We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Maison du Village
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total Charm”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We really thought this hotel was fantastic. The room we had on the top floor was as charming as could be with the windows look out onto the courtyard. Very private and quiet with great light. The room, which was really 3 rooms, included a large open room, a large bedroom and a large bath. At night with the french windows open you just hear a very faint trickle of the fountain 3 stories below.
La Maison du Village was built in I think the 1700's but was updated recently. Emily, the manager, was very very attentive to our needs and provided great guidance as to where to go for food, shopping and other Provence locations.
I rarely write reviews but I liked this so much that I felt compelled to do it.

Room Tip: This hotel was very conveniently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were sad we only stayed one night in this charming small hotel!
Since we arrived in th middle of the August festival, the staff very helpful to help us make our way thru to the hotel by car since all the streets were closed.
During the morning, wonderful place to have breakfast was the garden in front of our room. And they even changed the music to have a Brazilian cd singer - very sweet of them.
Highly recommend for anyone that is look for a peaceful and charming place in the heart of Provence.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaFontoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend trip, location is amazing in the heart of St-Remy de Provence with lovely provencial decor. We were welcomed (we arrived late evening) to an amazing host who stayed longer than normal for us and prepared an amazing snack in the garden with a glass or Rose. The garden are a beautiful aspect of this house as was our violet room with diptyque candles aroma in the room. We know the region well and would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is an absolute gem of a hotel which I am reluctant to tell anyone about, I have stayed here 3 three time and every time I don’t want to leave. It’s small simply decorated and very intimate so different from the over stylised hotels we are all so used. It's not often you travel somewhere and feel totally at home, but that’s the way I feel about this place, its very simply and is what the French do so well.

This place won’t be for everyone as there isn't obsequious service, which I am glad about, but it’s my favourite place to stay.

Room Tip: Book early..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mondomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Maison du Village for a week as part of our around the world trip and absolutely loved it. The rooms are classic and elegant, while also being spacious and comfortable. This is not a new building, so expect limited modern conveniences. The AC worked well, but mostly cooled the bedroom. There was a big tub in the middle of the bathroom, but no shower (stall). All of that just added to the appeal for us.

The staff was exceptional and showed genuine care for our convenience and enjoyment. They prepared a yummy plate of cheese and snacks one afternoon when we were enjoying the garden. Chilled rose wine was available for the warm afternoons. The breakfasts (included) were traditional French and featured a fruit salad with fresh mint, coffee, bread and pastries, fresh jams and yogurt. I miss that breakfast already.

The garden is long and narrow, but is quite and cool in the shade. They have a nice fountain and it makes for a great place to read and chat.

The location could not be better, just 20 yards from the outer loop road and about 30 yards from the village square. Having traveled through most of France, St. Remy is now in the top three. Avignon and the beach cities are an easy drive, as is access to the TGV station. We are traveling by expedition-class Land Cruiser, so parking at the Maison was impossible. However, the tourist office a few blocks away has secure and free parking. You don't need a car in the village anyways, but it is worth the note.

Overall - a pleasure to stay at the Maison du Village.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expeditionswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed in the Beige Suite. It was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is perfectly located, in the heart of the town, easy walking distance (1-5 blocks) from many restaurants and shops and from the Wednesday market. It had the feel of a large Provencal country home (which is how the majority of hotels in this area are), but unlike other "charming country inns," the important amenities were taken care of, such as modern plumbing, air conditioning and heating, towels, and meticulous daily housekeeping. The common areas were welcoming and appealing with comfortable couches and ample reading materials. We also enjoyed wine, olives, and nuts in the courtyard. If you have trouble with stairs, request a lower floor suite, as the beige suite is on the top, third floor without elevator (again standard for the area). There was one parking spot in front of the hotel, which was always available when we needed it. Otherwise you have to park (for free) about 5 blocks away at the town's Visitor's Center. The hotel concierge Mimi was welcoming and eager to help in any way. She gave us some excellent ideas of drives in Provence. Great combination of charm and comfortable amenities. St. Remy is the perfect Provencal town to stay in - small, charming, with good restaurants, near wonderful places such as Les Baux, medieval towns, Van Gogh's hospital, and Roman ruins.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights in the Ecrue Suite and enjoyed the time we spent their. This suite has an upstairs sleeping loft. The bed was so comfortable and the linens luxurious. The common areas of the hotel are inviting and the garden area is lovely. Our traveling preference is to stay in a city so we can walk to restaurants and cafes after returning from a day of touring. This hotel was in the ideal location to meet our needs. We parked at a nearby free lot at the Tourist Information Center. If one would be returning in the middle of the day, I don't think this lot would have open parking but space was available in late afternoon/early evening. La Maison du Village is an excellent choice when staying in St. Remy.

Room Tip: Since the Ecrue Suite has an upstairs sleeping lot, this would not be good for anyone with difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#10 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gounod
Hotel Gounod
#7 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Village

Property: La Maison du Village
Address: 10 rue du 8 Mai 1945, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house in the village of St. Remy, Atmosphere "Chic and sophisticated" in a home of the XVIII, consisting of 5 spacious and comfortable suites, a secret garden and a shop Diptyque fragrances: scented home fragrance and line of body care rooms equipped with DVD Player and IPod docking stations. A Diptyque scent boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your La Maison du Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Village Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing