We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gounod

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gounod
Certificate of Excellence
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay at Gounod Hotel. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is centrally located to walk around the town and have dinners in the evening. Our room had a very nice terrace overlooking the courtyard, was spotless, and very quiet. The bed was comfortable and the linens were high quality. We started the day on a happy note with breakfast served by the friendly waitress Sophie. Any questions day or night were cheerfully answered by Heidi and Ygor. Secured parking was a pleasure in such a busy little town. We have already recommended this hotel to friends and would love to return.

Room Tip: We reserved a "Charming" room facing the courtyard with a terrace and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel5361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    79
    14
    11
    3
See reviews for
20
144
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vannes, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here in September in a Charming Room and loved it. Rooms are very quiet, beautifully and tastefully decorated in Provence colors and style. My room had a nice size terrace overlooking the gardens. Beds are large and very comfortable and bathroom had huge walk-in shower with excellent water pressure. Bed and bath linens are all high quality. Flat screen tv offered a nice selection of channels in multiple languages. Heidi and Ygor are perfect hosts and are happy to help with anything you need. Breakfast was very nice with a selection of traditional French breakfast goodies. I especially loved that the hotel is located right in town, so you walk out the hotel reception area and all the restaurants and shopping are at your finger tips. Lots of history at this hotel also - in 1863 Charles Gounod composed a very famous opera here. I will return to stay here again, and highly recommend for a great Provence experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OTBPGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Gounod Hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was peaceful and overlooked the courtyard. The hotel is very centrally located in the town and had conveniently accessible parking, a 3-5 minute walk away. We would definitely return when we are back in Provence.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis_OurWorldforYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Perfectly located at the plaza. Parking is several blocks away. Very unique and almost eccentric setting. Antique decor in the lobby area obviously dedicated to the owners' strong faith. Very friendly staff especially the petit gal who served breakfast most mornings. A nice breakfast was included with her cheerful greeting each morning to start the day. Serene courtyard hidden from public view leading to the rooms. A great town experience away from the larger cities. A car is a must to get around outside of town to all the lovely sites like La Beaux.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank soccervino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I travel 3 or 4 months a year mainly in Europe so consider that when I say that this place is the real deal. While not perfect (bed was hard and pillows too soft) the charm of the place was compelling. If you love antiques and the old world vibe, you should be very happy here. Service was 5 star quality. Overall, a tranquil retreat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaobella1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

You will either see this hotel as charmingly eccentric or the excess of religious statues and pictures, dim lighting and general dust in the public areas will give you the heebie jeebies. On the plus side it is right in the centre of St Remy, has secure parking,a pool and a lovely garden. Ask for one of the garden rooms - small but charming. NO doors on the bathroom though which is a bit disconcerting, poor lighting. no fridge and tv with French channels only.You can have dinner here now - did not try it - but Cafe Place next door and the Brasserie Commerce across the road are both excellent.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bathgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West USA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here. Nice pool, very fun and funky decor. Bright colors and a strong religious theme. Great service...everyone went out of their way to help. Reasonable prices. Perfect location in the middle of town...yet quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#7 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod

Property: Hotel Gounod
Address: 18 Place de la Republique, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France (Formerly Hotel Ville Verte)
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Regional Park of the Alpilles, in the Provençal village of Saint -Remy de Provence, the Gounod Hotel offers you a charming place full of history and inspiartion. It is here, in this former Post relay from the 18th century that Charles Gounod, the famous author of the Ave Maria, stayd and created the opera Mireille in 1863. The hotel was completely renovated this winter by the new owners highlighting the cold stone walls of the main building, the stairs and corridors which remind the old small hotels and the new decoration contibutes to keep the cozy atmosphere in the place. Behind the building you can discover a unique place: the garden offers you a beautiful terrace, stone alleys leading to the swimming pool, spa, meeting room. It is a haven of peace in the heart of village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gounod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing