We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Certificate of Excellence
Ellenville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Special Destination”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

When we pulled up to the Chateau I knew it was just what I had hoped for. A couple of miles from St Remy center this beautiful property welcomes you. Once you have checked in the staff could not be more helpful. Since we only had a few days in the area they were happy to help us use our time to see some wonderful sites, drink great wine without feeling like there was no relaxation.
Dining outside with trees and twinkling lights surrounding. The food was delicious and the service impeccable.
If you are visiting Provence this is an excellent location to go to many lovely towns and cities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    47
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
197
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
212 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Beautiful restored chateau with large rooms and bathrooms. Beautiful grounds and pool. Outstanding staff and service. In the country yet only about a mile or two from the center of St Remy. Very nice breakfast served. While I normally would not comment on the sleep experiance, I found the mattress and bedding to be outstanding and I slept better than at home. It is a little pricey but worth it. It has a very central location for exploring the many interesting options in Provence.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear which was nice. All seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogchow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is what you imagine when you imagine 'Provence'. It oozes 1920s French 'academia' and the service is exceptional. The rooms are large and well appointed (although the bedroom doors are bizarrely modern and 'naff') and the bar downstairs and outdoor seating area perfect for flopping with a good book.

We were there at the start of the season so they hadn't really opened up the grounds yet, but they were clearly beautiful and the pool well laid out for a hot summer's day with a carafe of rose.
Whilst the hotel has a traditional provencal feel, with a tremendous driveway, there are some bizarre interior decoration decisions such as the tiger-skin bar stools and the futuristic plastic dining chairs - they simply look out of place rather than trendy. A simple remedy...

The hotel is perfectly placed to explore St Remy (we cycled into town in <10 mins), where there are a plethora of very good, reasonably valued restaurants in beautiful settings. It is also very easy to reach/explore Arles (Roman amphitheatre/bull-fighting), Avignon, the vineyards and the incredible antiques market at Isles Sur La Sorgue.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear5308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were in France for a month and this was our favorite hotel. The drive up to the hotel will assure you that you are in good hands. The staff and owner are lovely and helpful. We stayed in the little washer house and it was perfect for our two kids, 9 & 7. The grounds are gorgeous and enormous and the pool is perfect and the barkeep there attentive without being aggressive. The umbrellas and chairs by the pool are laid out in a way that takes advantage of the massive space they have. They will provide you with tennis rackets for either of their courts.
The food! I made reservations all over the area and ended up canceling them and eating at the restaurant for breakfast (perfect al fresco) and dinner (nice inside).
We will certainly return.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong but for a family of four the Washing House is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diedrich007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Chateau des Alpilles is a beautiful oasis of peace and serenity just outside of Saint-Remy-de-Provence. There aren't enough superlatives in the dictionary to describe the experience. From the location, the rooms, the hosts, the service... everything is just perfect. If you need THE romantic getaway while exploring the beauty and history of the Provence, Chateau des Alpilles is it. Aside from its own rich history, Saint-Remy is within quick driving distance of Avignon, les Beaux, Nimes, Arles, and the famous Camargue, plenty to see see and do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjonnaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Chateau des Alpilles proved an excellent base for a week in St Remy. A mile or so outside the town, it is set in luxurious parkland, with a well-kept swimming pool (with its own bar). The food, at breakfast and at dinner, was exceptionally good, and the staff were all extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. I cannot recommend this highly enough, though I concede that such luxury comes at a price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scholar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Md.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting for a delicious al fresco lunch. Service was friendly and attentive. All ages were satisfied with fresh vegetable/salad offerings, pasta (goat cheese lasagna!), quiche, fish with an adorable rice "hammock" and a kids' meal of steak and frites. An extra treat was the on-site art exhibit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JGal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,025 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#8 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#10 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
356 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau des Alpilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau des Alpilles

Property: Le Chateau des Alpilles
Address: route du Rougadou, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chateau des Alpilles 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau des Alpilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Des Alpilles Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing