We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing sense of service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canto Cigalo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canto Cigalo
Certificate of Excellence
berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing sense of service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I will start writing this review by saying that I did not stay there myself, but I feel like my amazing experience is worth sharing with those looking for a place where hospitality comes first.
I booked this hotel for a couple friend who where travelling through Europe. They were looking for beautiful and relaxing surrounding, and when reading the review, I figured this would be the place of their choice. But upon their arrival, the manager announced that he had had to cancel the room, because the credit card left for deposit had been identified as fraud... These things can happen when you travel abroad and don't tell your bank!
Without a second thought, he booked my friends in another hotel near by, personally drove them there, and came back in the morning to pick them up!
My friends then had an amazing stay at the hotel, and couldn't stop but praising the service, the quality of the rooms, and the beautiful view from their room...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BERLINER159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    88
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
163
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

All is perfect in this 'better than a 2-star' hotel that's about a 10-minute walk from the center of town. The decorating could do with some updating but as mentioned in other reviews it is immaculately clean and everything functions. It felt like the right size of hotel for us... not a box of a room in a tower. The terrace, garden and pool are spacious and allow for great views of the Alpilles. A very quiet neighborhood.
That said ... while the reception is efficient it is not warm. Even when I told them how much we liked staying at the hotel and how wonderful things were, I didn't even see a glimmer of pleasure. I can only begin to imagine how fatiguing it must be to work in hospitality, but there was no sense of personal connection during our stay. In this way it felt just the same as staying in a 300 room resort on some beach like Hurghada.

Room Tip: a room on the first floor across from the rooftop terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WishShirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Really impressed with this hotel: very, very clean, fantastic pool area and gardens, lovely terrace, peaceful location but within walking distance of St Remy. Although the service was a little luke warm (probably due to my floundering French!), the owners really care about their hotel. Excellent value for money in an area where accomodation is generally expensive. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

For a two-star hotel, this one is worth to be mentioned. Very quiet setting, a bit outside of town. Has a nice pool. Great terasse for breakfast which is not self-service..... Wifi available.
Rooms are reasonably spacious and properly furnished, i.e. decent bedding....
A romantic get away for a very reasonable budget!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlybrown65000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed there for a week in early August. A longgggg walk or a short drive form the town centre. The name "Canto Cigalo" means "Song Of The Cicada", which is of course Provence's official bug. They do stick with the theme here are there are sculpted cicadas everywhere, right down to the room key fobs. The building and grounds are tidy and attractive. On-site parking is a bit tight when the hotel is full but you can still squeeze into a space. Theoretically you should be able to see the Alpilles off in the distance if you look out your ground floor southward-facing room, but there are trees and other things in the way. If you go in the summer, take for granted it's going to be warmer than you probably want it to be; the air conditioning in our room worked only sporadically. A quirky little place but still a pleasant stay and very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fummunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a second floor room on the south side. The view over the terrace and pool toward the Alpilles mountains was gorgeous. The décor throughout the hotel is colorful and fun.
The room was immaculately clean and everything was very well maintained. The room had a split bath which always makes it easier for two people. It was very quiet at night (with the exception of the neighborhood rooster). The shutters can be closed to block light and the south-facing rooms have AC (so you can close the windows to block noise).
Breakfast is served either inside or outside on the terrace. Breakfast on the sunny terrace surrounded by the beautiful garden was one of the highlights of our trip to France. The preserves are house-made and the breads are baked on-site every morning; you can smell the aroma from your room.
The hosts were very accommodating and helpful, even offering utensils for a picnic lunch. We spoke some French, so our conversations with the hosts were in basic French. But there are many English-speaking guests, so language isn’t a problem. There is no laundromat in St Remy but there is laundry service in town or Canto Cigalo provides a laundry service.
It is a short 10 minute walk into St Remy which has many restaurants; the owners of Canto Cigalo will give you recommendations. Do not miss the Wednesday St Remy market! We bought a picnic lunch at the market and enjoyed it at a shady table in the garden of Canto Cigalo.
Canto Cigalo makes a great base for visiting this part of Provence. Roussillon, Pont du Gard, Les Baux, Glanum, etc. are all a short drive away.
We really hope to go back and next time we will stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaviesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We booked for 3 nights but the hotel was so amazing that we stayed an extra night and it was very difficult to leave even then. It was on of the highlights of our 5 week holiday. Fortunately we had perfect weather and it was glorious sitting in the morning sunshine under the mulberry trees for breakfast or lunch and a swim. The rooms were beautifully decorated and nothing was overlooked to make our stay perfect. We had a delicious dinner in the dining room and as with everything else it was beautifully presented with an excellent wine. The hotel was quiet, in a back street and a short scenic walk to the main town (we did this very often at all times of the day and evening). It was lovely to walk back to the hotel after dinner in town. St Remy is in an excellent position for exploring the area and close to many tourist spots. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Amandiere
Hotel l'Amandiere
#5 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Cigalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Cigalo

Property: Canto Cigalo
Address: 8 A Chemin de Canto Cigalo, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canto Cigalo 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be welcomed to the Canto Cigalo with a smile as if you are comming to stay with friends. 20 comfortable rooms 2 ** withair-conditioned or ventilated,equipped with shower or bath, private toilets, telephone, mini-bar Quiet garden, shade of mulberry trees and pines and perfumed to scents of the Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Canto Cigalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Cigalo Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing