We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
336
53
9
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
53
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plane trees tree lined drive main building manor house old trees jean pierre st remy corner room des alpilles sun sets tennis courts breakfast and dinner magical place three nights dining rooms the entire staff gorgeous grounds
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 402 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018

Wonderful stay! The rooms are large and very comfortable - and the bathrooms are totally updated. We had no issues with a/c as it was pretty hot while we were there. The grounds and the pool are beautiful. Staff is very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We ate at the restaurant the first night of our arrival and it was one of the best dining and overall experiences of our trip! Can't recommend this highly enough.
I would say that we did not feel that walking 15 minutes to and from town was an option for us (though some may, we did not see a lot of people walking). However, we never had an issue parking (for pay) and we were there during a big festival (Feria).

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kertech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudesalpilles, Propriétaire at Le Chateau des Alpilles, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your email and your nice message.
We were very pleased to welcome you at Le Château des Alpilles and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you another time and we thank you again for your lovely comment.

Kindest Regards
Catherine Rollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

While the property was beautiful, this property is not welcoming for children with young families. The service staff is wonderful but we were repeatedly told by the staff and the owner of the hotel to quiet our four year old daughter. We understand the rules of decorum but we were also told this in the middle of the afternoon in a swimming pool where a natural amount of play is expected.

The expectation of absolute quiet would be understandable (with nothing above a whisper) if children were not permitted but we had told the hotel that we were travelling with a four year old and they had let us know that this would be ok and they did not raise any objections.

If you do not have small children, the property is beautiful and the service is superb.. But if you are travelling with small children our recommendation would be to absolutely not visit this property - you will not be made welcome and will feel extremely uncomfortable. Choose another property where you will be welcome and that will appreciate your business.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudesalpilles, Gérant at Le Chateau des Alpilles, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear Sir,

we want to thank you for your positive comments regarding the property, the service and the staff.

Regarding the children, we are very sorry to read your complain but be sure that we are always happy to welcome them.
The pool has to be shared with all our customers and we of course have to be careful that the area stays quiet.

The reason I asked you to manage your young daughter and the two sons of your friends (that you invited at the pool for the afternoon) is because I had complains by other resident guests. They appreciate our place very much because of its tranquillity.

It seems that you enjoyed your stay with us until this incident happened one day before your departure.

We wish you all the best for the future.

Best Regards,
Catherine ROLLIN
Owner & Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

What you might call French traditional, but with excellent plumbing. Graceful chateau with renovated rooms, stylish and friendly service. Excellent pool and grounds. The star attraction is dining on the gravel in front of the chateau watching the light fade on the long, majestic avenue of plane trees and listening to that most French of background noises, the murmur of conversation and the clink of cutlery on china. The food is acceptable but at these prices and in this setting it should be better.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudesalpilles, Propriétaire at Le Chateau des Alpilles, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your nice message.
We were very pleased to welcome you at Le Château des Alpilles.
We do our best to make the stay of our guests a truly and memorable one and we appreciate very much when our guest feel that.

Best Regards

Catherine Rollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

What an amazing location for a meal. Sitting outside as the sun sets in front of a classic French chateau that appears to be out of a movie. As dramatic and sophisticated as the setting was it was somehow unpretentious with a relaxed vibe. If the food was terrible it would still be worth it. But the food was excellent with a lot of selection between meat fish and chicken. This not a “food is art “ type of place either. The focus was on the food (not presentation)and there was a lot of it which made it easier to swallow the prices. Yes the bread was bad as reported by many other TA reviews but that’s sort of like complaining that your model girlfriend has a chipped tooth. If you want to have one great French meal on your trip to Provence this is the place.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudesalpilles, Propriétaire at Le Chateau des Alpilles, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your lovely message.
Our chef, Mathias Bettinger, work with us since 1994 and we are very pleased to have him in our team.
He like to cook fresh products from the area and all his meals are very tasty and fresh in a very nice setting in our terrace.
We hope to welcome you another time and wish you a lovely weekend.

Best Regards
Catherine Rollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

We had planned to go to Saint-Remy a few years ago and were recommended this hotel at that time by our travel planner but unfortunately had to cancel those plans that year. When we decided to go to Saint-Remy this year, I was sure to book way ahead of time (almost 9 months) so as you could imagine there was quite a bit of anticipation before our stay. Luckily, our expectations were definitely met. The strengths of the Chateau are the grounds and the staff. The main building is so picturesque and makes quite an impression when you're driving down the main entrance lined by plane trees. The grounds surrounding them are just lovely with old trees casting shade and the beautiful Provencal sun shining. It makes breakfast in the front terrace in the morning and dinner in the evening taste better. The staff are always very helpful, via email before you arrive, and when you have anything you need during your stay. Celine and Sabine were always quick to reply to any questions I had about the hotel or the surroundings before our stay and made restaurant reservations for us as well but the rest of the staff was accommodating too. Drinks that were ordered by the pool were offered to be brought to our room when we left the pool area and we were offered to be served breakfast on the terrace of the chapel where we were staying (we had both rooms). We didn't have much for breakfast other than fruit and pain au chocolate so can't really comment much but dinner at the Chateau was excellent. A nice touch was that once you had a reservation you could arrive anytime between 7:30 and 9pm which made everything much more low-key and relaxing. As previously described, the decor of the rooms was fairly nice but not over the top. A small annoyance was that in one room the toilet was on the complete other side of room where the shower and sink were located so that after you used the bathroom you had to walk to the other side of the room just to wash your hands. Also, we wish that the shallow side of the pool was more shallow to accommodate younger children. Again, these things are small compared to the overall quality of our stay and if we are in the area again I would make a repeat stay.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank apv75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudesalpilles, Propriétaire at Le Chateau des Alpilles, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear guest,

We thank you for your nice feed back, it has been a pleasure to welcome you at the Chateau des Alpilles this year. We are happy that you appreciated your stay and all our services.

We hope to see you again and we wish you all the best for the futur.

Catherine Rollin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews