We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Central Location”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel is an easy walk from the train station and close to the harbour. Rooms are clean and the breakfast is good value. Staff are helpful.
The harbour area has a few decent restaurants but there is really little choice. OK for foe short visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie_Charlon, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Rich224,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy you felt good at our hotel.
Next time you come to Toulon, do not hesitate to ask us for some good tips on restaurants only a few minutes’ walk from the hotel. If you feel like staying at the hotel, why not trying one of our specials of the day? Should you come next Spring, our Terrace next to the swimming pool will be ready. It is just the perfect place to relax and have lunch or dinner, before or after a good swim.

We all hope to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely
Virginie Charlon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    120
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
33
83
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here this weekend Friday to Monday whilst watching Sale sharks v Toulon room was a good size, clean and had a superb shower room with large cubicle and powerful shower. Sat outside having a beer round the pool with friends (yes I know in December!!) before going into Toulon. Breakfast is good and the waiters were helpful. Hotel is really well situated close to the town and easy to find after a few beers

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiamondsonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie_Charlon, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear DiamondsonTour,

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to see you soon in Toulon for some other Rugby Match. Next time you come, have a tchat with Aurelie who is our rugby specialist at the hotel. A real fan.

Best regards
Virginie Charlon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar
Level Contributor
202 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Normally this chain is Ok. The hotel was undergoing work, and noticed a signed on reception when I checked out. One lift was not working, and at one point no lift. Bar Staff was a bit iffy, saw someone get a tray of drinks dropped almost on them, but saved by the floor, and one waiter dropped a meal. Also some noise from workman, but this was mentioned in the sign. However staff were OK to speak to, maybe just understaffed in the bar/dinning area, or missed it being a Faulty Towers theme night. Breakfast was OK not great. Room was really too warm, and all worked OK and clean. Internet worked OK. Overall maybe it was a bad week when I stayed, and give it the benefit of doubt. Welcome any similar views as I am not usually that critical.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAC2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie_Charlon, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear PAC2207,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please accept all our apologies for the strange atmosphere you have experienced in our bar. I have shared your comments with my team, and though it might have been a particular unlucky and clumsy evening, we are seriously looking for solutions to avoid this kind of situation to happen again. Our hotel has been carrying renovation works since April and the two elevators are part of the last phase. Normally, only one lift should have been stopped at a time to avoid too much disturbance. We are sorry about the inconvenience caused. We would be very interested in sharing more information with you regarding your stay. Would you mind to discuss it a bit further? I have taken the liberty to send you my email address via Tripadvisor “send a message”. Your comments are very useful for my team and I to understand how we can improve our service.
Though we understand we have not met your expectations during your stay, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely

Virginie Charlon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at this property the end of november due to a musical event and they could not have chosen a better hotel. Since it has been renovated my executive room was fresh and clean, finished with a neat contemporary look. The gentlemen at reception were beyond helpful and nice to us and so were any other staff we encountered during our two-day stay. Breakfast was adequate. The pool area looked fab too so I can't wait to come back during the summer ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMartinih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie_Charlon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear MissMArtinih

Thank you very much for your comments. We really are delighted you have liked our renovation works and we are looking forward to see you next summer

Best regards
Virginie Charlon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We selected this hotel based on good previous HI experience. Although there was refurbishment going on, during the day and the hotel is close to the main road junction, it was surprisingly quiet.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff thoroughly helpful.
During our stay, the mini-gym had not been completed and the refurbishment of our room was not quite complete. The refurbishment works also meant that several of the parking spaces were taken up for storage or trades vehicles.
Although I've mentioned refurbishment several times here, it was nowhere near as inconvenient as it might sound, and certainly not disturbing.
Finding the main entrance was a bit of a challenge, but there are several signposts around Toulon, and the hotel sign is quite visible at the west end of the town.
It is an easy walk into the centre of town and down to the port, so very conveniently placed. I can certainly recommend it, and it will be even better when the refurbishment work is complete.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie_Charlon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Peter F,

Thank you very much for your review. Renovations works are almost done now. The minigym has just been renovated and we will have brand new fitness equipments delivered very soon.
The parking spaces are now freed from any storage and have been cleaned and repainted.

Thank you for your comments regarding the access signage into the city, we are also working on this to improve it.

We hope we will get the opportunity to see you again soon
Best regards

Virginie Charlon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights only as we had gone to see a concert at The Omega Zenith in Toulon. The room was clean, airy and quiet with tea and coffee facilities. The hotel is very near the train and bus station,The Omega Zenith and the town. The breakfast although 14 Euro's each was very good.There was building work going on but it certainly didn't affect us at all.

We would stay here again if we needed to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackthespoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie_Charlon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Mackthespoon,

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope the concert was very good and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you at our hotel next time you come to Toulon

Best regards
Virginie Charlon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Four of us have just returned after staying 9 nights. The Hotel is modern and currently has building work going on. This does not disturb you as it is normally carried out between 9 and 5.30. We did have a lot of small issues in respect of housekeeping problems,i.e. towels not replaced dirty towels not taken away,cleaning not completed in bedrooms ,cups not washed etc. Although this was not major, every night on returning we had to go to reception. The receptionist Georges was very helpfull and always sorted any problem out. We requesterd to see the general manager Virginie who tried her best to sort the problems out, but they still went on.She did ask how things were after a few days, and we told her some of the problems still occurring. She took control again and on the last 2 nights we were problem free. Virginie once again appologised and left us some wine and fruit in our bedrooms,which we thought was a very kind and acceptable thought.We all think that when the building work is complete and housekeeping is sorted out this will be an excellent hotel.One other thought,when in the bar ask what time it closes,as one night at 10.30 we required a drink and was told it was impossible,so we sought out reception to arrange a drink,other nights depending who was on it went upto about 11.30.Will soon be 4 star.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in Room 303 or Room 304. These two rooms also have an outer corridor door. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExcellentCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear ExcellentCardiff,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted the service you received from Georges and Virginie exceeded your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for the housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping department and these will be used to monitor and improve the services we offer. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toulon hotels
Hotel Amiraute
#2 of 16 in Toulon
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Mourillon
Best Western Plus La Corniche
Grand Hotel Dauphine
#9 of 16 in Toulon
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre
Address: 1 avenue Rageot de la Touche, 83000 Toulon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Toulon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre is ideally situated in the heart of the city, and is close to the Port, the 'Palais Omnisport' stadium, the Opera house , also to the shopping district, and only 5 minutes walk from the railway station. The hotel has 80 comfortable rooms , non-smoking rooms and rooms reserved for guests with reduced mobility are available on request. The rooms are fitted with air condition, WiFi internet access , satellite TV and Canal +. They have an office space and all rooms have tea and coffee-making facilities. A gym room is available for our guests, as well as an outdoor swimming pool in the sunny season Our recently renovated restaurant 'L Observatoire' proposes traditional French cooking and a warm and friendly atmosphere. The bar 'L Escale' will welcome you for a pleasant and relaxing moment. In the sunny season, lunch and dinner can be served on the terrace next to the swimming pool Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre has 130 m of adaptable function space. Designed to ensure success for your meetings and business events, the conference rooms are equipped with WiFi internet access and offer capacity for up to 130 participants. Underground parking facilities are available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre Hotel Toulon
Toulon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing