We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic French charm”
Review of Hotel Gounod

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gounod
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic French charm”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I travel 3 or 4 months a year mainly in Europe so consider that when I say that this place is the real deal. While not perfect (bed was hard and pillows too soft) the charm of the place was compelling. If you love antiques and the old world vibe, you should be very happy here. Service was 5 star quality. Overall, a tranquil retreat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaobella1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    80
    14
    11
    3
See reviews for
20
146
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

You will either see this hotel as charmingly eccentric or the excess of religious statues and pictures, dim lighting and general dust in the public areas will give you the heebie jeebies. On the plus side it is right in the centre of St Remy, has secure parking,a pool and a lovely garden. Ask for one of the garden rooms - small but charming. NO doors on the bathroom though which is a bit disconcerting, poor lighting. no fridge and tv with French channels only.You can have dinner here now - did not try it - but Cafe Place next door and the Brasserie Commerce across the road are both excellent.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bathgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here. Nice pool, very fun and funky decor. Bright colors and a strong religious theme. Great service...everyone went out of their way to help. Reasonable prices. Perfect location in the middle of town...yet quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for the bank holiday weekend. We did pay extra for the charming room - and it was so worth it. Our room was lovely. Spacous bed, living area, dressing area and fantastic wet room. The hotel is an interesting fusion of design. The main public areas have electric objects in and a hunourous take on religous art - such as the mary and joseph bathrooms. Our room was a fusion of classic french style and minimalism in the wet rooms. I loved it - but can see it might not be to all tastes. Room 50 overlooks the lovely garden and the swimming pool is just behind. The upkeep of both is great. The only thing that stopped this being 5 * rated was the breakfast. I think when paying this much you should get more than fruit & bread and being charged extra for ham and cheese just cheapened the otherwise excellent experience. We will be going back and we very much hope that the breakfast offering is changed and the hotel can achieve the 5* rating next time. St Remy de Provence is a dream for foodies and anyone who just wants to soak up provence. We can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Choose room 50. You will not be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I had 2 nights at this horrible hotel.
The first night was terrible since we stayed in a room which had a very high and uncomfortable humidity. It was like a basement even though we paid around 165 per night plus tax.
We told it to the staff immediately upon arrival. They just told us to open a window or sray some perfume. And first the day after, they would move us to another room.
Every time we tried to complain, they said we should talk to the owner... but he was on holiday himself. Nobody would take responsibility.
We would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steffen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel G, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Google Translation
Ma réponse ne s adressera pas à ce Monsieur car cela me parait bien inutile.

Le seul desir de ce MONSIEUR était de payer la chambre moitié prix.
Et mon gros regret (avec le recul), est d avoir eu un moment de faiblesse : J'ai accepte de le changer de chambre pour sa 2eme nuits, je lui offert le petit dejeuner pour la 1 ere nuit et son épouse a eu droit a un petit cadeau le jour du départ .

Pour certaines personnesTRIPADVISOR devient un outils de négociation. Nous ne tombons pas dans ce genre de chantage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The positives for Hotel Gounod are its location, the car park (essential when there are markets in the Square), its garden and some excellent staff. The negatives include some really terrible rooms, which are grossly over-priced; weird decor generally, a limited breakfast offer, unreliable plumbing, no lift and early closure at night - sometimes without full lighting (a torch on the mobile phone was essential one night).

The photos illustrate the 'bathroom' of the 'standard' room we stayed in: raw plaster and concrete. The furniture - except the bed - was poor quality and the decor shabby. This was grossly overpriced at €151 including €6 tax. We stayed in much better for lesson the same trip; such as the excellent Le Donjon in Carcassonne, so the prices are not justified by the St Remy location.

Check your room before you accept it.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 25 and check your room before accepting it. Remember there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EnPrimeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Eclectic little hotel very centrally located. We were in rm 50 (deluxe) on the second level overlooking with a nice grassy courtyard complete with wonderful shade trees and lots of chairs. The room was large and nicely decorated in a French style with a wonderful shower. I would drink my morning cappuccino on the small deck overlooking the courtyard.

If you are looking for the Hilton this hotel is not for you. It is very funky and unique. That said the crowd was mostly 50ish during my stay with a few kids thrown in. Definitely not a cookie cutter! With regard to the decor that there has been several comments about. Lets just say the designer is not a fan of the minalmist movement!

The parking garage is a longish walk from the hotel. Front desk was very helpful with excellent English. Breakfast was pleasant in their wonderful tea room but had no hot options that were not extras.

The only knocks against this wonderful little Gem is the lack of mini bar in the room. For such a hot place in the summer this is a must. We were unable to cool our white wine or water. Ice is available but a bit of a hassle. Secondly, as is common in France in my experience, a poor Wifi signal. It works well in the lobby but not in my room or the pool. I don't think many of them understand who important a good wifi signal is to North Americans who are often using it to stay in touch with home due to roaming charges.

Other than these two minor inconviences our stay was wonderful and these two things are the only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#8 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
458 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod

Property: Hotel Gounod
Address: 18 Place de la Republique, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France (Formerly Hotel Ville Verte)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Regional Park of the Alpilles, in the Provençal village of Saint -Remy de Provence, the Gounod Hotel offers you a charming place full of history and inspiartion. It is here, in this former Post relay from the 18th century that Charles Gounod, the famous author of the Ave Maria, stayd and created the opera Mireille in 1863. The hotel was completely renovated this winter by the new owners highlighting the cold stone walls of the main building, the stairs and corridors which remind the old small hotels and the new decoration contibutes to keep the cozy atmosphere in the place. Behind the building you can discover a unique place: the garden offers you a beautiful terrace, stone alleys leading to the swimming pool, spa, meeting room. It is a haven of peace in the heart of village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gounod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing