We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charming place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We loved this hotel. We stayed outside of the main house in what used to be a chapel. A great room that I highly recommend. The grounds are just like a picture postcard. Breath taking! The staff were very pleasant and we had quite a few meals there both for breakfast and dinner. the food was very good and I recommend that you try it at least once. The location of St. Remy allowed us to go exploring each day into Provence with ease.
Charming hotel that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Loved the Chapel room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussieches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Le Chateau des Alpilles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 361 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed for three nights in June with my husband and two teenage children, and loved every minute. The setting is beautiful, - grounds, buildings, pool, everything exudes simple elegance. The staff was always helpful and available. We ate breakfast and dinner outdoors in a lovely open patio. The food and service were excellent. Each course was delicious. The local rose complemented the local cuisine perfectly. The rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. It's a great place to use as a base for exploring Provence. We would love to return. Expensive but worth every euro.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just returned from a four-night stay and I could not speak more highly of our experience. We stayed in the Lavoir (Old Washhouse), which is a small, free-standing structure adjacent to the main building. The accommodations were first rate. The service staff was understated yet attentive and elegant. The overall grounds and pool area were picturesque. We ate dinner there on our last night (we thought it would be a little pricey b/c we were traveling w/ our two children, 9 and 11) and my only regret is that we didn't eat there every night before. They handled the children just fine and the food was prepared perfectly. Beyond that, the setting (in front of the Chateau as the sun sets) was from a magazine shoot. I can only hope we'll be back to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SND138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Sadly, we are not staying but joined friends for dinner who have been returning year after year. The setting is exquisite, set in huge grounds, which are beautifully lit at night. We had dinner outside and the entire experience was enchanting. The staff were delightful, had no French "hang ups" about speaking English if you wanted and the food was top quality. We were told many guests kept on returning and we are not surprised. This hotel is a few minutes' drive from Remy de provence and is the perfect location if you want a peaceful, stylish retreat. It is expensive but class comes with a price tag! Save up and go. It could do with better direction signs but then maybe they don't want everyone finding it!.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank journeymancannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We could not fault this stunning hotel. Although it's a 4 star hotel the service and attention to detail was superior to any five star hotel that I've experience, including Four Seasons and alike.
The reason for this is that owners are hands on being 2 women and their families. These women's style is exquisite in the typical French form. Every detail is thought of, the linen, towels the beautiful furniture. Even the tableware has been carefully selected with typical French porcelain ,large breakfast cups which I loved drinking piping hot good strong coffee with hot milk on the side? The alfresco evening dining at the edge of the 300 year old plane trees which are planted 150 meters up the driveway is magical. Again silver service without the 5 star price. Dinner was superb at only 65.00euro for 3 courses. It's the little things that make a hotel and this hotel outdid themselves due to the management being hands on, even with the bowl of the sweetest organic apricots offered to the guest at the entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: The main house has the nicer more traditional rooms. We had the elegant room and it was perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

An excellent Chateau Hotel with a real feeling of restful grandeur nestled in a beautiful setting just outside of Saint Remy. We stayed in June 2012 for six nights in a large room in the Chateau with a great view, and the room servicing was excellent (3 times a day). Everything was kept very clean.

The food at breakfast was very good and certainly in our view not to be missed. We were able to eat outside the Chateau front door under the trees every morning except one. The evening food was also superb - probably the best meals we had in the area although there are some very good restaurants also nearby in Saint Remy. Unusually for a hotel of this calibre the restaurant closes one day of the week - and it is definitely advisable to book in advance.

Saint Remy is within a reasonable walking distance actually despite what some others have posted - we walked into and out of town in 20 mins each way 3 nights. You could have got a taxi of course but we needed the exercise!

We also hired bikes during our stay - local bicycle store in Saint Remy "Velo Passion" rents bikes at 15 Euro per day - and we really enjoyed exploring the area on bikes and also getting into and out of town on the bikes when we had them.

I thought that the staff were courteous and professional, however, some of the very best places we have stayed in (e.g. the unsurpassable Chateau Verrieres in Saumur) have been interested in our plans, offered real local advice in terms of visits, vineyards, restaurants etc. which didn't happen in Le Chateau des Alpilles. That, however, certainly did not detract much from the wonderful experience that we had staying at the Chateau. We hope to come back again soon. Saint Remy really is a great base to explore from.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Given the outstanding reviews we expected a lot. It did not live up to our expectations. You can get much better value for money at other hotels. Definitely not a five star experience. Staff do not explain to you that even if you are a guest you need to book in for any meals - we were left completely hungry on one night as the hotel is a long way from the heart of St Remy and we were told we could not get dinner at the hotel. On another night we were told the restaurant was not even open (without any prior notification). You can definitely do better in St Remy.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Madiolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

We really regret that their stay wasn’t good because we always tried to do our best for all our customers, in order to give them a good memory. The owner of the Château des Alpilles wished to invite them for an “aperitif” to meet and tell them a little about the history of the hotel.
In each bedroom, customers will find a “directory” in French and also translate into English with all information they can need during their stay. (room service hours, laundry, the restaurants closing day on Wednesday evening…).
Also to give satisfaction to all our clients, we give them information about our restaurant and we ask them to tell us every morning if they want have a table for dinner in our restaurant (we don’t have halfboard basis). A room service is also available if there are no tables left. We think that those clients show a little “bad faith” because they refused the room service we proposed them and they also refused to meet the owners.
We hope that these persons will find their happiness in another hotel and we regret not being able to satisfy them during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,074 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
284 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gounod
Hotel Gounod
#5 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau des Alpilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau des Alpilles

Address: route du Rougadou, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range: $261 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chateau des Alpilles 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Le Chateau des Alpilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Des Alpilles Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing