We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it”
Review of Mas Dom Pater

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mas Dom Pater
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Well I don't know where the other people stayed who reviewed this b&b but itdoes not sound like thesame place to me.
We stayed at far , far nicer places around Provence for thesame and less money. Mas Dom Pater is totally over-priced compared to it's competitors,we paid 109 euros per night for a room without ensuite that was really quiet shabby and felt a little dirty. The bathroom was awful too. I feel bad writing such a scathing review but this is the truth, I felt cheated out of an enjoyable stay and hope to save others the same experience.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jade26London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monikbruno, owner at Mas Dom Pater, responded to this review, June 29, 2008
Hello, I remember perfectly this extremely unpleasant English lady, which found that we were too far from Saint rémy (2 kms500she said it take 4 hours to go downtown, I don’t know at which speed she walk?
and she was inform on our site of distance from our house to the city, also she is avenged on the bathroom. It’s better than this kind of anybody goes in Hotel and not in house of host, because they put the other customers badly has l' ease and disorder user-friendliness. Thank you for your good services, we appreciate much your site which helps us has to try to remain to the top for ours services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    3
    8
    18
See reviews for
19
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights this past july and we were in heaven. The breakfast was delicious, croissants, chocolate croissants, baguette, eggs, coffee, yogurt, homemade jam, etc. The owner does not speak english, but he is so sweet and somehow we could understand what he was saying. Our room was very cozy, dressed in African decor, with a lovely yard and pool. We had brought our bikes, so the location was perfect to cycle from. It is a great location to explore Provence from, but you must have a car. St. Remy itself is lovely and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EJM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2006

Mas Dom Pater is down a dusty road between two patches of farmland lovingly tended, but upon arrival, you're met by a green, lush spread of trees, pool, grapes, figs, apricots, and a welcoming atmosphere.

The main farm house has several rooms, plus there are a few additional buildings with rooms. Tho I didn't get to see them, we felt we had the best of the lot -- ours was upstairs in the main house (through the owner's kitchen - a real slice of French life!) We had a separate bath plus shower AND a private terrace with pergola where we sat at night listening to cicadas and watching the moon. Tho our room didn't have a TV, we didn't mind, we were too busy reading our guide books and catching up on the day's events.

It was a sincere delight meeting other guests over breakfast, from all parts of the world. You'll be out in the sun eating at a long table under a magnificent fig tree that dates back to 1712. We'd scoff up a lavish breakfast of yogurt, croissants with honey, delicious coffee, sometimes eggs -- and promptly disappear for the day to sightsee, returning around 5 or 6 for a much-needed and satisfying dip in the pool.

You have to have a car here. It's definitely not walking distance to town but it's easy to navigate around St. Remy. We used a few landmarks to make sure we didn't miss our turn (a fluorescent sign for old doors)!

This is NOT a four-star hotel with cushy amenities. It is, however, a charming, lovely place to stay that perfectly combines the modern and old. The owners are very sweet (Mrs. Bruno even did our laundry after a week's stay!) and we found it a quiet and unique atmosphere for our first stay in Provence. St. Remy has much to offer, and this is another layer in a most fascinating part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annie0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

Don't be put off with the less than picturesque approach to Mas Dom Pater [--]. Located 2K north of St. Remy en Provence in a mixed residential/agricultural area, this welcoming chambre d'hote offers spacious private suites with plenty of privacy and quiet. Once you park the car, the grounds are quite lovely with roses and lavender throughout and a swimming pool.

We were met by the French only speaking proprietor, Monsieur Bruno ( his wife, Monique speaks adequate English). He gave us a tour of the grounds and showed us our room, Cocotiers, a vast bedroom with enough room for several sofas and a fridge. Air conditioned with a recently remodeled bathroom which included a shower, tub, and w.c., everything was spotlessly clean and attractively furnished with souvenirs from M. Bruno's long years in Senegal.

Our suite was in a separate building from the traditional mas with one other suite adjoining it along with an adequately stocked outdoor kitchen to be shared with the occupants nextdoor. Initially, we didn't think we'd use the kitchen but, after our first night's dinner at an unairconditioned, expensive restaurant full of noisy Germans, we came to appreciate eating cheap but delicious picnics on our private terrace. (Fruit stands, an Intermarche, bakery's and chacuteries are within a few kilometers.)

Monsieur Bruno prepares breakfast each morning including homemade bread and croissants, eggs cooked to order, and an offering of yogurt, fruit and cereal. Between breakfast orders he draws on his extensive knowledge of the region to suggest sight seeing itineraries for the day. He also has a list of favorite restaurants if you're interested in dining out.

We were given free access to the Bruno's computer to check our email (They also have wifi if you've brought your laptop) and for 6 euros they did several loads of our sweaty, travel stained laundry.

The only caveat I have is to suggest you reconfirm your reservation several days before arrival either by phone or email as there was some confusion as to when we were coming and the length of our stay.

Mas Dom Pater was a welcome contrast to the snooty Chambre d' Hote we had just come from in the Bandol region of Provence. Set in a vinyard, we were awakened at 6:30 every morning by a tractor spewing a cloud of sulphur to treat the vines. The breakfast was stingy and the owner was not only less than forthcoming about the charges but made us feel like intruders rather than valued clients. Monsieur and Madame Bruno have knocked themselves out to make their guests experience in western Provence a trip to remember.

Helpful?
6 Thank Jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
3.0 mi away
Le Mas des Figues
Le Mas des Figues
#1 of 33 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,040 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel De La Caume
Hotel De La Caume
#19 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
42 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#10 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Dom Pater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Dom Pater

Property: Mas Dom Pater
Address: Chemin du Prud'homme, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing