We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So French!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Castelet des Alpilles
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So French!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We happened upon this sweet hotel by accident. We arrived in town with no reservations and no idea where to stay. Luckily they had a room available. The lady at the front desk could not have been nicer. Our room was not fancy but just lovely and felt so French. We had a picturesque little balcony overlooking the pretty courtyard. The hotel is just a short walk to town and many restaurants. There is a little market around the corner too. We will definitely come back. Oh yes, nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    62
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

A group of cyclists from Canada stayed at this lovely hotel, recently. It is conveniently located - just outside of the cente of town - and the grounds are beautiful - lovingly kept, lots of flowers, several arrangements of patio chairs and tables under the trees. Several guests were enjoying the garden and savouring their afternoon "un peu du pain, un peu du vin, et un peu Boursin" (cheese). Our room was well appointed; the next morning's breakfast was tasty. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariannecyclechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The small hotel is very old but the bathrooms have been renovated and the rooms are very large by French standards. The proprietor is a lovely woman who spoke English and was very friendly and helpful. Her garden is lovely and the basic breakfast is served on the patio surrounded by flowers. It is a short walk to the center of town and our hostess recommended three great restaurants for our dinner. I wish we could have staid at this property for much longer

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony but is the only one close to the street. Close the windows and shutters befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallastraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Le Castelet des Alpilles is hotel located in Saint Remy de Provence. It is location is perfect for sightseeing of neighboring cities like Nimes, Alres, Aix etc.
The hotel is old but rooms are clean, modern and in most of the cases with separate bathroom – mine was small too but overall impression is positive. Plus is separate parking guarded at night.
I book room with window on the street perpendicular (in parking direction) to main street. As I mentioned already room was small but quiet, clean and confortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in August, and used St. Remy as point to explore Provence area - I was looking for a smaller town experience, and the location was ideal, since I was able to walk to the town centre and explore and check out the great restaurants. Breakfast is very nice, with homemade jams, and breads, very European in terms of what was offered (no omelet bars or made-to-order eggs), but very good.

The room I had overlooked the front patio area/outdoor breakfast, but it was quiet. The room had A/C, and I would highly recommend reserving with A/C, especially in the summer (like August), when it was very hot.

The bathroom was modern and clean, as was the rest of the room, and actually the room was quite roomy - had a little balcony so I was able to relax a bit in the morning before heading out.

2 thumbs up, and I would definitely stay here again, if I was to stay in St. Remy!

Room Tip: Reserve room with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrachang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel was close enough to downtown St. Remy that we could walk to dinner each evening. Rooms were clean and roomy, with a separate room for the toilet and separate for the tub and sink. It was very quiet at night. The included breakfast was excellent, including croissants and breads, meats and cheeses, fresh fruit, yogurt and local preserves that were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mt_travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

St Remy de Provence is a beaitiful little town outside of Avignon and this hotel is a classic example of a "grand" hotel that has slipped into quiet old age. The size of its old grand entrance and its large public rooms, some of which are no longer in use, suggest that in its heyday it was a thriving hotel of note. Now it is still very pleasant and our top floor room with terrace looking out to the Alpilles was fantastic. We could not fault the room, the location, the staff, the breakfast or the price. The current bland entrance and its tiny reception desk was at first a bit offputting, as were the almost maze-like stairways and passages, but overall we loved this gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace room,, the chance to bask in the sun, with a wine and look over the Alpilles is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canto Cigalo
Canto Cigalo
#12 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#7 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Castelet des Alpilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Castelet des Alpilles

Property: Le Castelet des Alpilles
Address: 6 Place Mireille, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Castelet des Alpilles 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the middle of a restful garden, in the shade of century old cedar, you will be fascinated by the familial (since 3 generations) charming hotel.Terrace to take your buffet brerakfast.Wifi, free closed parking for our clients.Good situation at 300 meters of the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Castelet des Alpilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Castelet Des Alpilles Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing