We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience St. Paul de Mausole
from $96.63
More Info
from $80.52
More Info
Reviews (997)
Filter reviews
997 results
Traveler rating
537
361
74
8
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
537
361
74
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vincent van gogh art lovers his life well worth a visit gift shop roman ruins room hospital works
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 997 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017

A part of this old monastery/hospital complex is accessible for tourists at the price of 4 EUR (10/2017). Of course, the main attraction there is paintings and educational boards of Van Gogh, who passed a medical stay at the monastery and painted a lot of his famous canvases in there and in the surroundings. You can visit a room where he slept, which is for Van Gogh diehards nearly sacred experience. You can also visit conventual church, picturesque courtyard hemmed in limestone arcades, where pictures and photographs are exhibited or a garden which has to be beutiful in times of levander blosom. For anybody, who enjoys fine arts, the visit would be pleasing.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank mika_koshonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017

We enjoyed seeing this place. Very interesting and very pretty. The grounds offer good views as well.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Lee43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

If you are interested in art and know a bit about Vincent Van Gogh's life and painting then you can't miss this place - takes you back to the few year the artist stayed here in treatment and painted so much - unbelievable connection to his paintings.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank liefie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

Travelers going by public transportation, please note: this site is not served by bus after late September! It's a bit of a hike from the Republique bus stop in St. Remy, but it's doable if you're prepared. And it's well worth the time. Spend about an hour or two soaking up late Van Gogh experiences, then visit Les Antiques right across the road. I wish we hadn't come when the archeological site of Glanum, also right there, was closed (warning, it's closed Mondays!) or we would have liked to have visited there too.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

I love art and history. I was excited to see the place where poor Vincent lived at the time when he was at the top of his painting life. So it was thrilling and sad to walk through the buildings and see the beautiful courtyard and gardens. Then we went up to the area where he lived and saw his room. He became very real. We read about his family and his troubled life. So sad. What a shame that his incredible talent was not enough to keep him going and his mental health was so fragile. If you have any interest in Van Gogh this is a place you need to experience.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews