We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful memories”
Review of Chateau de Roussan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Roussan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I had four days to spend in Provence and chose the Chateau to stay at for two nights. Coming up the tree-lined driveway and seeing this beautiful old charming building at the end was breathtaking. We were able to park our car near the Chateau and the Valet brought in our bags and parked our car in the parking lot. The staff were welcoming and our room was spacious and looked out over the driveway - a stunning view. The grounds had an overgrown look about it and as it was Autumn lots of leaves everywhere but this truly added to the charm. As it was warm, we were able to sit outside late afternoon and the chef from the Hotel Restaurant, La Table de Roussan, came and offered us drinks and something to nibble on. While we were enjoying this we could smell dinner wafting from the kitchen. I absolutely recommend dining at the Hotel Restaurant - the food was beautifully presented and a good example of local cuisine, Vincent the owner was a fantastic host - we enjoyed his hospitality so much we stayed an extra two nights at the Chateau and dined there every night!

The Chateau was a great place to explore the region - we made day trips to Pont-du-Gard, Les Baux-de-Provence, Arle, Avignon, Saintes Marie-de-la-Mer and it was only 5 minutes to St Remy-de-Provence (where I recommend visiting the Wednesday market).

Only small things would make this perfect - tea-making facilities in our room and some days our towels were a little on the small side.

We had three weeks travelling from Paris to Barcelona and our most romantic memories are of this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 400 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

A friend and I were making a road trip through Provence, and this place appealed to us as a special treat. For the most part, we weren't disappointed. The building itself is luxurious and full of old world charm. There's a library and a sitting room, and depending upon the weather, meals can be eaten outside. The grounds are charming, including a pond, greenhouse, and a quaint stream. We had a lovely dinner and service was quite good and attentive. Our room was large and comfortable. Only two things weren't up to par: the toiletries were rather basic (the type you'd find in a 2** hotel) and the breakfast range was quite limited. Overall, this is a thumbs-up!

Room Tip: Rooms have a view of back or front, and as gardens surround the house, either perspective is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved our stay at the chateau. Although the hotel has no swimming pool, which could be considered a plus by some, it still very much was a holiday. The ancient trees around the chateau provide shade and atmosphere, great for reading. The room was good, the bathroom excellent. The restaurant provides a simple and good cuisine, well in sink with the general feel of the hotel and the grounds. The breakfast buffet was very good. The location is excellent for visits to 'Van Gogh country' including Avignon, Arles, les Alpilles and the local town of St-Rémy. The Lubéron, with another collection of beautiful small villages, is 45 minutes to the east. The pictures give a very good impression of what to expect of the hotel. Something which is not always the case. We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParkPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a gem. It is not a 5 star perfectly manicured hotel by any means but instead it offers an abundance of character and charm. Went for a walk along the extensive grounds which still have strong traces of a once grand botanic garden but have been left to grow a little wild. The trees lining the driveway and around the hotel should be classified as a national monument as their majesty and beauty really are a sight to behold. We ate at the restaurant for the two nights we stayed there and the food and ambiance, sitting outside in the grand courtyard were terrific. The only downside was the unfriendly staff member serving breakfast who seemed to resent English speakers and generally came across as not wanting to be there. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked 2 rooms at the chateau. Negatives : First impression was that the Chateau seems abit neglected and old (well, it is from the 18th Century afterall). We could not drive the car directly to the front of the reception to drop off the luggage. There was no Valet service. We learnt later that valet service was until 7pm and we had arrived after 7pm. There was also no one at the reception when we arrived though it didn't take us too long to find her. What was abit sad as the Soap in the bathrooms/toilets were wafer thin (for a 4 stars hotel) but I guess this is also being environmental friendly. Plus points : The rooms and bathrooms were well decorated and very big and clean. The Chateau is well situated. It is barely 5 minutes drive into centre ville (town). There were plenty of activities happening in the village when we were there. Car park is free and a nice short walk to and around the chateau. Chateau has a restaurant and we found the food excellent. They made an effort to provide menu enfant (children's menu) of chicken and pasta and it was excellent. We had a 3 course dinner and the black knuckle port was memorable as was the wine served. And to end it all off, the staff and service is excellent. I wld return to this hotel again for the convenience and their service. There was a bit of confusion with the breakfast but it was a small matter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticklemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Chateau grounds are lovely and wellkept - from the moment you enter the driveway, you are transported into a different century. The experience is amazing - you feel cossetted by the beauty of the planes, poplars, the old stone building and the gorgeous courtyard.
The staff is very friendly, they speak English and go out of their way to make you comfortable. The rooms are nice, old style and equipped with modern bathroom facilities - a good blend of old and new. We loved our stay at Chateau de roussan & St.Remy de Provence

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice - upstairs rooms are more private, but the downstairs rooms open into the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited this excellent hotel for a week, during August 2013 for 6 nights. The hotel keeps as much as possible the atmosphere and feeling of 17th century, refurbished but in the same "old" style. Very clean, large rooms, well equiped. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel has a big garden and a lake sorrounded by a variety of trees and plants. It was refreshing and relaxing to take a walk there. The whole neighbourhood is very green and fresh. The hotel has a gourmet chef and during evenings they were cooking specific food (at a corresponding price). However, the breakfast was somehow cheep and they were always late in refilling especially the omlet. Hotel has a large parking, free and safe. I recommend this for any family, couple that needs some quiet time...

Room Tip: A room with a terrace access would allow spending quality and private time for a drink in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CARGO2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Soleil & SPA
Hotel du Soleil & SPA
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
513 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#12 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
#7 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Roussan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Roussan

Address: route de Tarascon, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range: $138 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Roussan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the XIIIth century could offer such a charming mansion, only 2km away from Saint‐Rémy de Provence. As you’ll slowly walk down the elegant alley of centennial plane trees, you’ll discover the “Château de Roussan”, designed by a brilliant French architect. Enchanted by his creation, he offered it a façade decorated with an elegant balcony overlooked by a majestic front wall; in the manner of a theatre stage set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau de Roussan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Roussan Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing