We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful gem, we were impressed with everything. What a pitty we only stayed one night, they were full otherwise we would have stayed for a week. We were a family of 5, the pool was perfect for all ages, the dinner was amazing and the breakfast was fresh! Overall a perfect place!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 632 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

No other place to stay in St Remy but here. We stayed as it was part of a package for our bike tour through Provence, but would come back here any time on our own. Not only was our room beautiful, the grounds are gorgeous. If staying here or not, don't pass on eating here. The salad was probably the best I ever had and our dinner was delicious. The staff saw to it that we were well taken care of. Hope to get back here do someday and spend a bit more time. Great place to relax and unwind as they have 2 pools.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pticot1, Gérant at Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

We are extremly happy that you enjoy your stay with us and htat you have taking time to make a reveiw on our mas for the other guests
We hope that you will be able to return another time to visit us in th neart future
Our aim is always to try to make our guests happy once they have entered at le mas!!!!
thank you again for your so nice comments
best regards
pierre ticot
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel does have a lovely pool and garden area. It is situated in the well positioned and well appointed village of St Remy which is a great location for exploring the area by car. Walking distance to town for dinners, markets and other shopping which is good.
The rooms are clean.
Our arrival seemed an inconvenience to the staff at the desk and after a long drive seemed rude and unwelcoming. The rooms we were allocated were good sized but had an overpowering lavender smell to cover a damp smell and had poor lighting. The decor was dated. The most disappointing thing was the beds. Our bed was the worst we had ever tried to sleep on. It was so hard we couldn't sleep. We had checked in for 4 nights. The noise from the restaurant below in the evenings was also annoying. Their set menu is fussy food that is badly executed and they have a wine / drinks list that is far too expensive - clearly where they try to make money. Breakfast was included in our rate and excluding good pastries, was either sloppy scrambled eggs, mushy tomatoes and fatty sausages or basic cereals and old fruit (really old soft apples and oranges and bruised soft bananas).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Saremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pticot1, Gérant at Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Bonjour

We regret that the stay of these guests has not been as positive as it was supposed to be and we are extremely disappointed that they have left le mas des carassins with a bed image which is hopefully a very rare situation
nevertheless i would like to draw attention to the other readers to some informations and comments these guests have made
1/ their trip
they have contacted me to organize their route from Dordogne where to stop what to see and where to eat the drive was only 5 hours

2/ their arrival, Karine MIchel Marlon and Myself are the one who are welcoming guests at the reception and we always try to make people confortable once they push the door
Arriving Under a storm is not always pleasant and they were certainly nervous ..which coudl explain their reaction!!!

3/ Behaviour
The behavour of these people and unpolitness is something to be told for the other readers
First they reserved diner the evening of their arrival to cancel it after arrival...
the second day was the birthday of one of the daughters and we have arranged a special event for that ( not even a thank you )
for fussy food they have had this evening trilogy of scallops, rack of lamb with herbs crust and strawberry declinaison )
reader can experiment the comments of our food in other reviews
THe third day they decided to have dinner just when they were coming back at 7.30 pm ( no reservation ) and to please them , we organize their table , table they have then cancelled 30 minutes after!!! with no excuses...
The children : they have their own room and during the 4 days they were there they have make a terrible noise, regular guests who were downstairs and beside complain about that but the parents even dont care about our remarks...
4/ Wine list : in comparaison with a lot of restaurant in the surroundings we have a very reasonable wine list starting at 14 euros and 5 euros for a 20cl glass of wine...
5/ breakfast : we served a nice warm buffet breakfast scrambbles eggs are cooked two times in the morning and carefully watched , sausages are always fat...like bacon...except if you serve chicken products;
cereals are offered on 3 different choices and no one has complained so far
fruits are replaced on a daily basis and these comments are unappropiated
6/ Noise from the restaurant
the service starts at 7.30 and last order is 8.30
at 10.30 pm at the latest there is no more noise because simply there are no people lefy!!! surprising remark...
7/ Decor dated : room les calans has been totally refurbished 2 years ago and room les Alpilles last year...
beds : our mastress has been changed last year and are with the highest standard of 4/5 stars hôtels ( epeda, simpson treca )
for guests who desire ot we offer over mastresses to make the mastress even softer..

IN conclusion, these people think in fact their were lodging in a 5 stars hotel paying only for 3 stars hotel....
our hotel is a family hotel with a lot of returning guests , our goal is to make guests feel relax with no sophistication to enjoy the provence atmosphere within le mas des carassins...
these guests simply were at a wrong adress....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

First class hotel and staff! The hotel is modern and immaculately maintained. The grounds are beautifully manicured with 2 large swimming pools. There is a world class restaurant at the hotel where we had breakfast every morning and dinner almost every night. There is indoor and outdoor seating for the restaurant and most evenings we ate outside. The ambiance here is relaxing with such a visually stunning environment and professional staff. If we hadn't travelled from so far and weren't located in beautiful St. Remy where there is so much to see, we could easily have vacationed at the Mas de Carassins alone. Downtown St. Remy is a quick 10 minute walk from the hotel. The mental hospital where Van Gogh voluntarily admitted himself is also a 10 minutes walk. There's a ton more to see in the region if you have a vehicle. The staff at the hotel and restaurant were outstanding and very accommodating with special recognition for Marlon. He was our waiter/Maitre D almost every night. Super professional with a 6th sense for customer needs! Truly a credit to this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smallvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel annually since 2010. It never disappoints. It is the place we most enjoy staying in France. Our room was lovely. It had a private terrace and overlooked the beautiful gardens and the Alpilles. It had a lounge and walk in shower. The room was immaculate.
The property has two good swimming pools set in the gardens. We had dinner every evening during our stay. This was in the garden when the weather was good. This meant almost every evening. It was a menu which changed daily. The food was exceptional and great value with an excellent wine list. The hotel is a good base to explore the area and only a short walk from St Remy which is a lovely town. I have to say what also makes a stay at this hotel so special, is the service from the hands-on owners and their brilliant staff. We have got to know them over the years and this adds to our enjoyment of the holiday. Already booked for next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelcollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Le Mas des Carassins is a small hotel surrounded by a beautiful garden of olive and bay trees, thyme bushes and many varieties of beautiful flowers. The food was incredible and the hotel is first class!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Provence because it was a good central location and St Remy de Provence has an exceptional once a week market. The market is on Wednesday so we made sure we were staying here that day. It's about a ten minute walk to the center of town which is completely taken over by the market on Wednesday so you couldn't get within a ten minute walk in a car anyway. We've seen a lot of village markets in Europe, but this one is quite remarkable. It seems to be everywhere. We spent at least 3 hours there and still didn't see it all. Great fun.
The term "mas" is a Provence shortcut for "maison" and is generally used these days to refer to old farms or estates that are now hotels. This one is a gem and our room in the old stable with its own private terrace was excellent. There are large garden areas adjoining the mas and even two swimming pools. Interesting and creative art work is spread around the garden and illuminated at night. Dining at the mas is mandatory during high season and the menu is the same for all, though it changes daily. That worked fine for us - we didn't have to go out and could sit on the terrace in the warm evening and enjoy excellent food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joroahen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,120 reviews
1 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Soleil & SPA
Hotel du Soleil & SPA
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel l'Amandiere
Hotel l'Amandiere
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gounod
Hotel Gounod
#5 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel

Address: 1 Chemin Gaulois, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range: $131 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Mas Des Carassins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing