We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Modest Rooms”
Review of Villa Glanum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Glanum Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Villa Glanum is well situated for touring Provence. You have the small, but well equiped town of San Remy de Provence nearby (worth a visit in its own right)
The rooms a spread about the main building on what once must have been a farm.
The rooms are small, decently equipped with TV, Clean Showers and Washrooms.
Some things are missing: like where to place the soap when one is in the shower (no baths). No carpets in the room. I would say that this is for the budget minded visitor.
Oh, Not to forget - The Villa Glanum has a restaurant which serves breakfast (additional price), Lunch and dinner - visited twice by our group and well reccomended.

Room Tip: Pay more - or ask for a larger room (for more than 2 people)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 215 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a room in one of the bungalows. We had a small terrace and the room was very clean. We stayed about a week and could find no major issues other than the bed being kind of small. I'm 6'3" and I was hanging off the end. The hotel is right across the street from Van Gogh's asylum and the Roman ruin of Glanum. Ste Remy is a very beautiful town with alot to see. While we were in town one evening there was a free concert. Back to the hotel, security is not an issue. We found everything safe and the safe worked. The toilet was clean and spacious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a room at the end of the bungalows. It was quite nice and warm- as Provence turned cold last week. We stayed here 2 nights in the middle of olive trees and across from the hospital where Van Gogh was treated and painted. The hotel is surrounded by olive trees and herb and other plantings. Next door are Roman ruins and across the street, good signage explains Van Gogh's time here. He had a connection to the hotel as one of the hotel buildings was home to a hospital worker whom Van Gogh was allowed to visit. The pool and sitting area looked nice(and each bungalow room has a small patio) but it was quite cold outside. There is ample parking as wekk

Room Tip: I think the bungalow rooms(bastide?) are better than the ones in the main building but I am not sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandTravelinMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had trouble finding La Villa Glanum Lodging, but only because our GPS decided that our destination was 300 metres down the road in a dead end street! When we finally found the Villa, we were certainly not disappointed. A large room opening off the restaurant area was quiet and well appointed. We had our own access through the lovely gardens, which meant that coming home after a dinner in Saint Remy, was easy and unlikely to disturb other people staying in the complex.

Room Tip: A room opening onto the garden means that you can come and go as you please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUISMO13, Réceptionniste at Villa Glanum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Steve,
We thank you for your comment. We hope the end of your stay in France was rich in discoveries.
See you at the Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Villa Glanum in a room located in the main house with a terrace.

All areas within the hotel are cleaned to a high standard and you are given towels to take to the pool.

Breakfast each morning was well laid out and allows you to eat in the morning sunshine. The breakfast is traditionally French so don't think you will receive a full English breakfast.

Pool was very peaceful and has sun loungers both in the tree line for shade and around the main pool.

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the town and albeit it on a slight hill there are new paths which have been laid.

We look forward to another trip back to both the area and hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Travellers2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Life is too short not to see La Provence before dying! If you go there for the first time or the 10th time, I recommend St Remy de Provence, a charming, quaint little village where Van Gogh found refuge at the end of his life. For lodging, visit Villa Glanum - a fantastic roman/provencal quiet hotel where all you hear are crickets and enjoy the scent of lavender.
The place was impeccable, as was the service. What a dream garden...Visit the Glanum roman ruins within 30mn drive, or you will regret not to have gone; as I have the first time. Too many things to do. Just go to St Remy and see what happens.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DupontTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here as part of a longer trip. The hotel has charm. It is comfortable and the pool, garden and restaurant are well done. Ask for a room that faces the pool. The area has much to offer and the staff has great ideas.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mmm301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,092 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel le Chalet Fleuri
Hotel le Chalet Fleuri
#15 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gounod
Hotel Gounod
#5 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Glanum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Glanum Hotel

Address: 46 avenue Vincent van Gogh, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range: $93 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Glanum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Glanum is located at the foot of Alpilles, 800m from the historical village of Saint Remy de Provence. Walking distance from the archeological site of Glanum and of St Paul Monastery where Van Gogh voluntarily interned himself at the end of his life. Large swimming pool (15x6m) entirely closed and park of more than one hectare.Closed car park and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Glanum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glanum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing