We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too impressed”
Review of La Ciboulette

La Ciboulette
Ranked #33 of 557 Restaurants in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed January 31, 2016

The menu is as sophisticated as you should expect from a Michelin star fine restaurant. While the first course of langoustine was well done, my main dish of sole was not up to expectation. The fish was a bit over cooked and overall the plate tasted too bland. Service was also not great - the waiter speaks good English but kept on explaining the dishes in French, even after knowing we don't understand.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ZeeWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 860 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2016

Normally we are bistro or brasserie goers as we perceive fine dining to be a bit stuffy and for people with a bit more cash to splash. Now and again, though we just want something a little more special and having recently had a baby and this was our first opportunity to eat out and reflect on quite a year !

La Ciboulette did not disappoint. It offers fine dining without being pretentious. The evening set menu was good value for 60 Euros, considering you receive four courses and a number of tasty amuse-bouches. We had some Noix St Jacques to start, followed by a nicely cooked Turbot and cheese and poire/ pineapple based desserts. The wine list is extensive but you don't have to break the bank to have a good bottle of wine.

The Michelin star for me is an after thought. A friend recommended this place and we have been getting tired of the touristy restaurants around the centre of Annecy and wanted something better and different and that's what we got. However it made me think about what a MIchelin star is all about….for me I perceive it to be about passion and continually striving to excite and surprise..

With La Ciboulette, however, they seem to play it safe, with nicely plated and cooked food and you leave very satisfied, No more, no less.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 30, 2015

The restaurant la Ciboulette is the best table in Annecy. The elegant contemporary decor mix well with the fine cuisine of the Seasons featuring elegant French regional dishes as well as splendid desserts like Hot Souffle with aromatic liquor from the Chartreuse Monk. The service is excellent and inobstrubtive. An enjoyable and memorable place.
You will not be disapointed.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean-Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 28, 2015

This was an exceptional restaurant serving truly creative French cuisine. We enjoyed dinner with friends in an elegant, comfortable and engaging environment. The menu is as you would expect from a Michelin rated restaurant: an appropriate range of pervasively creative combinations of flavour, texture and colour, with first class plating. The wine list is, needless to say, excellent. The wait staff were appropriately attentive and were there when a thought required something.

Our experience is one which would be expected from a one star Michelin rated restaurant. It is not cheap, but then we weren't looking for a casual dining experience. I have no qualms about recommending this as a place to dine when visiting Annecy. Wonderful!

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Food ,of course, was at the level. However all what make your evening in nice restaurant is also good ambience and service coming with dishes. But This place miss it at certain level. Even though we had nice evening, i think stuff can improve level to be the same with food. Like f.ex while pouring first glass of wine, wait i have a first try sip (as usual for ANY resto) and moments like that.
So, this place may be not bad, but i can't say that it answers to my expectations.. Still improvement to be done.. mainly on service...
One remarkable point: Dessert was amazing.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tatyana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed La Ciboulette also viewed

Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to La Ciboulette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.