We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Adorable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Mas des Tourterelles
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Adorable.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful experience we had with hosts Richard and Carrie in this beautiful accommodation. We could not fault our stay from arrival to check out. It's location was perfect for our needs as it was not too far from the centre of town (walking distance) but far enough away for more privacy and tranquility.

The standard of the accommodation itself was exceptional. The common areas and gardens are well groomed and maintained. The room itself was cleverly decorated and impeccably clean and well serviced throughout our 4 night stay. Impressed with the 5 star supplied soaps, body washes etc. The pool was our favourite part and had super comfortable pool furniture on the decking. Being able to use the outdoor fridge was great for a drink by the pool or storing meats and cheese for a platter under the veranda.

Richard and Carrie made us feel very welcome and were always ready to help guide us to areas of St Remy that should be seen. We can only recommend them and Le Mas Tourterelles very highly.

We were very grateful for our stay.

Jeff and Jodie (Perth, Australia)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    26
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
109
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anglesea, australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights in July. Richard and Carrie are great hosts of an absolutely gorgeous property. We have just returned from a seven week trip and this was my favourite accommodation. The house is charming and the swimming pool most welcome. Breakfast outside in the garden is a terrific way to start the day. The town centre is a short walk away, with lots of cafes and restaurants. Get some tips from Richard and Carrie. They also helped us with tips about nearby villages like Uzes, Gordes and Roussillon as well as areas to visit to see the wonderful lavender fields.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gEOff54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked this b&b months in advance and were so excited for our stay. We stayed in one of the ground floor smaller rooms. The property and room itself was absolutely gorgeous and filled with charm. The b&b was in close proximity to the town, and was nice to have parking and breakfast included. The breakfast was nice, with homemade jam and fresh croissants and fruit. It wasn't extravagant, but was a nice rustic european breakfast. We took advantage of the swimming pool on a hot day, and thought the shower was very comfortable as well. Overall, we were very pleased with the property, and it was very in line in that regard with what we expected.

On the down side, we didn't feel as though the b&b was very hospitable to us. We felt rushed out of the rooms at checkout with the next guests waiting at our doorstep. We felt that one of the proprietors was a bit condescending and short with us. Compared to the many b&bs I have stayed at both throughout the trip and over my years, we felt that the proprietor was a bit cold to us, and our two night stay didn't merit enough warmth. It felt awkward, and we felt as a young couple that we were treated as a nuisance. We felt that the proprietor was only enthusiastic when she told us to write in her guest book as we were leaving. Overall, we left the B&B with a sour taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scirocco21, Owner at Le Mas des Tourterelles, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We are surprised that Dan B did not find us 'hospitable' although in other respects he seems to have been very satisfied with the Mas des Tourterelles. The smooth running of any establishment needs the co-operation of guests checking out on time and Dan B had to be reminded to do so. There were no guests waiting to go into the room, only a busy cleaner.
I think this and the fact that he was preparing to leave without paying, which needed to be brought to his attention, may have ruffled his feathers a little.
Dan B and his companion, whom we found quite delightful, had a tight Rick Steve 'must see' schedule, which we went to great lengths to help him with. He declined our offer of a local map for a GPS orientated plan of attack.
We pride ourselves on a warm welcome at the Mas des Tourterelles. We are sorry this didn't work out for Dan B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuurne, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I chose the b&b based on this site's reviews.

The owners are lovely people, the swimming pool is a big plus (and you get separate towels for the swimming pool). You can also get some cold drinks, beer and wine for a very fare price. private parking, few minutes walk from the town's center.
we stayed for 5 days. I would recommend it for couples or small families (there are also appart. for someone who is looking for something bigger.

Room Tip: better to get a room downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week here in June as a base for exploring Provence and playing golf. We visited St Remy about 20 years ago and I was worried it wouldn't live up to the good memory I had. It exceeded it, St Remy and in particular Le Mas des Tourterelles is a fantastic place to stay. We rented the apartment for a week and it was a superb base in an ideal spot. I liked the apartment as it gave us that bit more independence. We loved the walk into the village in the morning for fresh croissants with fig jam Carrie and Richard had provided. It was a 5 minute walk into the centre with lots of bars and restaurants but being in a quiet street where you feel totally relaxed and chilled. The apartment was absolutely spotless with a comfortable bed and beautiful white linen. Richard and Carrie could not have been more helpful and accommodating and gave us great recommendations on places and restaurants to visit. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jbird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I rented the 1 bedroom apartment at Le Mas des Tourterelles at the end of May. The apartment was bright, clean and had a little patio where we could sit outside and have a glass of wine. The location was great - a short walk into town and lots of excellent resaurants to choose from. St. Remy was a perfect base for day trips - some of our favourties were Uze, Mont Ventoux, Village des Bories and Les Baux. Richard and Carrie were great hosts and everything worked out perfectly. We would highly recommend this accomodation.
Paula and Colin from Toronto.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paula1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My fiancee and I rented the "Vine" room for four nights in June, 2013.

PROS:
- It's an easy 1-2 block walk into town.
- Gorgeous, photogenic yard and pool.
- Pretty, clean rooms.
- Plenty of space for parking.
- Reasonable price.
- There's a fridge where Richard & Carrie stock a few drinks to sell at cost. We ended up not taking advantage, but we should have, since the water and sodas were much cheaper than in town.
- Pretty sure this was my fiancee's favorite place we stayed at in France. She still rhapsodizes about it.
- I'm more of a hermit than a people person, but Richard and Carrie are so great that even I can appreciate them. I needed to refuel my rental car before returning it, but local stations don't accept foreign credit cards, and don't accept cash in off-hours (since a station attendant has to be present). Richard went out of his way to lead me to a gas station and make sure I could pay successfully (he was prepared to take my cash and use his credit card). What a stand-up guy!

CONS:
- The shower head has a tendency to spray the toilet and flood the bathroom floor if you're not careful.

It's an old farmhouse, so you'll either read that as "rustic appeal" or "creaky and clanky." Both are accurate.

If you haven't been to the area before, you'll definitely need a car and GPS navigation. Many roads are one-way, many roads were closed when we visited, and many roads wend ways you might not expect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
458 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#8 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,025 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas des Tourterelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas des Tourterelles

Property: Le Mas des Tourterelles
Address: 21 Chemin de la Combette, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas des Tourterelles is a renovated Provencial farmhouse within a walled garden situated in a quiet residential area of St Remy. Accommodation comprises an apartment for 2 - 6 persons on a self-catering basis and 2 B&B rooms. Simplicity is the fundamental theme of the decor at Mas des Tourterelles where colours and furnishings complement the climate. Richard and Carrie Ahern look forward to welcoming you to the Mas des Tourterelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Mas des Tourterelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Des Tourterelles Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing