, the carte is 4 times changed a year. You will find a colored, flavourful cooking there, in the right cookings. In lunch, a menu of today's special (entrance, fish or meat and choice of dessert) is proposed to you. In dinner, a menu "Return of Market" various every day and a different "Menu-Carte" at every season.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Le Bistro du Rhone is a bit of the beaten track, but not by much. The restaurant is actually only a 10 minute walk from the heart of the old town in Annecy, and it is worth the stroll. I recently went with a fairly large group (23 skiers) at the end of a week-long holiday. We made reservations well ahead and were not sure what we'd find. The place doesn't catch your eye from the street and the decor is pleasant, but simple. However, the food and service were excellent. We were very well treated by the friendly and helpful staff. The food was outstanding! Everyone in our group was very pleased by the variety, presentation and quality. There was something for everyone including local favorites such as wild boar and sweet breads. I would highly recommend this restaurant. It was a real find!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TFMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    229
    36
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
230 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“French cuisine at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

First points were scored when we called with apology because we got delayed on our way from Lyon. A wonderful meal waited for us even though we were the last guests of the evening and the kitchen was supposed to close down soon. Snails were my absolute favorite, but other dishes lived up to the expectations as well. It's noisy, cosy and there is not much space, but it is the way it is supposed to be. A must if you are in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NATinCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and genuine french cousine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We read about this restaurant on trip advisor (it was nr 1 in Annecy at the time) ,and decided to try it out. The friendly lady who welcomed us at the door gave us the last and onlt table that was not reserved, we were lucky, but woud recommend to reserve a table in advance. The restaurant is located a bit outside the typical tourist part of town, though central in the city. We ordered the three course of the day, and was not dissapointed. Delicious food; great tastes and splendid looks. Good atmosphere and friendly staff. Recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunhild1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Delicious food in unlikely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

As noted by previous reviewers this restaurant is not going to win any prizes for its location or surrounding.
However the food is lovely, both the meat and the fish dishes were first class and the house wine very nice and good value.
Desserts not quite up to the same standards, it feels like they were outsourced in which case it may be an idea to change their supplier.
Definitely recommended and a distinct cut above the historic town centre restaurant offerings

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MEP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Beautiful , artful food in a lovely atmosphere . A warm welcome from the owner and a truly lovely and memorable evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonjournee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro du Rhone also viewed

 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Bistro du Rhone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing