We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in Provence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Castelet des Alpilles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Castelet des Alpilles
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect in Provence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here on a Tuesday night so we could visit the market the next day. The hotel building itself is charming and the many char is and tables set out in the gardens were lovely. The room was big, clean and cool and the linen was of a lovely quality.

Very friendly services topped it off, I'd certainly stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    61
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
82
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Location is very good, just a few minutes walk to city center and on the road to Glanum and Baux. There was some traffic noise but not much, we could keep windows open at night. Room was reasonably big, decorated in Provence blue and yellow, I especially liked the high ceilings and tall windows. Air conditioner worked well. Oh, and the little garden in front is really nice, with couches, tables and a porch swing.
The internet access broke down because of the weather one day, and the owner kindly allowed me to connect with a cable in the office, because I needed it for work. Next day it was fixed and we had no more problems.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Hotel is extremely depressing, staff look depressed and barely amiable, barely clean, very dark, it has air of faded glory and of a family run business with no enthusiasm living off past good reviews. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel and this was the main issue with our stay. There was an extremely strong smell of urine (as far as we could identify) emanating from the bathroom/toilet cubicle to the extent that you were basically holding your breath as much as possible while there. The smell had spread to the blankets and cushions in the bedroom so we had to strip the room of all of these and store them in the bathroom during our 1 night stay to reduce the smell in the actual bedroom but each time you opened the door, the smell came straight back in. It was such a strong smell that it took us about 2 hours to recover from it after leaving the room, and it gave us a strong headache. I have never experienced anything like it - we dreaded going back to the hotel aftet our dinner in town the night we stayed there. Certainly does not deserve a 3 star.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms in newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerofTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montvale New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We loved staying here. We had a balcony overlooking the mountains and it was perfectly situated for our visit to Provence. St. Remy de Provence is a lovely town to stay in and the center of town is a short walk from the hotel. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a balcony and air conditioning and it was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just heaven, gazing out the window at the Alpilles mountains.The building is charming, the rooms are spacious with balconies, it is walking distance to the town and also to the Roman ruins and the Van Gogh hospital and the staff are English-speaking and friendly and helpful.What's not to like?Also there is free parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Very friendly welcome, large room in a perfectly tended beautiful historical building, wifi working flawlessly in the room, close to the center, beautiful garden - all in all a very good experience. What more to say. Yes there is secure parking too. Writing from the place itself right now - firsthand and current report.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgNaggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a sweet,sweet,sweet little place and I hesitate to admit it because I don't want it changed by excess traffic.We booked one night (because we wanted something within walking distance to the town center) and ultimately stayed 3....not only because it is a perfect home base for visiting nearby destinations (Les Baux, 10 minutes away...Avignon and Arles,each about 25 minutes away)...but also because it is a very well priced gem run by several effortlessly warm and enthusiastic ladies just dying to help out....the rooms (with great air conditioning,free wifi, flat screen,great bathrooms) are large, with ample storage, and lovely views of the mountains and gardens below.... all are decorated in the provencal style you expect/long for....the very well priced breakfast is taken on the charming terrace or in the garden....there is also free parking...what else....oh,on the down side there are no elevators (but they will help you with bags).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheams54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#7 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel l'Amandiere
Hotel l'Amandiere
#5 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Castelet des Alpilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Castelet des Alpilles

Property: Le Castelet des Alpilles
Address: 6 Place Mireille, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Castelet des Alpilles 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the middle of a restful garden, in the shade of century old cedar, you will be fascinated by the familial (since 3 generations) charming hotel.Terrace to take your buffet brerakfast.Wifi, free closed parking for our clients.Good situation at 300 meters of the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Castelet des Alpilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Castelet Des Alpilles Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing