We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mas de la Croix d'Arles

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mas de la Croix d'Arles
Seoul
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was a beautiful B&B. I loved staying here. The buildings were very beautiful, breakfast was good, and the room was clean and pleasant. The location was perfect - 10 mins walk from the centre of Saint Remy. The landlady was very kind. The way to the town was beautiful and easy to find. We were based on here for the five-day Provence trip and it was perfect for looking around the area. Can also see many stars at night here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunwook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evian-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Four of us stayed here and uniformly found the Mas to be most atmospheric -- very Provence. We were split between the studio (queen bed with a fully equipped kitchen & sitting area) and one of the units with twin beds. Both were comfortable and distinctively designed in state of the art "compagne" style. Both rooms had comfortable beds, good shower pressure, and were completely tranquil. Even with a mistral, we managed to enjoy some lovely lunches and aperos at tables in the extensive garden with views toward the Arpilles. Breakfast was standard continental fare but well above average given the fresh yogurts, home made jams and as-much-coffee-as-you-want.

Internet was available, though the connection was limited to the area just in front of the main house. Bring soap and shampoo for the bathrooms. Though we didn't cook much, the kitchen appeared to be well equipped. On hot days, there is an appealing plunge pool. Both our rooms were accessible for someone with limited mobility -- a consideration for our group.

5 stars to Jordane, our hostess, who was most welcoming and helpful with suggestions and directions.

We've stayed in St Remy before: on the value for money, atmosphere, tranquility & location scales, the Mas is the clear winner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvianaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This lovely rustic country home is a one-minute drive or a short walk from the main square of Saint-Remy-de-Provence.
We took the two rooms in the main house, which is a typical Provence stone farmhouse that has a kitchen and dining area, plus a separate living room with a large flat screen TV and lots of channels, on the ground floor. The rooms were one floor up, and shared a bathroom. Everything was clean and neat, and very comfortable.
A self-contained studio apartment and a separate room are available in a one-storey building right next to the main house, and both buildings are set in a large property with a big field that has lavender bushes and other types of flowers. There is also a very small pool near the main house for those who want to take a quick dip.
Our host Jordane served up a great breakfast spread in the garden each morning, and it was nice to chat with her and to play with the family’s charming dog Ethan. On a couple of evenings, we picked up pizzas, artisanal ice cream and other food from restaurants in the nearby town square, and brought them back to the farmhouse to enjoy in the garden setting or inside the main house.
This B&B was certainly an excellent location and a good base to explore the nearby towns like Les Baux and Arles, or the picturesque Luberon region with its ochre-coloured cliffs and lovely hillside towns. It was wonderful to be able to spend the day visiting various places, and to then retire to the quiet farmhouse and relax in a true Provencal country setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sosedap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This beautiful Bed and Breakfast was everything we could have hoped for in our Provence accommodations. Jordane was a charming host and her property provides a peaceful place to sleep (especially after the cicadas stop for the night), while still being close enough to town to walk to the many restaurants and shops of St. Remy. You can even walk a good part of the way along the canal path which avoids dodging traffic. We loved our room in one of the small outbuildings with an apricot tree just out the front door and breakfast at the table outside the main house was a treat each morning. There was lots of room for our rental car and we found St. Remy a good central location for exploring Provence. After a hot day out and about, a dip in the pool was most welcome and refreshing. We have no hesitation in recommending Mas De La Croix D'Arles as an excellent choice for your stay in Provence.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TeamScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful B&B for two nights during the last week of our holiday. We wished we could stay longer! All the previous reviews are spot on when they say this is the place to stay. Jordane is a fabulous and gracious host who speaks English very well and as previously mentioned provides great information regarding where to visit in the area as well as recommendations for places to eat in nearby St. Remy. We visited a local olive oil producer recommended by Jordane which was well worth the visit. Parking is easy and the directions we had from Jordane were accurate and brought us right to her driveway. We stayed in one of the studio rooms which was beautifully prepared, quiet and relaxing with gorgeous views from the windows out to the nearby fields. The breakfast provided was fresh and ample with the croissants, fresh apricots and steaming hot tea prepared the highlights. Jordane showed us through the farmhouse which has been beautifully restored. Make sure you get a chance to meet the family dog - he is gorgeous! After visiting Aix-en-Provence, Arles and Avignon I can highly recommend staying Mas De Las Croix D'Arles just outside St Remy de Provence to soak up the beauty and tranquility of the region. We hope to have the opportunity to return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate and Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our family of three (myself, my toddler daughter and my mother) had a wonderful time staying at Mas de la Croix D'Arles. Jordane's beautiful property - complete with a farmhouse, a studio and two other bedrooms - is a short walk or drive to the town of St. Remy. Instead of being in the dusty town, we got to sit back and relax in our self contained studio (with it's own kitchen) and take dips in the beautiful stone swimming pool. Sometimes we went out for meals - and Jordane is full of ideas about where to eat - and sometimes we ate outside under the trees. The hostess is wonderful and went out of her way to make us feel at home and also to help us see everything we wanted to see. I can't recommend this place enough. You can base yourself here and take easy day trips to so many places in Provence. Thank you, Jordane!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Located in scenic Provence, a half an hour outside of Arles, MAS DE LAS CROIX D'ARLES captures the best of cultural immersion with modern amenities. The grounds are gorgeous, affording visitors the chance to experience quintessential country side Provence, without having to struggle through throngs in Avignon or Arles ... Get the city-visit out of our system and return quickly to Jordane's delightful house for a quick country walk, a swim, or just good ole' R AND R.

Rickey Stevey ought to do this place the justice it deserves and review it highly. Jordane's dog Aiton is a delight too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gounod
Hotel Gounod
#8 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mas des Tourterelles
Le Mas des Tourterelles
#3 of 34 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de la Croix d'Arles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de la Croix d'Arles

Property: Mas de la Croix d'Arles
Address: 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing