We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW...WHAT A MARKET”

Wednesday morning market
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.40*
and up
Full Day Roman and Medieval Provencal Heritage Walking Tour from Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“WOW...WHAT A MARKET”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Travelling through France for 5 weeks, I intentionally saw a lot of markets and for sure this one was amongst the best. It is quite lovely the way it weaves its' way through all the narrow streets and squares. Fresh food abounds as well as prepared foods, and is a delight to the senses. As you stroll leisurely from stall to stall you never know what you will encounter next...crafts, shoes, jewelry, linens, lavender...you name it. It was quite wonderful, well worth a detour to be there on the Wednesay.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    60
    19
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I dream of going back..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

If i could go back to provence, i would spend so much more time at this market. The food, the clothes, the atmosphere are all amazing. There is amazing seafood, fruits, vegetables, jewellery, shoes.. the list goes on. I only wish i went with a female friend so i could spend more time there. We were there in April and although slightly chilly the market was huge. Cannot recommend highly enough,

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ChillCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Provence's best food market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The market in St-Remy-de-Provence is huge & very interesting - clothes, food (both raw produce and cooked dishes) & typical handicrafts spread over several streets and squares. We wandered around for a couple of hours soaking up the atmosphere.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Foodie paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The best food market I've found in Provence. Buy a bottle of oil or some peppercorns here, take them home and every time you use them you're back there. Grab a cheese, some bread and a couple of tomatoes and head up the road to Glanum for a picnic. Heaven!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank ChicChantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful market!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was a wonderful attraction that we fortunately and unexpectedly stumbled upon. The market was absolutely delightful, with lots of local colors, tastes and people to enjoy :) From the delicious salamis and cheeses, to their lavender soaps, pottery, art and wines, this was an amazing way of spending the afternoon. Needless to say, I spent all my money buying trinkets, souvenirs, and lots of delicious local delicacies. If I didn't live so far (in the States) I would be back there is a heart beat! You don't want to miss the market, my favorite memory of the beautiful St. Remy.

Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wednesday morning market also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Wednesday morning market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing