We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Les Jardins de Fontanille(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Castelet des Alpilles(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Soleil & SPA(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Glanum Hotel(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de l'Image(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gounod(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
L'Auberge de Saint Remy(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sous les Figuiers(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Cigale et la Fourmi(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Canto Cigalo(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveler rating
458
145
29
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
145
29
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle masst remyset menufour coursesoutdoor diningbeautiful groundswater featuresoutdoor spacehalf boardminute walkfixed menuolive treeslarge propertylovely hotellovely roomground floorcomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 644 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked at Le Mas and stayed 3 nights mainly because Chateau des Alpilles where we had stayed many years ago (and really liked) was not available. Saint Remy can feel overrun by autos and fumes and Le Mas des Carassins was a beautiful tranquil refuge. We had booked a ground floor suite looking towards the garden (but like all ground floor units, they are shaded by landscaping which affords privacy, but also cuts off the views); finding the room too dark we asked for an alternative and ended up staying in a second floor unit (Les Baux) in the annex; our only minor complaints: window seemed shorter than could have been and bedding could have been better (a duvet/comforter would have been welcome, instead of worn blanket) and 2 pillows each rather than one (we ended up asking for two extras). But otherwise, the view of the garden and the Alpilles was spectacular, the landscaping brilliant, the entire annex is well done in a more modern style with quality finishes, stone floors/tling and very attractively suited. In short, we enjoyed our stay very much. The room and the modern bath room taken together seemed much larger than the suite in the original building, and quieter to boot. We took two of our three dinners as well as all our breakfasts at the hotel; the food was delicious, well presented and service was always terrific, the implied value for the meals was outstanding. We did not walk into Saint Remy, preferring to drive; we stocked with water, supplies and groceries at a nearby market 2 minutes drive away. While both Le Mas and Chateau des Alpilles are in walking distance, Le Mas is a bit closer. Will happily come back again if we ever have a chance.

Room Tip: We would recommend south facing rooms in annex (there are two in the 2nd floor (i.e. 1st floor, in French parlance), one with a walkout balcony/terrace; and ground floor room with terrace in annex. They are newer, seem to have better fittings, are brighter, more private.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsandsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Le Mas Des Carassins for one night - a late booking. From the moment we drove through the gates parked easily in the ample car park and saw the gardener at work we knew we were going to be in safe hands! The hotel is lovely and the grounds carefully tended but of course all this would not matter if the welcome and service were not equally as good - and they were. We were on the first floor in Balondet and the view from our room of the garden was totally relaxing. Facilities were excellent in all respects and we made the right decision in having dinner there which was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derbyshirelass499573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Le Mas in Mid March. We opted for the room package incl. breakfast and dinner. Wise decision. Great room on upper floor with view on to the grounds and Les Alpilles. Great, quiet room with all the amenities of safe, cable TV, flat screen etc.. Dinner both nights was outstanding with a very good selection of wines of the region. Good breakfast.
The staff, both at the reception and in the dining room were very attentive. Great location away from St Remy's hustle and bustle, yet within easy walking distance ( 7 min) to town center. Grounds are beautiful with interesting art work. It is close to Glanum and the Van Gogh Asylum.
When returing to the area we definitely would stay again at Le Mas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joerg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early October, 2012 at the end of a month long trip. Thinking back on the highlights of our trip, our stay at Le Mas Des Carassins was most memorable. The meals were awesome and the hotel was very clean and had an atmosphere that we loved. Our objective was to travel the area around St. Remy by car and this hotel was in a perfect location to do day tours. If you go, be sure to book the hotel and meals package. It's well worth it. We hope to return to this area in the future and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Thanks to all the staff. We appreciated the great service.

Brian and Eva Magee, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor of the older section that is attached to the dining room and reception area. The rooms were excellent but they did not have walk out balconies and we will consider the newer section with walk out balconies next time.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at Le Mas Des Carassins in October for two nights on the first lap of a tour of Provence/ Langedoc, but liked it so much we returned for another two nights.

What makes this place stand out is simplicity in its beauty. Tucked away from the main road leading to one of the quaintest villages in Provence, the green grounds near the pool are the perfect pre-dinner retreat.

San Remy is a perfect base for Provence, and so close to gems like Gordes and Les Baux - two stunning towns. Rooms are comfortable, with the traditional countryside hotels' furniture. But what makes this place really unique is its cuisine. Every night a different five-star menu is offered, which, washed down with a fine wine from nearby Les Baux is the perfect nightcap to one of the most beautiful regions in Europe. No wonder it was packed every night. Oh and if you're lucky you'll get to meet Baux the dog.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Earthling70_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews