We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home, if thats what you are loking for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison du Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison du Village
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home from home, if thats what you are loking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is an absolute gem of a hotel which I am reluctant to tell anyone about, I have stayed here 3 three time and every time I don’t want to leave. It’s small simply decorated and very intimate so different from the over stylised hotels we are all so used. It's not often you travel somewhere and feel totally at home, but that’s the way I feel about this place, its very simply and is what the French do so well.

This place won’t be for everyone as there isn't obsequious service, which I am glad about, but it’s my favourite place to stay.

Room Tip: Book early..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mondomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Maison du Village for a week as part of our around the world trip and absolutely loved it. The rooms are classic and elegant, while also being spacious and comfortable. This is not a new building, so expect limited modern conveniences. The AC worked well, but mostly cooled the bedroom. There was a big tub in the middle of the bathroom, but no shower (stall). All of that just added to the appeal for us.

The staff was exceptional and showed genuine care for our convenience and enjoyment. They prepared a yummy plate of cheese and snacks one afternoon when we were enjoying the garden. Chilled rose wine was available for the warm afternoons. The breakfasts (included) were traditional French and featured a fruit salad with fresh mint, coffee, bread and pastries, fresh jams and yogurt. I miss that breakfast already.

The garden is long and narrow, but is quite and cool in the shade. They have a nice fountain and it makes for a great place to read and chat.

The location could not be better, just 20 yards from the outer loop road and about 30 yards from the village square. Having traveled through most of France, St. Remy is now in the top three. Avignon and the beach cities are an easy drive, as is access to the TGV station. We are traveling by expedition-class Land Cruiser, so parking at the Maison was impossible. However, the tourist office a few blocks away has secure and free parking. You don't need a car in the village anyways, but it is worth the note.

Overall - a pleasure to stay at the Maison du Village.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expeditionswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed in the Beige Suite. It was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is perfectly located, in the heart of the town, easy walking distance (1-5 blocks) from many restaurants and shops and from the Wednesday market. It had the feel of a large Provencal country home (which is how the majority of hotels in this area are), but unlike other "charming country inns," the important amenities were taken care of, such as modern plumbing, air conditioning and heating, towels, and meticulous daily housekeeping. The common areas were welcoming and appealing with comfortable couches and ample reading materials. We also enjoyed wine, olives, and nuts in the courtyard. If you have trouble with stairs, request a lower floor suite, as the beige suite is on the top, third floor without elevator (again standard for the area). There was one parking spot in front of the hotel, which was always available when we needed it. Otherwise you have to park (for free) about 5 blocks away at the town's Visitor's Center. The hotel concierge Mimi was welcoming and eager to help in any way. She gave us some excellent ideas of drives in Provence. Great combination of charm and comfortable amenities. St. Remy is the perfect Provencal town to stay in - small, charming, with good restaurants, near wonderful places such as Les Baux, medieval towns, Van Gogh's hospital, and Roman ruins.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights in the Ecrue Suite and enjoyed the time we spent their. This suite has an upstairs sleeping loft. The bed was so comfortable and the linens luxurious. The common areas of the hotel are inviting and the garden area is lovely. Our traveling preference is to stay in a city so we can walk to restaurants and cafes after returning from a day of touring. This hotel was in the ideal location to meet our needs. We parked at a nearby free lot at the Tourist Information Center. If one would be returning in the middle of the day, I don't think this lot would have open parking but space was available in late afternoon/early evening. La Maison du Village is an excellent choice when staying in St. Remy.

Room Tip: Since the Ecrue Suite has an upstairs sleeping lot, this would not be good for anyone with difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We got recommendations from our friends for this hotel in St Remy.great location, in the middle of the shopping area.
Hotel is small but very charming. Rooms are special, each has a theme. Clean rooms and beds. Perhaps more of a high end 4 star than 5 stars.
The owners are very friendly, informative and always present if you need help or have a question about the hotel.
The breakfast is simple, and quick.
We highly recommend this hotel for the service, location and price.

Room Tip: make sure you look at the various rooms available and choose your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swissexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

As they say better late than never. We spent a fantastic week (our first stop in France) last July 2011 in St Remy staying at La Maison. Our party consisted of my parents, husband & 2 sons (aged 8 & 5). We loved every minute of the location, authentic french surroundings/interior and helpful staff amoung other things. My kids enjoyed the courtyard as did we with our wine and nibbles bought fresh from the town market. Good spots for family eating are the Chinese restaurant at the top of the lane (and across the road) and the Pancake parlour around the corner. Both enjoyed greatly by my sons. As I think of all the lovely places we visited St Remy is by far my favourite and hope that one day soon we will return for another visit :)

Room Tip: Our party had 2 rooms, both lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

A great time we spent at La Maison du village, it was really heavenly. The breakfast, the interior design, the service and all the hosts kindness! It was really a great experience for my girlfriend & I. We will never forget it, and we will try our best to come back! The hosts were all so kind to us and very hospitable.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donahdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#7 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gounod
Hotel Gounod
#8 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Village

Property: La Maison du Village
Address: 10 rue du 8 Mai 1945, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your La Maison du Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Village Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing