We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Four of us have just returned after staying 9 nights. The Hotel is modern and currently has building work going on. This does not disturb you as it is normally carried out between 9 and 5.30. We did have a lot of small issues in respect of housekeeping problems,i.e. towels not replaced dirty towels not taken away,cleaning not completed in bedrooms ,cups not washed etc. Although this was not major, every night on returning we had to go to reception. The receptionist Georges was very helpfull and always sorted any problem out. We requesterd to see the general manager Virginie who tried her best to sort the problems out, but they still went on.She did ask how things were after a few days, and we told her some of the problems still occurring. She took control again and on the last 2 nights we were problem free. Virginie once again appologised and left us some wine and fruit in our bedrooms,which we thought was a very kind and acceptable thought.We all think that when the building work is complete and housekeeping is sorted out this will be an excellent hotel.One other thought,when in the bar ask what time it closes,as one night at 10.30 we required a drink and was told it was impossible,so we sought out reception to arrange a drink,other nights depending who was on it went upto about 11.30.Will soon be 4 star.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in Room 303 or Room 304. These two rooms also have an outer corridor door. This...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExcellentCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear ExcellentCardiff,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted the service you received from Georges and Virginie exceeded your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for the housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping department and these will be used to monitor and improve the services we offer. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good location not too far from to one of the main roads through Toulon if driving or only a six minute walk from the station. The refurbishment is well on, providing a bright reception area and attractive restaurant. The new bathrooms are excellent and, although our room was not quite finished, it was clean and comfortable. We opted for breakfast included in our room rate and it provided a good start to our day at a cost of only 5,00€ each. All staff were friendly, smiling and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelr06400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie_Charlon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Michaelr06400,

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to see you soon in Toulon again
Best regards

Virginie Charlon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

DH had to stay here for work and I tagged along. It really isn't that bad. It's in the process of being remodeled. Our room and the hallway had new carpet. There was new bedding, curtains, loveseat and desk. The bathroom was conventional but new and clean. Front desk staff helpful in recommending restaurants, but I overheard another customer complaining because their safe had been missing 2 days and the hotel could not seem to produce one. Also, free wifi and parking. Location convenient to the train station, but not the beach restaurants. Taxi to beach area was 16 euro.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie_Charlon, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Heather Y,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Your comments are very important to help us improve our services. Thank you for reporting the conversation you have overheard about a missing safe. It is true, we had had to remove one from a room in order to repair the electric part and had no spare one available to replace it. We should have had one and should have explained more to our guests. We are resolving the matter at the present time.
The renovation works are still going on and should be totally finished by mid-October.
Our hotel will then be totally remodeled and it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you in that new environment next time you come to Toulon.

Hoping to see you soon again in our city.


Sincerely,

Virginie Charlon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Having read the reviews we were a bit worried about staying here but very happy we did.
We were greeted by Georges on reception who spoke perfect english, he gave us the largest room in the hotel (room 220). The room was excellent, modern ,newly refurbished ,very clean bathroom,good shower .The air con worked perfectly ,the fridge in the room was very useful .
There was traffic noise as the room faced the busy road ,but then nothings perfect! The beds were soooo comfortable and large. On arrival Georges (one of the nicest French people we met over the week!) Asked if we knew the area and then proceeded to tell us about all the best places to visit and marking them on a map for us, through him we found a great beach a short boatride from the port called Sablette. We booked room only and 1 day workmen needed to get into our bathroom to fix a fault so we were given a free breakfast. I have to say that if your booking includes breakfast then ok but dont pay the £14 euros extra charge as it is not worth it.
The fruit is all fresh cut ,not tinned, and is excellent but the hot buffet is not to be recommended.
Have to say that the cleaners were not the best,room was always cleaned daily but they didnt change cups and glasses or top up the coffee and tea. But the room was always clean.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk to town and another 5 to the port. We ate at the port restaurants most nights and had some great seafood, especially at the "Tulip Noire" . Do note that the hotel is being completely refurbished and there are workmen making noise but never before 9 am.and the fitness centre is closed due to refurbishment. But we did enjoy our stay and would use again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie_Charlon, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear Douglas001,

Thank You very much for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Be sure that your comments will be forwarded to Georges, who will really be delighted. We would be very interested in sharing more information with you regarding our hot buffet breafast in order to improve it. Would you mind to discuss it a bit further? I have taken the liberty to send you my email address through Tripadvisor website "send a message" to do so. Your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Hoping to see you soon again in Toulon

Sincerely,

Virginie Charlon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very good hotel and service. Highly recommend it.
I booked it through hotwire so I could not see which hotel I was booking. After the booking I checked the reviews and I was in doubt a bit of its cleanness. I called them and inquired and they said they are doing a refurbishment. I mentioned that I am coming with my 16 year old son and I would like to have a clean and quite room and they assured me.
When I arrived, I was pleased. The work was not finished completely the entrance hall’s work was completed. The staff was very helpful and gave us a big and refurbished room on the third floor. Everything was brand new. Comfortable beds, modern bathroom and flat screen. There was a cup final on the first evening and our TV could not show the 1st channel that was showing the football. The staff came up and found another TV channel that was showing the football but in Germany, which was fine. Since channel one would have shown it in French.
They have a pool but we did not use it. The hotel staff gave us the city map . The hotel is in a nice and quite area but very close to the train station, the marina, the city centre and sightseeing. Good restaurants all along the marina.

Room Tip: Always call before getting there and ask for your prefered room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mujgan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie_Charlon, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear Mujgan_12,

Thank You very much for writing a review about your recent stay with us.
Your feedback is very important to us and always help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in Toulon

Sincerely

Virginie Charlon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night. The room was far too hot and the AC didn't work so we just had to suffer! The bathroom didn't have a shower curtain so showering was a challenge. Breakfast was not included so we didn't bother so cant comment. It was expensive for just a room only. It was in walking distance of the station but some people who arrived by car found the hotel difficult to find. There wasn't an obvious sign stating it was the Holiday Inn - weird!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buntys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear buntys2,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel was okay. Nothing special and pricey for what we got. Room service was awful. The beds were hard. The room was way too hot. The front desk told us the hotel is getting remodeled in two months. Really hope so because no one should stay here until it is remodeled.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwiAgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toulon hotels
Hotel Amiraute
#3 of 16 in Toulon
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Mourillon
Best Western Plus La Corniche
Grand Hotel Dauphine
#9 of 16 in Toulon
243 reviews
Haute Ville
Inter-hotel Grand Hotel de la Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre

Address: 1 avenue Rageot de la Touche, 83000 Toulon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Toulon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Price Range: $103 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre is ideally situated in the heart of the city, and is close to the Port, the 'Palais Omnisport' stadium, the Opera house , also to the shopping district, and only 5 minutes walk from the railway station. The hotel has 80 comfortable rooms , non-smoking rooms and rooms reserved for guests with reduced mobility are available on request. The rooms are fitted with air condition, WiFi internet access , satellite TV and Canal +. They have an office space and all rooms have tea and coffee-making facilities. A gym room is available for our guests, as well as an outdoor swimming pool in the sunny season Our recently renovated restaurant 'L Observatoire' proposes traditional French cooking and a warm and friendly atmosphere. The bar 'L Escale' will welcome you for a pleasant and relaxing moment. In the sunny season, lunch and dinner can be served on the terrace next to the swimming pool Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre has 130 m of adaptable function space. Designed to ensure success for your meetings and business events, the conference rooms are equipped with WiFi internet access and offer capacity for up to 130 participants. Underground parking facilities are available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toulon City Centre Hotel Toulon
Toulon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing