We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Authentic hotel”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed for three nights at Le Chateau des Alpilles as the first out of 4 hotels on our tour around the Provence. While all hotels on our trip were very good, the whole family agreed that this was the most enjoyable hotel.

In terms of style it is a family run country side hotel in an old Chateau. The style is true French and everything about the hotel feels grown over many years and very authentic.

We stayed with our two children in the old washhouse - Le "Lavoir". This was perfect, as it was a little house about 100 meters from the main building with a bedroom, lounge and bathroom on the ground floor and second bedroom on the first floor. It felt very comfortable and there is a nice table outside to enjoy breakfast or dinner in the privacy of your house. Our children absolutely loved it. For children there are a lot of things to discover in the extensive park around the place.

Overall style is very relaxed but proper 5* boutique hotel standard.

We also enjoyed the restaurant with reasonable priced and nice food, not Michelin star level food - but comfort food you will enjoy to have every night. Also wine selection was very good. The indoor dining room is interesting, but if weather permits eating outside is the much better option.

Staff and service was excellent on all levels.

Room Tip: Le Lavoir is perfect for a family with 2 children (it would also fit 3 children with an extra bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco_Polo_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    47
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
197
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Spent six nights last week at Le Chateau des Alpilles -- and didn't want to leave. Gorgeous setting inside and out, fantastic staff, very good food, simultaneously elegant and welcoming to children. This last aspect can be hard to find. Our 5 and 8 year old sons loved it at least as much as we parents did. Saint Remy was an excellent 'home base' from which to explore the area. Our focus, with young children, was on visiting castles/forts and Roman sites. With Les Baux (basically around the corner), Glanum (also around the corner), Arles, Avignon, the Pont du Gard, Tarascon and more all within about 20-40 minutes, it was perfect. After active excursions, down-time at the chateau in the afternoons was just what we needed. Nice to be a bit out of town, but still within walking distance of the center of Saint Remy. The superlatives in other Tripadvisor reviews of this hotel are all on target.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mainely40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Everything about this place is topnotch from the minute you get there. Immediate warm welcome, squeaky clean every where, wonderful "bend over backwards for you" staff, comfy beds and pillows, nice big towels, great water pressure, fantastic food, not a bug to be seen...we just didn't want to leave. It is worth every penny. You will remember your stay here forever and you will want to come back soon as I am sure we will.

Room Tip: We had rooms 6 and 14 both were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmk773dgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I know that sounds like an overstatement, but I cannot say enough fabulous things about this Chateau. Our only regret was not staying for an entire week!
I have worked in five star hotels for over 10 years, and I can honestly say that the service, beautiful grounds, stunning decor, and overall enchantment of Le Chateau des Alpilles is the best I have experienced.
The moment you drive up the perfectly tree-lined drive, you are instantly transported to a storybook-like world. The Chateau looks traditional on the outside, but the modern decor inside gives it a chic, updated feel.
We stayed in a large corner room with an amaxing view of the grounds and a wonderful breeze through the large windows. I could have sat outside at the dining tables the entire stay, it was so relaxing and quiet.
The entire Chateau, inside and out, is impeccable. The Staff is very freindly and gave great recommendations for olive groves and wine vineyards to visit. The dinners and breakfasts at the hotel were also delicious with excellent service.
I have already recomended this property to everyone I speak with that is visiting the South of France. It really is not to be missed!
The next time we visit we will be staying much longer than just 2 nights.
Bravo to the most charming hotel in the world!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor, to the right of the stairs in the left corner (maybe room #6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Chateau for six nights. The property, rooms, meals and most importantly the staff are exceptional. There is a feeling of warmth from the moment you arrive and we felt for six nights that the Chateau was home. Celine and Elodie were delightful and Kate organised beautiful day trips for us each day. We have owned and run hotels for more than ten years and this Hotel certainly exceeded our expectations in every sense. If you are looking for a lovely trip to Provence, this is the place to stay, at least once in a lifetime.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that had four beautiful large windows and was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janew926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
around the world
Level Contributor
215 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The perfect spot for Lovers who are on a discovery journey of the region of Saint-Remy.
Totally romantic with it's authentic classic furniture decoration.
This place remains a true gem a little bit outside of the village.

Enjoy the terrace & the swimming pool whenever the weather allows it and dine in the cosy dining room... with great wine & food.

Room Tip: my favourite room has a small balcony overlooking over the main entrance through the lined plane tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice_the_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A very special treat. An elegant chateau surrounded by beautiful grounds. The driveway lined with plane trees was amazing. The staff very helpful and knowledgable. They helped us arrange a guide for two days and gave excellent direction to neighboring sites. The restaurant was fabulous. Had a delicious dinner our first night, a honey coated veal chop, pasta with truffle oil and a mouth watering apple tart. Excellent location to visit surrounding villages. Walking distance during the day to St. Remy. Rooms very nice and cozy. A cozy place to stay. If visiting in the warmer months, a nice pool and outside area to enjoy the day and relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lolly616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,025 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#8 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#10 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
356 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau des Alpilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau des Alpilles

Property: Le Chateau des Alpilles
Address: route du Rougadou, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chateau des Alpilles 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau des Alpilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Des Alpilles Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing