We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Gem in Provence! Ideal in every way.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Certificate of Excellence
Maui
Level Contributor
300 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A true Gem in Provence! Ideal in every way.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It is with pleasure I write of how much we enjoyed our 4 nights at Le Chateau des Alpilles. . from the moment we drove up the stately, tree lined drive to the entrance, on a crisp fall day, we were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff. The historical Chateau is lovingly cared for in every detail in a quite and elegant way, not pretentious. Our room on the 4th floor corner room, with lots of windows, was very large and comfortable. Lots of space to unpack and comfortable chairs and desk for our tech and camera gadgetry.
We enjoyed delicious breakfast out-of-doors under the leafy trees and the court yard. We booked two dinners at the hotel which I heartily suggest. As it is a destination restaurant and you don't want to miss it. Food was delicious and well presented with spot on service and attentiveness at a very reasonable price. Note, restaurant is closed on Wed. nights. so they booked us a meal in town which was very handy, as there were 10 of us.
The grounds are so lovely and there is a very large pool facility and large outdoor spaces it would be a fantastic summer hideaway. The parking area is fenced and controlled by code access so you have no worries with a rental car and no additional parking fees. The town of St. Remy is within a mile's walk and is very pleasant.

During our visit we had the opportunity to see the "Running of the Bull" festivities and that was fun. The city is out in festival mode and the "fair" comes to town. So it is best to walk to town or park a few blocks from the city center and leave the car. . .
There were 5 couples in our "traveling" group and all would resoundingly agree with my review about how special the Chateau is. . .if you are going to St. Remy and making it home base, you must stay here. . .you will never regret it. PS. our next hotel was 3 nights in Aix-en Provence at the Villa Gallici ($690 per night) and we all agree that Chateau des Alpilles is off the charts better by comparison and at lower price, making it a great value and great experience!

Room Tip: Corner suites are wonderful and being on the top floor gives a grand view of the gardens and trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    47
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
198
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just outside of town, this beautiful chateau is fantastic. Giant trees, open spaces, large pool, and the restaurant is amazing. We dined at the hotel every night , except the one night it was closed, as the food was that good. The staff was also excellent, and friendly. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This is an adorable hotel with fabulous, efficient, friendly service. Lovely rooms with really nice decor. Super clean and well presented. Great shower. The bed was a little on the hard side but that's a personal choice ( a mattress topper would have sorted that problem).
Breakfast was satisfactory; really good coffee, fresh croissants and yoghurt plus a fresh fruit salad. I would most definitely recommend this lovely place and would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelgirl2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the La Voire. A two room cottage just steps away from the main building. Everything was great. The people, the place, the distance to St Remy. My wife and I had the best of times.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We chose this as part of a belated honeymoon and were not disappointed. Five wonderful days exploring Provence were made all the better in the knowledge that we were returning to such a magnificent Chateau. A restful afternoon drink by the pool on expansive lawns was truly relaxing.
Previous comments on the front of house and table staff are all true; they are simply fantastic. The bed was extremely large and comfortable, the room spacious and clean. The shutters kept the room dark allowing a good night's sleep.
The in house menu was exceptional. We had breakfast in four days and dinner on two nights. On reflection going into St Remy for other meals broadened our travel experiences, but next time we stay here we will not eat anywhere but the Chateau, such was the ambience on the Terrace and quality.
The only disappointments were the guest basket fruit on arrival was truly over ripe, and the kitchen staff tended to relax / smoke around the fishpond, which was a minor irritation when getting ready for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyTraveller229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
224 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a large corner room in the main building. The hotel is beautifully run. We ended up taking all our meals here as the restaurant was fantastic. From the moment we arrived everything and everyone made this stay very special. We look forward to a return next year for a longer stay. This one was only 3 nights. Also it is a great area to do some exploring of the nearby towns like Gordes, Bonnieux, Lourmarin....and even Arles.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trigger1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My only disappointment is that we only stayed for one night. This place is beautiful and dinner was amazing. We hadn't made reservations in advance (our mistake), they were super accommodating and managed to squeeze us in. I would be so happy to make this home base to explore the area further next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meggadeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,029 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#8 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#10 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
265 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau des Alpilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau des Alpilles

Property: Le Chateau des Alpilles
Address: route du Rougadou, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chateau des Alpilles 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau des Alpilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Des Alpilles Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing