We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sophistication and comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sophistication and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Le Mas Des Carassins for one night - a late booking. From the moment we drove through the gates parked easily in the ample car park and saw the gardener at work we knew we were going to be in safe hands! The hotel is lovely and the grounds carefully tended but of course all this would not matter if the welcome and service were not equally as good - and they were. We were on the first floor in Balondet and the view from our room of the garden was totally relaxing. Facilities were excellent in all respects and we made the right decision in having dinner there which was superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derbyshirelass499573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    121
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
368
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Le Mas in Mid March. We opted for the room package incl. breakfast and dinner. Wise decision. Great room on upper floor with view on to the grounds and Les Alpilles. Great, quiet room with all the amenities of safe, cable TV, flat screen etc.. Dinner both nights was outstanding with a very good selection of wines of the region. Good breakfast.
The staff, both at the reception and in the dining room were very attentive. Great location away from St Remy's hustle and bustle, yet within easy walking distance ( 7 min) to town center. Grounds are beautiful with interesting art work. It is close to Glanum and the Van Gogh Asylum.
When returing to the area we definitely would stay again at Le Mas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joerg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early October, 2012 at the end of a month long trip. Thinking back on the highlights of our trip, our stay at Le Mas Des Carassins was most memorable. The meals were awesome and the hotel was very clean and had an atmosphere that we loved. Our objective was to travel the area around St. Remy by car and this hotel was in a perfect location to do day tours. If you go, be sure to book the hotel and meals package. It's well worth it. We hope to return to this area in the future and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Thanks to all the staff. We appreciated the great service.

Brian and Eva Magee, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor of the older section that is attached to the dining room and reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at Le Mas Des Carassins in October for two nights on the first lap of a tour of Provence/ Langedoc, but liked it so much we returned for another two nights.

What makes this place stand out is simplicity in its beauty. Tucked away from the main road leading to one of the quaintest villages in Provence, the green grounds near the pool are the perfect pre-dinner retreat.

San Remy is a perfect base for Provence, and so close to gems like Gordes and Les Baux - two stunning towns. Rooms are comfortable, with the traditional countryside hotels' furniture. But what makes this place really unique is its cuisine. Every night a different five-star menu is offered, which, washed down with a fine wine from nearby Les Baux is the perfect nightcap to one of the most beautiful regions in Europe. No wonder it was packed every night. Oh and if you're lucky you'll get to meet Baux the dog.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earthling70_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
493 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and got their discounted November price for the room, breakfast, and dinner. It was a great deal for everything we got and would definitely recommend it. As others have described, it is in a garden setting within walking distance of the town of St. Remy. There are plants and fountains in the well manicured area outside. There is a large amount of free parking space available. Since it was November there were only a few people staying there so it was very quiet. I had a standard room, which was well decorated and a normal size for France. They also have rooms with private patios that would be nice in warmer weather. The room had a small refrigerator and a safe. The flat screen TV had 4 English channels - CNN, CNBC, BBC, and Bloomberg.
The breakfasts were good and included high quality food. The dinners that were served in their restaurant were outstanding. The menu is posted each morning so you can decide if you want to eat there (there are no options or substitutions to the menu). They have 5 courses, including cheese and dessert, and include a drink to start (we had Champagne one evening and sweet wines the other two nights). The have an extensive wine list of the area wineries, which were reasonably priced (we got good bottles for about 25 Euros). The woman who took care of us in the morning and evening spoke excellent English and was very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is a short walk to St. Remy, which is nice and has lots of restaurants and shops. There is not a sidewalk on the first two blocks of the walk, but the traffic is not heavy. St. Remy is close to the town and ruins of Les Baux and to other sites in Provence. It was a good place to have as a base. I would certainly recommend this hotel and restaurant and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Others have described the Inn very accurately (except those who had weird complaints - ignore those!) The gardens are lovely, filled with flowers, even in the fall, and intriguing sculptures. You can find a peaceful spot to read, think, write, sleep, under the olive trees. Although it was too cool to eat outside, I can imagine that dinner under the trees is wonderful. We did have three dinners at the Inn, and all were delicious. The hosts were very accommodating to my shellfish food allergy, substituting specially prepared dishes. We had a quiet room on the second floor of the main house. Our room had all the modern amenities but somehow managed to be also be charming. St. Remy is a great base for exploring surrounding towns, and we were always happy to come back to Le Mas Des Carassins at the end of the day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, so it is worth corresponding with the owners to be sure you are clear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vegemiteforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had made reservations in April, 2012 for a September 2012 trip to Saint Remy. I left a required 25% deposit at this time. Much to my disappointed I received an email 3 weeks before our trip stating that there had been an over sight with our booking and that our reservations were canceled.
We were given a couple of options, none with similar characteristics as this hotel. I had done a lot of research and was really excited to stay at Le Mas Des Carassins. I have never had a cancellation especially after leaving a deposit. I understand that mistakes can be made, but was quite upset about this. I guess for future, I will triple check with hotels to MAKE SURE our rooms are secure.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sunsun5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pticot1, Gérant at Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We Check as professionnal bookings of guests three to four weeks prior Arrival to contrôle if the room dates and rates réserved correspond to the desire of our guests
This to avoid for the guests and for the hôtel unexepected problems and to find solutions if nécessary prior guests Arrival
Mistakes could happen
We are humain beings
More over some bookings are extremely complicated and sometimes at the end
They have been So many changes by the guests that mistakes could happen
That was the case for this réservation
We notice some discrepancies
Try to find alternatives
Guests could not change its dates
Propose Nice hôtels at the Same rate and Same level of quality
Guest answer They Will look themselves to another place and Will Côme nevertheless for dîner at the mas
Hope fully that was the only problem we have had during the whole season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#7 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel

Property: Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Address: 1 Chemin Gaulois, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#2 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Mas Des Carassins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing