We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the detour”

L'Auberge de Saint-Remy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $169
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Auberge offers guests authentic and refined cuisine all year round. Guests will appreciate the warm, friendly atmosphere found in the attractive dining room. This room, whose old-world charm has been carefully preserved, will win over guests with its exposed beams and beautiful stone walls. This welcoming setting is the ideal place to enjoy an intimate dinner with friends or family. During the winter, take your seat beside the fireplace and soak up the soft warmth after a beautiful day out exploring Provence. The windows of the adjoining kitchens give guests a privileged insight into the hub of the restaurant, allowing them to share in the flurry of activity within. Discover the exclusive dining experience and intimate atmosphere that this corner of the restaurant has to offer. The Auberge de la Reine Jeanne offers guests a unique setting in which you will spend an enjoyable evening in excellent company. What better end to the day than a dish specially concocted by our chef, or perhaps a glass of Champagne? With the arrival of the good weather, take advantage of our patio or terrace. In this verdant setting, the dishes are lit up by sunlight and guests are sure to appreciate the pleasant surroundings. Take a seat on one of the modern chairs in the shade of a parasol, and let the tranquillity of nature soothe and relax you. During the summer, under a sky softly lit with stars, a romantic atmosphere reigns on our patio, where relaxation is on the menu. Delicate candles, lamps and elegantly dressed tables help set the mood in this gorgeous setting. Savour every moment during your meal in this bucolic fairy-tale scene.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

Well worth their star and they look like they’re aiming for a second. We had a fabulous tasting menu: delicious textures and flavours, beautiful presentation in a welcoming dining room and finely choreographed service all made for a memorable evening. Another plus, the portions were refreshingly small - we were able to appreciate everything without struggling to finish it. Great wines and good advice. Looking forward to next time.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank travelbsuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fannyrey, Responsable réception at L'Auberge de Saint-Remy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your beautiful comment.

It is a pleasure for us if you had a great time.

Waiting to see you a next time, among us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 621 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2018

This was our first – and best – meal in our sixteen days in France. When we booked the hotel, they asked if we wanted to dine with them, we said yes not knowing this is a Michelin one star. Any reviewer who sees Fanny Rey as less than a five star is dead wrong.

The restaurant is beautiful – small, welcoming, a few tables out of earshot of other tables and a balcony with a table or two. More importantly, there is glass wall between the service area and the kitchen and we were able to watch the maître chef and her minions prepare the meal, fascinating and encouraging at the same time.

If you are traveling off season ignore the pictures of the lighted courtyard, I assume that is open for service on a limited basis off season.

Service was superb except the sommelier – his recommendations were all right, not great.

What did we eat? Like many restaurants in France, the fixed course meals are the best and fairly priced – ordering one curse a la carte is almost the same price as ordering a four-course dinner. Fanny Rey offers a four, a five and a ten-course meal. My wife and I did the four.

The first serving was a freebie – a trio of roasted beet, fish balls, tomato anchovy. We moved on to a marvelous, light barley soup – we think there was no cream, just butter. The next plate was a mushroom tart with more mushrooms on top. To die for – we are both mushroom people. The main plate was a poached or steamed bass – or similar whitefish – with leek on the side accompanied by creamed chopped chestnuts.

Dessert was a poached pear, a grilled peach, herbal foam, and homemade ice cream.

Accompanying the meal was some sort of spiced bread.

There was a freebie going away present – a plate of some sort of mini cheesecake, orange peel in chocolate, and Chantilly. The coffee was good – it could be better. I asked the (erstwhile) sommelier to pick the wine by the glass – the white was excellent, the red mediocre to poor. The wine list was a bit pricey compared to other restaurants in St. Remy, not ridiculously, so.

The piece de resistance was meeting the maître chef – Fanny Rey – a finalist for Top Chef France in 2011. She came out to greet us – a lovely woman on top of her game, her husband is the pastry chef and also does some breakfasts, which are excellent and a steal for 15 euros.

What did our dinner cost? One hundred and ten euros plus wine. A steal.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan w, Responsable réception at L'Auberge de Saint-Remy, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comment and we hope you had a great time among us.

It is with pleasure that we read your post.

We hope you will come back and share another moment with us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

Beautifully light Mediterranean cuisine by the eponymous chef who came out to serve our first course. It is one of the rare occasion when the foams on the dishes do actually taste like what they are supposed to be eg rosemary and olive. We went for the light set menu but would love to come back for the chef’s surprise menu! Reasonable wine list. Came to 200 euros for 3 people with one bottle of local wine.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Quantumlondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

This was a delightful meal, one of the nicest we've had on this or any other trip to France. The setting is a courtyard nicely decorated with comfortable chairs. The food is exceptional, with each course replete with multiple flavors in different elements of the dish, all of which nicely complement each other. We opted for the smallest tasting menu and found that it was plenty of food albeit in multiple small portions. My favorite was the "cheese course: (10 E extra but well worth it). It was an eloquent construction with many subtle flavors blending into something extraordinary. The small tasting menu is an amazing bargain for a Michelin starred restaurant. And in keeping with making this experience accessible without breaking the budget, there's a rather inexpensive red, white and rose as house wines. The staff was amazing. While English was a challenge sometimes, that made for an interesting and cheerful conversation trying to work through with the waitstaff the English word for, for example, prunes. We especially enjoyed Sebastian, although all the staff were great. The website could be updated; it was a bit hard to find the menus, etc.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elm4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

I feel bad writing this- I cant call this restaurant average- but it was a lost of pomp and circumstance and not too much deliver. We had the 55 Euro dinner but with wines it came to 170- so we expected both quality and quantity. We didn't get the latter for sure - portions were tiny but the first two courses were kind of ridiculous- so there goes the quality. The first was two tiny tomatoes in some olive oil- No mystery and not much food. The second , called a fish soup was laughable and a little insulting,. The : soup" was probably at best a teaspoon full and it had a few extremely thinly sliced vegetables around the side. By this time I was feeling foolish for having come here- even though there were all kinds of waiters acting serious around us. The main dish a small piece of cod was very good- and the desert was a bit precious - it had one tiny strip of rhubarb and some other sweet ingredients- but it was tasty, We enjoyed ourselves but decided we had had a lesson- the star can mean nothing- I don't know if this is the way the chef earned her star but it seemed to me a good way to lose it. PS I wish I loved it- I know being a female chef in France is hard and I would like to be able to support her. But I have to be honest.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank couplessPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge de Saint-Remy also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Auberge de Saint-Remy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing