We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything a boutique hotel in Provence should be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton, CT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Everything a boutique hotel in Provence should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

There are plenty of charming looking and sounding hotels in Provence, especially in or around St. Remy, so it was very hard to pick one. However, there was something about Le Mas des Carassins -- maybe it was all the positive TripAdvisor reviews, maybe it was the location, maybe it was the photos, or all three -- that made me book a room there. And am I glad I did. Le Mas des Carassins is everything a boutique hotel in Provence should be. It is beautiful and beautifully decorated, but not at all stuffy or overdone. It has a laid-back charm. The food is lovingly prepared and professionally served -- and delicious. It is also served outside (if it is not raining) in an enchanting garden. The rooms are cozy and comfortable -- a combination of rustic charm and modern conveniences (air conditioning, TV, rain-head shower). And the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. (When the town closed down, literally, the evening of Bastille Day, and we were unable to drive to the hotel, Marlon (sp?) came and got us (after trying to direct us by phone for half an hour). And Adam and all the dinner staff were delightful, a pleasure to chat with.) Other positives: The hotel is surprisingly quiet. Even though it was full, I rarely heard the other guests from our room, which also had the bonus of blackout shutters and curtains -- the perfect cure for jet lag. There are also two gorgeous swimming pools, a welcome relief after a long, hot walk or drive. And the location is perfect for those who do not want to be right in town but close enough to walk. The only negative (which was not a negative for us but may be for others): the room (Eygalieres) needed a little maintenance. The air conditioner leaked or dripped and there was water damage around and under it. Water also puddled on the floor (though not a lot). There were also scuff marks on the walls and it looked like no one had dusted or vacuumed under or around the bed in a long time. None of these things bothered us, but I point them out to others so that they are aware the hotel isn't perfect (though it's pretty darn close). All said, I highly recommend Le Mas des Carassins for those looking for a charming, relaxed stay in St. Remy -- and my husband and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JustJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    121
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
368
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights on our way back to Belgium. Must say it was even better than expected: welcoming staff, very nice property, two quiet pools, excellent (and quite spacious) room, evening dinners very tasty and exquisite wines.
The hotel is situated somewhat outside the village center, but it did not bother us at all to walk for max 10'.
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillermo21Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovigo, Italy
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel the 5th year below, after having been in another hotel near in Les Baux of Provence for 9 years. The Mas des Carassins is one of the most beautiful places we've been in Europe. It's a must for the place, the climate, the atmosphere, the quietness, the food, the wine and so on... People is particularly exquisite and you wait all the year long to return. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is our favourite hotel in France, hence our return visit. It is a lovely hotel with spacious and well kept gardens. There are two pools which are kept very clean and enjoyed by us every day! We stayed in the new part of the hotel in a lovely room which had its own sitting room and a balcony with great views. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and kept so by the staff. The bathroom had an excellent walk in shower.The hotel is a short walk from St Remy and is a great base for touring the area. We visited Avignon, Nimes and Arles during our stay as well as the local area.
We dined at the hotel in the beautiful garden every evening during our seven night stay. The menu changed every evening. The food was both very good and great value which would be hard to beat in the area. It consists of an aperitif, starter,main course, a cheese dish and a dessert! We have never been disappointed with the food. We have always found the staff to be very welcoming, helpful and efficient. It was so nice to see several of the same staff again this year. They all help to contribute to us so enjoying our stay in this wonderful hotel. . Booked again for next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelcollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in a lovely spacious room with its own private courtyard. Easy and plentiful parking. Ate here each night and all meals & wines delicious. Staff very helpful and professional. All spoke good English.the gardens were well maintained & both pools were lovely to relax around in the afternoon. Very close to Glanum and the hospital where van Gogh spent 1year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felicitySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a nice little hotel in two distinct part the old with character and the annex with mod cons. It is nicely situated within easy walking distance of the centre of St Remy and the staff we found charming. The dining is from a set menu which would not suit everyone but the food was good throughout our stay. There are two pools and extensive grounds with plenty of appropriate furniture in which to relax. In short a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The old for character and the new for mod cons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife & I stayed at Le Mas Des Carassins from June 3-7, 2013. We enjoyed our stay immensely and we could not give the hotel a higher recommendation. The staff was extremely helpful throughout our stay. Nearly all of the hotel and restaurant staff spoke English & many spoke fluently. Our room, La Mangiamaerie, was pretty spacious (for Europe) and it overlooked the garden. The king size bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean and the towels and linens were of very good quality. The restaurant was excellent with good selection & quality for breakfast and interesting and very well prepared dinners. In fact, our reservation included 2 dinners. Before we arrived, we thought we'd eat at the hotel restaurant for 1 night and if it was not good, we'd simply not show up for the 2nd dinner. To our pleasant surprise, the restaurant was so good that we decided to have dinner at Le Mas during 3 of the 4 nights we were in Provence. The hotel is located just outside the center of St. Remy de Provence - a 5-10 minute walk to town. The grounds are substantial and very well maintained, from the pool to several garden areas. There was ample parking adjacent to the hotel. St. Remy was a good base from which to explore Provence. It was easy to get to and from St. Remy and its a quick and easy ride to Avignon, Pont du Gard, Cavaillon & the Luberon, Chateauneuf du Pape & Les Baux. Would have been a quick and easy ride to Arles & Nimes too - but we'll have to experience those cities next time. We'll be back for sure - and for more than 4 days next time.

Room Tip: Our room, La Mangiamaerie, had a king size bed and overlooked the garden. It was good sized and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Watchful26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#7 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel

Property: Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Address: 1 Chemin Gaulois, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#2 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Mas Des Carassins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing