We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical French market” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wednesday morning market

Wednesday morning market
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.95*
and up
Full Day Roman and Medieval Provencal Heritage Walking Tour from Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
London, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Typical French market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fairly typical market along the streets near the square. Fruit and vegetables, clothes, cheese, jewellery etc. Not the biggest in the region by any means.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    58
    19
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Packed with tourist...and still worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I try like many to avoid touristy places but hey I'm a tourist. Although the prices were steep because they can be I didn't care. There is nothing like this in my home town so I proudly strap on my fanny pack, grab my oversized camera and head out unashamed with my American accent. This is the best way to imbibe the city with local artisans and one of my favorite pastimes....eating. This is exactly what you need to do when you visit St Remy, or any place is France to really appreciate the culture.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JennColon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent market!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We drove from Avignon to St Remy executing a sweet little market in the village square. We're we surprised when we saw the streets teaming with people. Finding parking was a little difficult, but spending three hours walking up and down the stalls happened in the blink of an eye. We found inexpensive market baskets, delicious sausages, exquisite cheeses, aromatic lavender, and beautiful linens for the kitchen and dining room. The wares were of exceptional quality, and the vendors were very helpful to the struggling tourist who has a limited French vocabulary!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekly market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We visited the market in late May and found it was well worth planning your week around a visit to the town.

The market is extensive and at every turn we discovered something new. It was a great spot to buy a picnic lunch and shop for some unique souvenirs.

Parking was a problem- we arrived at around 10am and couldn't find a spot, even in the paid parking lot at the Tourist Office. Luckily, a woman at the Tourist Office told us about some free parking nearby (I believe its on Ave Pierre Barbier).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank robandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
338 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Bring a big bag and get ready for lots of tasting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went to this market yesterday. It is partially located on the north and west sections of the ring road around the old section, and partially on the tiny pedestrians streets through the center. It was great to meander through the old section and see the cute shops too. The best advice we got was from a lady in the Tourist Office On the way into town. We followed her advice which worked out perfectly...get there early to get parking. We got there at about 7:15 and easily found good parking about a 3 minute walk away. She said that at 8:00-8:30 parking is already very tight and you might have to walk a long time. The booths were varied as already mentioned and we couldn't help but to buy a lot! Bring a big shopping ba and a good appetite. Lots of samples of the local foods!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank francetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wednesday morning market also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Wednesday morning market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing