We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
$299
$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
$219
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gounod(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Glanum Hotel(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
$113
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de l'Image(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
$193
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau de Roussan(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
$188
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mas Valentine(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
$237
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Mas des Figues(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
$145
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chateau des Alpilles(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
201
62
18
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
62
18
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst remyrestaurant upstairscroissantsfresh fruitsmall hotelspoke very good englisheach room has its ownblock walkhelpful ownerearly julycharming little towntown centreconvenient locationcentral courtyardhotel is situatedstayed longersecure parking
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 291 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2007

We haved stayed here many times and it just goes from strength to strength. Kups and Gisele are lovely and can't do enough for you. The rooms are very quiet and now open on to a newly opened up garden area - previously each room had a small private garden with gravel and a fig tree. Now there are shrubs, small areas of lawns, flowers and the fig trees are most visible and give lots of shade. Inside the rooms are simply furnished, with good beds and each room has an original painting by Kups. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless. There is also a pleasant small pool, with deckchairs. Breakfast is a delight, with fresh fruit, bread, croissants, pain au chocolat, jam and freshly squeezed juices. Kups will also rscommend restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

This hotel is truly a gem. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is superb. The room, though not large, was very comforable with a lovely deck overlooking the beautiful gardens.

The breakfast was overrated for our taste and one can easily find many excellent cafes just a brief walk away.

It was a pleasure staying at the hotel and when we return to St. Remy we will definitely consider staying here again. We would recomment this hotel.

Pat & Dennis
Nova Scotia Canada

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BlueRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

What a lovely, charming, artistly creative hotel. The owners Kups and Gisele are so hospitable and approachable. They made us feel as though we were close friends of theirs. They gave us advice on where to eat, what to see, and how to get there. And I also noticed that they were able to provide all this in different languages (when needed) to their other guests. I counted at least 3 other languages spoken besides french!
The room we stayed in had a lovely terrace "Under the Fig Trees", of course. The free internet access was a real plus since we had been traveling around the south of France the week prior to arriving in St. Remy and neither of the hotels we stayed in had internet capability. The breakfast each morning was really lovely: fresh baguettes, croissants, cafe au lait... all with Edit Piaf crooning french "standards" in the background...
The location is great... one block away from the center of the village. If I'm gushing it's because it's so rare to find a place like this without it being really expensive. However, this hotel is truly well priced while providing so many memorable amenities including making you feel like you have a special place to come "home" to after a successful day of being of tourist.

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank TravelForMoonlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

Hotel Sous Les Figuiers is a gem just a 5 minute walk from centre ville in St. Remy. A gravel path led us to our quiet room #8 with its private garden & terrace. Through french doors, we entered our beautifully appointed room - subtle, restful colours, well-chosen decorations & furnishings. A wardrobe, a closet & a small chest of drawers provided ample storage. We enjoyed restful sleeps on the comfortable king-sized bed. The room had a large, impeccably clean bathroom with double sinks, a separate wc and a large tub. Air conditioning added comfort to our one-week stay.

We started each morning with a beautiful breakfast of fresh fruit, juice, yoghurt, breads & croissants, confitures, cheese & coffee served on the courtyard below the canopy of trees.

The setting of the hotel is lovely & tranquil - a small corner of paradise in St. Remy. It was wonderful to return to the hotel after a day of touring.

Kups & Gisele, our hostesses welcomed us warmly, provided us assistance such as giving us suggestions of things to do in the area & helping us secure restaurant reservations, and extended their kindness & hospitality to us.

This was our third trip to Provence and our second stay in St. Remy. We will definitely return to the Hotel Sous Les Figuiers!

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank 2,010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
853
Reviewed November 30, 2005

We stayed for 3 nights in October. We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. We had some trouble finding it, if it's your first time in St.Remy you should bring a detailed map and arrive by daylight. Don't bother with the tourist information office, they offer no assistance (it may be a principle). Location is great, close to main "drag" and there's ample parking in front. Sous les Figuiers was, formally, as described but the reality was: a room with nowhere to sit, write or place your luggage. No sufficient light, sparse, cold and, well, kinda' dismal. There were extra mouldy-smelling itchy wool blankets to be found in the draw-curtain "closets". The beds were uncomfortable which seems to be the default for France. I found that folding my fleece jacket using it as a pillow worked well. The bathroom was much nicer than the room, very spacious; we considered sleeing in there. The breakfast offered was expensive and sparse but we didn't have energy to go hunting for alternatives. Would we go back: Maybe during the summer-months, mainly because of the convenient location and the easy parking. The cats were nice.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews