We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed there for only one night on a short trip, and wished we could stay for much longer. We had a standard room without balcony, which was OK for size, very clean and with interesting decor; it was a family room, with 2 beds for children on a mezzanine. The bathroom was fine, a good size and again very clean.

The whole hotel was tastefully decorated and clean and tidy. The grounds were delightful and well-cared for, with several areas to sit; I sat for quite a while by the pool, sheltering from the hot sun under a parasol, with the fountains gently splashing nearby.

Dinner was a lovely experience. We chose to sit in the garden, where tables looked very attractive, especially when the candles were lit, with some on the covered veranda for those who preferred. The dinner price included a delicious melon aperitif, followed by a tasty amuse-bouche, with a delicious trio of scallops as starters, then a lamb shank, very tender and in a delicious sauce. This was followed by 3 tasty cheeses, and to finish there was a trio of desserts: strawberry cake, strawberries and pistachio ice cream. I'm allergic to strawberries, which I mentioned on booking; this was confirmed on checking in and I was served extra ice cream and raspberries.

Tap water was served at dinner, unlike many establishments which try to push expensive bottled water, and several wines were served by the glass, which I like a lot, as you can try to match the wine with the food without great expense or drinking too much! We enjoyed the unstuffy service; very relaxed but very nicely done.

The buffet breakfast was very good and very extensive; cereals and fruit juice, bread, croissants, pain au chocolat etc and cooked meats and cheeses, plus there was smoked salmon and bacon and scrambled egg (although they looked a little dry), plus coffee, tea etc.

We felt very relaxed during our short stay, and would recommend the hotel to anyone. It's close to St Remy, but not so close that the noise of the fun fair in town reached us, and it's a good base for visiting the area. We hope very much to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardengirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    121
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
368
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here 9/16-9/22. Right from the start it felt like "home". The staff are all very friendly and always willing to help with anything you may need. The meals are to die for. The presentation and taste is wonderful. I recommend getting the breakfast because it will fill you up for a full day of sight seeing. The walk into town is a short one which makes carrying all your treasures back to the hotel easy.
The grounds are beautiful with fruit trees and fountains everywhere. We ate outside most nights and took our morning coffee out to a table when we had time.
If you have to make a choice of a place to stay in this area, I highly recommend Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klp330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at the Mas des Carassins end of august with friends - we had 2 rooms - 1superior and 1 standard. both rooms were lovely and different. The superior was located in a new building next to the mas and was very modern. 2 twin beds/ or 1 double bed . lovely bathroom with rain drop showers . no balcony but you can sit outside in one of their lovely areas very close to your room. The standard room was in the main building , with a little terrace, a littl ebit older but very charming
The property has 2 swimming pools and beautiful manicured sitting area in beautiful surroundings, it was very hot so shaded area was welcome.
We had 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners at the hotel . The food was excellent , breakfast was served inside and had lots of choices; eggs,bacon,sausage,fruits,bread,croissant,smoked salmon,cereals,juice,coffee etc.
The dinner was served outside in the garden and it was exquisite with local products and great presentation. We enjoyed it very much. We were happy that all the guests were so nice and friendly which was lovely . I cant's say enough of the staff , either at reception, breakfast, dinner or whenever we would cross path , everyone was just so attentive and pleasant eager to assist if needed always with a smile . This is a jewel of a hotel . Thanks to all of them , it made our stay so enjoyable, we will return.

Room Tip: standard room are in the mas with a terrace and superior are located in annex overlooking gardens an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth29867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in Mid-May. We had been on a river cruise down the Rhone and when that ended we rented a car and drove back to Provence to explore.
We stayed here and it was the best part of our 3 wk trip to France. Though our room was small, we had a beautiful private patio and we could hear the peaceful fountain from our room. The gardens were a combination of Zen and English landscapes. The meal served in the beautiful dining room was delicious, very enjoyable. The owners and staff could not have been more helpful. Great location, easy walk into St. Remy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The hotel is located on the area of two adjacent farmhouses that were restored, renovated and transformed to a lovely, warm, inviting "boutique hotel".
The hotel is placed in a quiet neighborhood, on the outskirts of the village, but only about 10 min walking distance to village center.
The room was big, spacious, clean, well designed, well equipped, modern and stylish and very very comfortable.
The grounds contains a beautiful well-kept garden, with two nice swimming pools, a lot of vegetation and variety of rest areas, outdoor terraces, deckchairs, hammocks and other facilities, enabling you finding your "own quiet private corner".
The hotel has free privet parking and free wifi.
The breakfast was rich, tasty and being served in a nice dining room,.
The host and hotel staff were great, friendly, helpful and welcoming.
It can be a perfect central location for touring the surrounding villages and sites.
Unfortunately, we did not spend there more than one night, but it was great stay and we highly recommend the place.
Congratulations. Bravo!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabizolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Le Mas is composed of an older, historic farmhouse style building, and a newer building that serve as the guest rooms and the restaurant. The grounds of the hotel are incredibly charming and idyllic - I felt that I could have stayed there for several more nights without tiring of the calm and the tranquility.

The room we had was quite small - it was on the top floor of the newer building and consequently had sloped ceilings. It was charming and very nicely furnished, but *really* small. My husband spend most of our stay there hunched and unfortunately slammed his head against the ceiling one night. We didn't get to see any of the other rooms but it seems like they had bigger rooms to accommodate families.

I'd highly recommend having dinner at Le Mas one night. The grounds really are quite lovely and the food was great. The breakfast was also great. In general, we found the service and our stay to be quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miscellaneous_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a delightful spot--a 5-10 minute walk to both town and the Roman ruins at Glanum (there is a nice pub/bar right across from street from Glanum). We stayed here 5 days in late May 2012--Room was in the newly renovated cottage at side of property. Very quiet, nice grounds, great room with balcony. Breakfast was above average. Dinner is fixed menu--so you may want to book in flexibly. They post meal in morning---4 or 5 delightful restaurants nearby if you chose to go off site. We ate 3 dinners on site and all were very good.St. Remy is a great town--Market days on Sat, and big one on Wednesday--great to walk in and check it out. Avignon, Arles and L'isle Sorgue (fun Sunday market) a very easy and stress free drive .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajgibb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#7 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel

Property: Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Address: 1 Chemin Gaulois, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#2 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Mas Des Carassins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing