We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air conditioner, very hot.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Castelet des Alpilles
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Room OK. Bathroom newly renovated. Shower good. We stayed in St Remy and travelled out to visit other places. Unluckily we had sweltering weather and had a room with no air conditioner to return to. Staff friendly. On sites parking good.

Room Tip: Some have balconies, apparently some have air conditioners. Ask for these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hols2go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 149 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel is rather old fashioned and has no bar or restaurant services (though they do breakfast).
Our room was simply furnished with a comfortable bed and pillows, it was clean and the bathroom looked as though it had been recently refurbished. Some of the rooms have a balcony and most (but not all) have aircon.
Breakfast was served on the terrace, and what a beautiful location it is. The fresh fruit salad was superb, but the bread/pastries and coffee weren't up to the standard you'd normally expect in France.
As well as the breakfast patio there is a pleasant garden which is nice to sit in after returning from a hard days sight seeing, a shame that you can't get a nice cool beer or glass of wine to help appreciate it all the more!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet, some have great views of the Alpillies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EV97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here on a Tuesday night so we could visit the market the next day. The hotel building itself is charming and the many char is and tables set out in the gardens were lovely. The room was big, clean and cool and the linen was of a lovely quality.

Very friendly services topped it off, I'd certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Location is very good, just a few minutes walk to city center and on the road to Glanum and Baux. There was some traffic noise but not much, we could keep windows open at night. Room was reasonably big, decorated in Provence blue and yellow, I especially liked the high ceilings and tall windows. Air conditioner worked well. Oh, and the little garden in front is really nice, with couches, tables and a porch swing.
The internet access broke down because of the weather one day, and the owner kindly allowed me to connect with a cable in the office, because I needed it for work. Next day it was fixed and we had no more problems.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Hotel is extremely depressing, staff look depressed and barely amiable, barely clean, very dark, it has air of faded glory and of a family run business with no enthusiasm living off past good reviews. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel and this was the main issue with our stay. There was an extremely strong smell of urine (as far as we could identify) emanating from the bathroom/toilet cubicle to the extent that you were basically holding your breath as much as possible while there. The smell had spread to the blankets and cushions in the bedroom so we had to strip the room of all of these and store them in the bathroom during our 1 night stay to reduce the smell in the actual bedroom but each time you opened the door, the smell came straight back in. It was such a strong smell that it took us about 2 hours to recover from it after leaving the room, and it gave us a strong headache. I have never experienced anything like it - we dreaded going back to the hotel aftet our dinner in town the night we stayed there. Certainly does not deserve a 3 star.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms in newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerofTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We loved staying here. We had a balcony overlooking the mountains and it was perfectly situated for our visit to Provence. St. Remy de Provence is a lovely town to stay in and the center of town is a short walk from the hotel. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a balcony and air conditioning and it was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just heaven, gazing out the window at the Alpilles mountains.The building is charming, the rooms are spacious with balconies, it is walking distance to the town and also to the Roman ruins and the Van Gogh hospital and the staff are English-speaking and friendly and helpful.What's not to like?Also there is free parking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Chalet Fleuri
Hotel le Chalet Fleuri
#14 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Castelet des Alpilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Castelet des Alpilles

Address: 6 Place Mireille, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range: $93 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Castelet des Alpilles 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the middle of a restful garden, in the shade of century old cedar, you will be fascinated by the familial (since 3 generations) charming hotel.Terrace to take your buffet brerakfast.Wifi, free closed parking for our clients.Good situation at 300 meters of the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Castelet des Alpilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Castelet Des Alpilles Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing