We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque property with average accomodations”
Review of Hotel du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Soleil
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Picturesque property with average accomodations”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Nice clean room, tub with hand held shower wand, and gated parking. Our "large" bed was two twins pushed together. This hotel was a 4 block walk from the ring road through downtown. The hotel had an on-site restaurant but we never tried it. There is a huge selection of restaurants within easy walking distance in town. We sat around the small garden pool late one afternoon and were still able to get WiFi reception there. There was a long clothes line tucked away around back for any sink washing that you need to dry. The desk staff spoke great English so were able to assist with general information. The room safe was handy. The hotel entrance is gated but very dark at night. The entire property is very picturesque.

Room Tip: Gated courtyard hotel property so all rooms would be fine. Our room was close to the entrance and ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed-Idaho-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    158
    43
    9
    14
See reviews for
44
288
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The hotel is on Avenue Pasteur just a few blocks south of the old, walled part of the city. Like the name suggests, the hotel has a sunny air to it (it didn’t hurt that we arrived on a typical sunny Provencal day). It is housed in a couple of buildings grouped around a central parking area and swimming pool.
I stayed in the main building, where the registration office is located. We were on the second floor (first floor in France) and it is also the top floor. There was no elevator, but getting the bags up the one wide flight of stairs was not a problem.
The two rooms that I saw faced out the back of the building and had pleasant views of trees and rooftops and old stone buildings. There was a steady breeze so the air-conditioning was not necessary at night. It got quite warm during the day while we were there and the A/C was welcome in the mid-afternoon.
The rooms were modern without losing their French charm. There were two chairs, a small desk or dresser, a large closet, and adequate overhead and bedside lighting. The closets were big. The bathroom was not huge, but was more than ample with a standup shower (no tub) that had some tricky plumbing I had not seen before (hint: you turn the knob on the left counter-clockwise for the overhead shower, and clockwise for the hand-held wand. The knob on the right controls the temperature. You’re welcome.)
The continental breakfast is served in a stone building across the driveway from the main building. If the weather is pleasant, as it so often is here, there is an outside patio with seating under an arbor. On cool or windy mornings, the dining room is not a bad second choice, with lots of windows looking out on the patio, where you would probably rather be if you could.
The hotel is well situated near the old town, only about a 5 minute walk. There are lots of boutiques and eating places within the walls of the town, and on the main roads that circle it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed overnight in April 2011 for the fabulous walking St. Remy has to offer. As a traveler without companions, safety is very important but I dont want to stay in a fortress. The hotel is extremely convenient, even for someone not used to driving the narrow roads of old Provence cities. Extremely convenient to the excellent tourism office, the old city with fun shopping/ nice restaurants, and there are significant historical landmarks just steps away. Private gated parking. Personnel at the hotel were friendly, helpful with info on walks, and multi-lingual. Other guests were also charming. The room was non descript, but for the excellent price and a great location I will book here every year.

Room Tip: call in advance -- multiligual desk clerks can reserve a room for you after you come in from tireles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JB24SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Hotel du Soleil is a wonderful place to stay for your exploration of Provence. It is quiet, charming, clean and an easy walk to the town of St. Remy de Provence. The owners are very friendly and helpful. I have stayed there four times and I look forward to my next time there.

Room Tip: They have several apartments with kitchens if you prefer not to eat out every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djnewbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel du Soleil in early October 2010. The morning after our first night we found at least 5 bedbugs crawling up the wall behind the bed. I told the desk clerk about it and he offered to change my room because they would exterminate and the fumes would be a problem. He and any other management persons expressed no amazement, no indignation, no surprise, in short they treated it as apparently a routine happenstance. It may be routine for them but in 74 years of traveling I've never experienced it before, nor do I expect to experience it again. The changed room was a bit nicer. No offer of room reduction or credit was given at checkout. I would NEVER stay here again and suggest that anyone who does so does at their own risk.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petepoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123soleil13, Directeur général at Hotel du Soleil, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
We are sorry about this incident and very surprised by the reaction of these customers who seemed satisfied with their stay. If our establishment had been really dreadful they would not certainly have stayed. I specify that when we moved them, they were naturally and gracefully outclassed. I think that what maybe most opposed them after all it is that we do not offer them the stay, because they seem same disappointed as one did not propose them a credit to return.
Bedbug: it is the second time this season that the problem arises. The first time, our customers, been used for a long time (Americans too), almost apologized by explaining us that they risked to have imported these immigrants, because New York was invaded.
In the course of October, 2010, the National Television, France Info, The Point, The express, etc.. dedicated numerous reports on this invasion affecting the United States, Canada and at the moment France,
Having for vocation to receive a large number of international travelers, we are obliged well to know about this grave problem, and were consequently organized. We have reacts very quickly and treated the room with a product environment-friendly biological 100 %, which we had stored preventively.
Guy Monset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Had 2 rooms in the old part of the hotel. One room had a separate kitchen and separate lounge/dining room (which the parents stayed in) while our 2 teenagers stayed in a standard room (which was fine). The adults room was meant to be a double bed but was 2 singles (made up with single sheets) and then pushed together. About a 400m walk into the old walled part of the town, which is also where most of the restaurants are. Good off street parking, swimming pool, very comfortable. Breakfast was extra so since we had a kitchen we just made our own (supermarket was only about 300m away).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel many times and it gets better each time. So near to the town. 5 minutes walk gets you to the centre. Secure private parking for your car. The hotel has a wonderful pool which is in a lovely setting surrounded by plenty of sun chairs. The hotel has a variety of rooms, all very clean, all with A/C and personal safes. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast taken either in the breakfast /bar room or on the lovely terrace . The hotel has no restaurant but you can picnic on the shady terrace. The hotel owners and staff treat you like friends not customers and they are really.really helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Geoff and Pat Nicholls
Helsby
England Sept 2010

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffgreek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,025 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#8 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#10 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Soleil

Property: Hotel du Soleil
Address: 35 avenue Pasteur, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beneath the "Alpilles", this old thistle factury welcomes you at 300 mts, from around the town centre in calm and green surroundings. There are 24 rooms and 3 appartments, all with bath or shower, wc, air conditionned, hair dryer, tv-sat, safe-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Soleil Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing