We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Rude Staff”
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
Reviewed July 19, 2012

All in all the hotel and facilities is nice, and this could simply be a wonderful place to stay.

The hotel seems to be run by a couple in their 50s who live on site and are practically the only staff members. They like their peace and quiet, their desired clientele are should not disturb their peace.

I'll give them thumbs up for ample parking, nice pool, clean and somewhat modern rooms (in a 90s kinda way). The male owner is somewhat accommodating and service minded though at times awkward. The surrounding area and town are stunning and well worth a visit.

Breakfast is as in most hotels pretty boring. Don't think about asking for a refill on your orange juice, and god forbid ice cubes in it should the temperature creep up towards the 40s.

If you are traveling with kids like we were, you are instantly given the feeling that you're not welcome by awkward antics of the owners, weird comments and looks. On our last day we met a lovely couple who were also staying there with their kids. As the kids were playing nicely in the pool, not at all being a pain to anyone, but simply making a bit of noise as kids would while playing in a pool, the owners wife lost it and screamed at the couple we had just met; c'est ne pas un colony vacance - meaning; this is not a holiday camp - before storming off and slamming a door shut behind her. Leaving everyone completely baffled. Luckily we were packed at the time and headed off minutes after her burst.

I was going to write a positive review despite a somewhat Fawlty Towers like experience because in a way that did have its charm to a point and the hotel in it self isn't at all bad. But the poolside blowup did that review in. If you run a hotel you're going to have to deal with the fact that you will have guests and sometimes these guests are kids. Sometimes your customers actually ask for something and that seems to be a bit of a bother for them. They seemed very much into their elderly clientele, perhaps they should turn this into a caring home, garden gnomes and all!

Room Tip: Would to choose to stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Overall decoration of the room make you feel warm. The bed is really comfortable. The air conditioning is good. Free parking should be another selling point.
If my schedule was not tight, I preferred to stay little bit longer in the hotel and explore the city around in a more relaxing pace.
Perhaps there should be some improvement: First, replace the bathtub it looks old. Second, sound isolation could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ycjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel was a few blocks from the main street, but it had a large parking lot, beautiful swimming pool, plenty of light in the rooms. Receptionist spoke excellent English and capable, though not warm or friendly.
Rooms were nice. Breakfast area was excellent.

Room Tip: They have rooms on the ground floor, which is convenient since there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We checked in yesterday and I was pleasantly surprised. Our room is pretty big with a great flat screen, desk, and loves eat. It is decorated very cute just as in the photos. Our breakfast this morning was very good: yogurt, granola, bread basket, juice. It is situated about a 5 minute walk from the town which has tons of restaurants. I went to the St. Remy market this morning and it was wonderful. It has free Wifi as well. Our only complaint is no English speaking stations on the tv. We did report it and he said he would call and have that fixed. I would highly recommend this hotel. Everyone is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 6,205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay and our room was quite large by French standards. The hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable. The staff were helpful and you can't beat the rate in St. Remy. The hotel is a 5 or 7 minute walk to the village centre. We didn't try the breakfast as we tend to eat breakfast at Tabacs. It did smell good.. This is a good hotel, professionally run and very clean.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We drove into St. Remy and had to find a room....we ended up staying 3 nights because we loved it so much! The people were so nice (my husband does speak french, so that helped I'm sure), the room was clean and beautiful, and we had the room down around the corner...not int he main building. The pool is the best part - laying under an olive tree right next to the pool....it was heaven! And free parking too! Definitely walking distance to town. Breakfast was overpriced, but it was like that everywhere in France.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e1baker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Host calculated a higher price upon arrival than agreed and confirmed by email!
Nice... after driving 11,5 hours to St Remy.
Horrible host, unpleasant person, not friendly at all

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellenxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
1.6 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canto Cigalo
Canto Cigalo
#10 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Chalet Fleuri
Hotel le Chalet Fleuri
#13 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Glanum Hotel
Villa Glanum Hotel
#14 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Address: 1 avenue Jean Moulin, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range: $125 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Gogh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing